Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #61  
Old 01-14-2019, 05:45 PM
LDS LDS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 516
Default Re: Worth replacing 2008 Mac Pro for upgraded 2010 Mac Pro?

It is 48 gig (3x16gig) for the W3690, or 64 gig (4x16gig) for the X5690. The former will only support single CPU applications. The X5690 supports dual CPU setups (which will also increase the maximum ram to 128gig).
__________________
littledevilstudios.com.au

Pro Tools Ultimate 2018.12. OSX 10.13.6. HDX. Avid Omni. Mac Pro 5,1 12x 3.33Ghz. 64Gb. 4x mSata SSD Drives + 4x HDD. Blackmagic Intensity PCIe. ATI Radeon HD5770.

Free Lexicon 224XL Impulse Responses
Free Sony DPS-V77 Impulse Responses
Reply With Quote
  #62  
Old 01-14-2019, 06:57 PM
basslik's Avatar
basslik basslik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 1,486
Default Re: Worth replacing 2008 Mac Pro for upgraded 2010 Mac Pro?

Quote:
Originally Posted by LDS View Post
It is 48 gig (3x16gig) for the W3690, or 64 gig (4x16gig) for the X5690. The former will only support single CPU applications. The X5690 supports dual CPU setups (which will also increase the maximum ram to 128gig).
LDS, thanks.



Someone mentioned to use three slots, instead of four slots for dual channel ?, man I wished I kept that post.
__________________
MAC PRO 2010 5,1 3.46hex -Mt. Lion 10.8.5 - PT 9.O.6 003 CONSOLE /DIGIMAX FS /PCM90 2CHANNEL SPDIF

Reply With Quote
  #63  
Old 01-14-2019, 07:27 PM
ProtoolsLover ProtoolsLover is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 37
Default Re: Worth replacing 2008 Mac Pro for upgraded 2010 Mac Pro?

Quote:
Originally Posted by basslik View Post
Very interesting indeed, so I gather the only difference is someone mentioned the the X5690 addresses more ram perhaps ?, and what's the max for the X5690 ?, thanks
Attachment 11273
You cannot used the 56 version of the CPU’s. I urge caution with the 3690 as there are lots of stories with overheating.
Reply With Quote
  #64  
Old 01-15-2019, 01:57 AM
the.engineer the.engineer is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Guildford, Surrey, UK
Posts: 150
Default Re: Worth replacing 2008 Mac Pro for upgraded 2010 Mac Pro?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ProtoolsLover View Post
You cannot used the 56 version of the CPU’s. I urge caution with the 3690 as there are lots of stories with overheating.


That’s interesting, I haven’t come across that yet. My W3690 hasn’t over heated (I’ve run geek bench and checked for red lights). Also a company here in the UK have recommended I upgrade to the X5690.

Do you have any articles on this as this would be a game changer!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
James Welch
Recording Engineer | Producer
Masterlink Productions

Mac Pro 5,1 (Mid 2010) | 3.46GHz Six-Core Intel Xeon | 32GB Ram | AMD Radeon R9 280X 3072 MB | 256GB Samsung SM951 SSD Blade (PCIe) System Drive | 1TB WDC Sample Drive | 4TB RAID 0 Seagate Audio Drive | UAD-2 Quad PCIe
Sierra 10.12.6 | Pro Tools Ultimate 2018.12 | HDX | Avid Omni | Avid 16x16 HD I/O x2 | Digidesign 192
Reply With Quote
  #65  
Old 01-15-2019, 02:52 AM
LDS LDS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 516
Default Re: Worth replacing 2008 Mac Pro for upgraded 2010 Mac Pro?

Quote:
Originally Posted by basslik View Post
LDS, thanks.

Someone mentioned to use three slots, instead of four slots for dual channel ?, man I wished I kept that post.

From memory you want to use slots 1, 2, 3 (and 5, 6 & 7 for dual processor machines). Avoid using the ram slot closest to the CPU.

__________________
littledevilstudios.com.au

Pro Tools Ultimate 2018.12. OSX 10.13.6. HDX. Avid Omni. Mac Pro 5,1 12x 3.33Ghz. 64Gb. 4x mSata SSD Drives + 4x HDD. Blackmagic Intensity PCIe. ATI Radeon HD5770.

Free Lexicon 224XL Impulse Responses
Free Sony DPS-V77 Impulse Responses
Reply With Quote
  #66  
Old 01-15-2019, 05:03 PM
basslik's Avatar
basslik basslik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 1,486
Default Re: Worth replacing 2008 Mac Pro for upgraded 2010 Mac Pro?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ProtoolsLover View Post
You cannot used the 56 version of the CPU’s. I urge caution with the 3690 as there are lots of stories with overheating.
ProtoolsLover, can you elaborate. First you mention the 56,?, then refer to the 3690 ?. I'm kind of confused here ? THANKS
__________________
MAC PRO 2010 5,1 3.46hex -Mt. Lion 10.8.5 - PT 9.O.6 003 CONSOLE /DIGIMAX FS /PCM90 2CHANNEL SPDIF

Reply With Quote
  #67  
Old 01-15-2019, 05:25 PM
ProtoolsLover ProtoolsLover is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 37
Default Re: Worth replacing 2008 Mac Pro for upgraded 2010 Mac Pro?

Quote:
Originally Posted by basslik View Post
ProtoolsLover, can you elaborate. First you mention the 56,?, then refer to the 3690 ?. I'm kind of confused here ? THANKS
If I remember correctly, one is designed for a server, and the other desktop.
Reply With Quote
  #68  
Old 01-16-2019, 02:13 PM
LDS LDS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 516
Default Re: Worth replacing 2008 Mac Pro for upgraded 2010 Mac Pro?

Functionally, there is very little difference between an upgraded W3690, and the stock W3680 that Apple shipped in a bunch of cMP's.
__________________
littledevilstudios.com.au

Pro Tools Ultimate 2018.12. OSX 10.13.6. HDX. Avid Omni. Mac Pro 5,1 12x 3.33Ghz. 64Gb. 4x mSata SSD Drives + 4x HDD. Blackmagic Intensity PCIe. ATI Radeon HD5770.

Free Lexicon 224XL Impulse Responses
Free Sony DPS-V77 Impulse Responses
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2008 Harpertown quad 3.0 to 2010 Westmere quad 2.4??? audioluche Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 2 11-15-2012 07:14 PM
2008 Mac Pro w/ lots of ram or 2009/2010 w/ low ram? Ross H Pro Tools Software (Mac) 6 08-29-2011 04:19 PM
Mac Pro 2010 2.8 GHz Quad Core vs. 2008 2.8 GHz 8-Core audiosf Pro Tools Software (Mac) 3 04-07-2011 03:27 PM
NAB April 2010 - anything new ?? scotsman Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 16 03-10-2010 12:40 AM
Replacing stock 9600/350 (upgraded G3/400) video card Marco Migliari Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 11-13-2000 07:51 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:59 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com