Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Digidesign Hardware & Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-10-2002, 10:52 AM
fathermac101 fathermac101 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 94
Default Is 11ms latency too high for complex drumwork?

Is 11ms latency too high for complex drumwork?

I am considering selling my s5000 and getting ssc 3.1... I have a mix plus system so I wont have the latency benifit of 96/192khz..

Thanks

PAUL
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-10-2002, 10:10 PM
Allan Speers Allan Speers is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 1,277
Default Re: Is 11ms latency too high for complex drumwork?

If you use the 128K Streamanager, you'll get it down to 3-4 ms. And if you run 96K, I THINK this drops to half that. I doubt your 5000 was that low, if you include the midi hardware delay.

If you paln to run any Native insts plugins (the PTe edition or Spektral Delay) you will HAVE to stay with the 512K streanmanager, at least for now.

The thing about D-C delay, though, is that it's fairly consistant. there is SOME timing slop, but only a ms or so. The overall delay is FAIRLY constant, even with higher polyphony. SO, you can use Protools' midi-tarck offset to compensate.

The delay is still there on a track that's in record, but I personally don't notice even 10 ms on a track I'm actually recording. The brain concentrates more on touch-response in conjunction with tracks that are playing back.

If you want TRULY tight timing, you have to consider running Logic with Emagic's ESX sampler. They claim SAMPLE ACCURACY. i think because it's a vst instrument.

Emagic will soon have a Protools version of ESX, but I believe this will be HTDM, so the latency will be the same as SSC.

digi needs to fix rtas, do away with HTDM, and then port SSC to this improvee rtas format. THEN we'd be cookin'. but, you know, they just don't care.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-13-2002, 10:36 PM
wcody wcody is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Metro Denver Area, CO
Posts: 271
Default Re: Is 11ms latency too high for complex drumwork?

I would invest in SSC with caution. Digi has given NO indication of any updates of this product to Mac OS X. When PT finally goes OS X, and new Macs arrive next year that will NOT boot into OS 9, SSC will be truly dead-ended.

Digi, would you care to offer some enlightenment?
__________________
Cody Cabaña Productions
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mbox2: What is the reason for high latency gulagurk 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 05-17-2011 04:56 PM
High Latency for 002, would upgrade to 003 help?? mrdosun 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 11-19-2007 10:42 AM
Very high latency with Mbox and Coreaudio djaikon 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 04-17-2005 12:14 PM
Digi001 High latency with Sound Forge 5.0 DJ Branca 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 02-28-2002 12:46 AM
Latency still high w/DC and slop is almost unusable CCash Digidesign Hardware & Software 3 01-27-2002 11:00 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:24 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com