Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Live Sound > VENUE Live Sound Systems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 10-17-2012, 03:27 PM
Sheldon Radford's Avatar
Sheldon Radford Sheldon Radford is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Mountain View, CA
Posts: 1,293
Default Re: Venue Software bugs

Thanks for the additional info!
Quote:
it seems that when i load my showfile which has different system settings (at least a different auxes structure) than the showfile which was running before, Than the console always reacts sluggish (mouse, faders, view paging)
The first time a screen is displayed (Inputs, Outputs, Filing, etc.) will always take the longest amount of time, because the page is loaded into memory. Subsequent visits to the page should load faster. This is normal - does this match what you see?
Quote:
And sometimes when loading my showfile, it randomly jumps into back-up mode for a few seconds and then it comes back online.
That sounds odd. Can you send us a few example show files? Send them to venue support(at)avid(dot)com and refer to this DUC post.
Quote:
I have channel 31 and 32 patched into a stereo channel, no audio coming into the console, no xlr attached to pre amp 31 and 32, no plugins assigned. just input 31 and 32.
I don't think there's anything to be concerned about here. The flashing indicates there's a difference in level between the L and R channels, which is not unexpected given that the inputs are unterminated and the console's just metering the self noise of the inputs.

Sheldon
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10-17-2012, 03:30 PM
Sheldon Radford's Avatar
Sheldon Radford Sheldon Radford is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Mountain View, CA
Posts: 1,293
Default Re: Venue Software bugs

Hey Brent, good to see you here.

The only case I've heard that's similar to this ended up being traced to a stuck multi-select button on the console (which can be used to override auto cancel and gang multiple solos). Keep an eye out for it, and see if the multi-select button (or corresponding SHIFT key on the keyboard) could be stuck.

Sheldon
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 10-17-2012, 03:59 PM
Brent Lind Brent Lind is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Lawrence, KS
Posts: 233
Default Re: Venue Software bugs

Will do Sheldon, thanks. The only other advice I got was "don't mix so hard".
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 10-18-2012, 09:53 AM
vikingthor vikingthor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 206
Default Re: Venue Software bugs

Quote:
Quote:
it seems that when i load my showfile which has different system settings (at least a different auxes structure) than the showfile which was running before, Than the console always reacts sluggish (mouse, faders, view paging)
The first time a screen is displayed (Inputs, Outputs, Filing, etc.) will always take the longest amount of time, because the page is loaded into memory. Subsequent visits to the page should load faster. This is normal - does this match what you see?
Nope Not really, as you can see on the video, the metering react sluggish, even faders react sluggish, push multiple faders up, let go of the fader, faders jumps down.

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/99954944/Ven...8-15-36-02.mp4

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/99954944/Ven...oup%20mode.mp4
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 10-18-2012, 01:23 PM
Sheldon Radford's Avatar
Sheldon Radford Sheldon Radford is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Mountain View, CA
Posts: 1,293
Default Re: Venue Software bugs

Thanks, the videos are really helpful.

Could you possible email us a copy of a show file that exhibits this behavior? Send it to venuesupport(at)avid(dot)com and refer to this DUC post.

And if I read your original post correctly, the console resumes normal behavior after 15 seconds or so?

Sheldon
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 10-18-2012, 03:14 PM
vikingthor vikingthor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 206
Default Re: Venue Software bugs

Quote:
Could you possible email us a copy of a show file
No problem, it should be in your mailbox.


Quote:
the console resumes normal behavior after 15 seconds or so?
Yes 10 or 15 seconds or somethink like that. After that the console is perfectly normal.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 11-14-2012, 10:59 AM
vikingthor vikingthor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 206
Default Re: Venue Software bugs

Not a realy shocking, but i think it's worth to add this to the list

Tried to do some playback from PT into sc48. After changing the Input, between stage and FWx I noticed that gain on the console LCD display didn't change. After selecting a channel, it does give the corrected value.

The LED encoders do give the corrected value.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 11-17-2012, 05:32 AM
rlower rlower is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Belfast
Posts: 13
Default Re: Venue Software bugs

Heres one for you...
Already passed onto venue support, but would be interested if other users have had the issue.

Specific to the SC48.

When booting up into a cleared console state...
Change Aux/Group mode to 16 Auxes & 8 Vari Groups
On an input channel select vari groups to control vari group levels.
Double tap user button in channel control area.
Select a vari group.
Crash.
No control of surface.
Software is very sluggish, but there is control.

If you select an aux pot when assigning user page before vari group, console acts as normal.

Video...
http://www.bsounds.com/videos/SC48_v3_surface_crash.m4v
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 11-18-2012, 08:44 AM
vikingthor vikingthor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 206
Default Re: Venue Software bugs

Quote:
Heres one for you...
Already passed onto venue support, but would be interested if other users have had the issue.
Yes here the same. You can crash the console at any moment if you do what rlower described.

To be honest i think Avid should publish all the software bugs for there consoles. People have to know what they should not do. At this moment (at least) sc48 is not quite stable in my opinion. As much as I love the console and all the new features this should be addressed very quickly
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 03-29-2013, 04:47 AM
vikingthor vikingthor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 206
Default Re: Venue Software bugs

so this topic is like 6 months old, can we expect a bug fix update yet? please!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
11.1.2 on Mountain Lion bugs bugs bugs. command+f, elastic audio, discoloration farmfresh Pro Tools 11 21 05-01-2014 07:21 PM
Bug in Venue 3.0 Software Limelight VENUE Live Sound Systems 2 04-02-2012 09:01 AM
VENUE D-Show 2.8 Standalone Software for VENUE SC48 Avid VENUE Live Sound Systems 0 05-13-2009 12:30 AM
001 Software bugs -2? Mac Shack 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 01-31-2005 10:30 AM
001 has software bugs? Mac Shack 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 01-31-2005 09:29 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:02 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com