Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-13-2015, 02:22 PM
spenedit spenedit is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Burbank
Posts: 28
Default Better key command for suspend all groups?

Hi all,

I frequently use the command "suspend all groups" but shift-command-g doesn't exactly fly off the fingertips. Does anyone know an alternate command for this? Maybe use hot keys?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-14-2015, 06:21 AM
reichman's Avatar
reichman reichman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 2,228
Default Re: Better key command for suspend all groups?

Keyboard Maestro would let you do something simpler. But if you find yourself doing this with certain groups, change key command focus to the group window and your letter keys will turn groups on and off.
__________________
Nathaniel Reichman
Supervising Producer – Re-recording Mixer
Dubway Studios
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-14-2015, 08:13 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 20,196
Default Re: Better key command for suspend all groups?

I myself find it intuitive, but opinions do vary
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-15-2015, 12:22 AM
midnightrambler midnightrambler is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,414
Default Re: Better key command for suspend all groups?

"Shift-command" is used all over the place, so you'd better get used to it.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-15-2015, 04:29 AM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,566
Default Re: Better key command for suspend all groups?

Quote:
Originally Posted by midnightrambler View Post
"Shift-command" is used all over the place, so you'd better get used to it.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-15-2015, 08:38 AM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,737
Default Re: Better key command for suspend all groups?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
I myself find it intuitive, but opinions do vary

The only thing easier is have a control surface button....
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-15-2015, 03:13 PM
Rosco1969 Rosco1969 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Edinburgh
Posts: 423
Default Re: Better key command for suspend all groups?

If you need to suspend groups in order to move any parameter on it's own.... why not just do exactly the same move you would normally make but.... use "right click" instead of "left click" i.e, the right mouse button instead of the left one. I find that easier. If I understand the question correctly that is.

Rosco
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-15-2015, 10:39 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 20,196
Default Re: Better key command for suspend all groups?

Quote:
Originally Posted by YYR123 View Post
The only thing easier is have a control surface button....
Yep.

But command-shifting isn't too bad as I usually have two fingers placed close to them anyway. I type with 10 fingers, so even when I use the mouse I have my left hand on keyboard.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-16-2015, 12:42 AM
ryanstewartguitar ryanstewartguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 71
Default Re: Better key command for suspend all groups?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
I type with 10 fingers, so even when I use the mouse I have my left hand on keyboard.

I type with 11! Thinking about upgrading to 12...
__________________
- Ryan Stewart
www.ryanstewartguitar.com
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-16-2015, 05:25 AM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 3,332
Default Re: Better key command for suspend all groups?

Quote:
Originally Posted by spenedit View Post
Hi all,
I frequently use the command "suspend all groups" but shift-command-g doesn't exactly fly off the fingertips. Does anyone know an alternate command for this? Maybe use hot keys?
I actually never used "suspend all groups", but pressing ctrl lets me adjust faders at least, overriding the group enable. That's on mac, PT10.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Command 8 and groups freakhouse ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 2 07-22-2014 10:09 AM
Way to temporally suspend VCA groups/auto? postprosound Post - Surround - Video 4 02-10-2011 05:14 PM
Suspend Groups command-where is it? hybridd Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 1 11-29-2007 04:51 AM
Custom Groups, Can it be don on an 8 Fader D-Command? laki ICON & C|24 2 07-26-2007 04:53 AM
D-Command, delete active groups? Where? rbeggs ICON & C|24 5 02-12-2007 08:07 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:53 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com