Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-17-2011, 03:09 PM
gulagurk gulagurk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 26
Default Mbox2: What is the reason for high latency

As title says... I can't get bellow 128ms latency, and when recording guitar you really want to go bellow 64ms since it's so important for the feel when playing.

Is it my mbox 2 is USB 1.1?
The Drivers?
Or possible my pc? i got a core 2 duo at 1.8 mzh, so it should be able to hande it, my hdd is a 5400rpm

I was thinking buying a used 002 or 003 rack or even just a mbox that is firewire, what latency can i excpect from these units?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-17-2011, 03:11 PM
Dism Dism is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,154
Default Re: Mbox2: What is the reason for high latency

I can get down to a 32 buffer on my MBox 2... so the problem is most likely your computer.

What version of Pro Tools/OSX are you running?
__________________

D
a n t h e I n c r e d i b l e S o u n d M a n

"Svetlana" v1 - 4.2GHz i7, 16GB RAM, OSX 10.7.4
Liquid Saffire 56 - PT10.2 - BFD2, VCC, Duende Native, Play 3.0

_C U R R E N T-D V E R B-S C O R E:515
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-17-2011, 03:18 PM
gulagurk gulagurk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 26
Default Re: Mbox2: What is the reason for high latency

Pro Tools 8 on windows vista, 2 gig's of ram, the mbox is a mini btw. In my settings i dont even have the option to select 32ms. Are you sure you are not using a usb 2.0 version of it or firewire?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-17-2011, 04:29 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,858
Default Re: Mbox2: What is the reason for high latency

For some reason, Macs can get a 32 buffer(after all, this is the Mac section of the DUC). Read the manual about recording and how/why you use the MIX knob. This is likely a case of operator error(especially considering you have not followed other rules, such as recording to a separate hard drive that is 7200 rpm or faster).
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-17-2011, 04:56 PM
Dism Dism is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,154
Default Re: Mbox2: What is the reason for high latency

Quote:
Originally Posted by gulagurk View Post
Pro Tools 8 on windows vista, 2 gig's of ram, the mbox is a mini btw. In my settings i dont even have the option to select 32ms. Are you sure you are not using a usb 2.0 version of it or firewire?
You are indeed in the Mac section of the forums... however there is no reason you shouldn't be able to get at least 64 buffer out of it, unless your computer is really hurting for power.

Please post a Sandra report as detailed here: Help us Help You - READ THIS Before Posting!
__________________

D
a n t h e I n c r e d i b l e S o u n d M a n

"Svetlana" v1 - 4.2GHz i7, 16GB RAM, OSX 10.7.4
Liquid Saffire 56 - PT10.2 - BFD2, VCC, Duende Native, Play 3.0

_C U R R E N T-D V E R B-S C O R E:515
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Going mad: High pitch frequency from mbox2 T-Diddy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 27 01-07-2010 08:28 PM
High pitched noise from Mbox2 - what gives? djmoss 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 05-02-2008 01:32 AM
High pitched noise from Mac via Mbox2 djmoss Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 05-01-2008 07:55 PM
High tone with MBox2 - again, did more testing picktom 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 03-16-2006 07:06 PM
MBox2 / Reason Adapted Midi Input Latency hairysoundman 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 02-15-2006 11:28 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:38 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com