Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2018

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-17-2018, 12:32 PM
sarahkg sarahkg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Wimberley, TX
Posts: 2
Default Unusual Audio Cutout with Protools Ultimate

Hello,

I recently upgraded our Protools 12 HDX system to Pro Tools 2018 ultimate a week or so ago, and experienced a problem I had never seen before.

While recording 6 tracks of audio into Pro Tools they all cutout simultaneously in second long intervals intermittently over a period of 30 seconds. These cutouts were in the afternoon of a day long session. The odd thing about this is that I had the tracks on input and never heard the cutouts until playback after recording.

Also, the audio clips were complete. By this, I mean that no new clips were created, like if I was to have accidentally slipped in and out of record. It was one consolidated piece with just moments of silence in the waveform that did not happen on the input channel.
I have attached a picture of what happened.

Has anyone experienced this before or would be able to offer a suggestion on how to further troubleshoot this? My aim is to stop it from ever happening again.

Thank you,

Sarah


My system:
Apple MacPro 3.5Ghz 6-core, Sierra
Protools Ultimate HDX
Big Ben, Sync HD, DA/AD16x, Avid 192s
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2018-05-17 at 1.53.35 PM.png
Views:	0
Size:	44.6 KB
ID:	10481  
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-17-2018, 01:06 PM
its2loud its2loud is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Los Angles
Posts: 209
Default Re: Unusual Audio Cutout with Protools Ultimate

Sounds like a clocking issue or possibly a destructive Solo was pressed during the record in an effort to monitor something isolated.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-17-2018, 01:16 PM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,077
Default Re: Unusual Audio Cutout with Protools Ultimate

What was the source going into the Pro Tools interface (and were you going into Pro Tools via digital or analogue)? I imagine the source of the signal was the stumbling block.
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2018.7, HDX 3, MTRX, HD OmniMac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.12.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-18-2018, 07:26 AM
sarahkg sarahkg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Wimberley, TX
Posts: 2
Default Re: Unusual Audio Cutout with Protools Ultimate

Thank you, its2loud and BScout

The source going in was an analog source, through an analog desk set up in a split console configuration.

I actually think that the destructive solo thought may be the issue!
Because, with our console, in a certain solo mode, it mutes all other channels, including the input side. I am going to test the theory to be sure.

Thank you! Here's hoping it is this silly user error that is the issue.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fast Track Duo - Clicking and cutout while playing audio marbleduck FireWire and USB Audio Interfaces (Win) 1 05-01-2015 06:07 AM
11R, Protools 9 and an unusual Computer - it works great! wiseman Eleven Rack 2 12-05-2011 10:12 PM
Latency Issues and Audio cutout on new box with PT 73 or 74 TULL 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 02-25-2008 08:17 AM
new and unusual protools problem***SOLVED***** supafuzz 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 08-10-2007 03:05 PM
Unusual occurance with constrained audio vvline Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 08-02-2007 08:12 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:08 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com