Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Digidesign Hardware & Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-10-2019, 02:11 PM
AlanDogg AlanDogg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Scotland
Posts: 4
Default HD Core accel PCIe Compatability

Hi,
I'm looking for advice, I have just purchased a 192 converter and an HD core accel pcie. I'm running pro tools 10 on pc with the control 24 and the 003 rack so wanting to use the HD Core instead. I have the following board msi x99a and installed the card but my current install didn't like when I opened pro tools it stuck on loading the plugin "Air Chorus" so I reinstalled windows 10 loaded it again and it was the same. I ditched windows 10 for windows 7 ultimate and reloaded pro tools but the system was unstable and got a few blue screens. I found my bios somehow became corrupt (possible due to the crashes) anyhow I removed the core card and everything else and the board was still unstable, Not sure if the core card caused the issue in the first place as I have never had any issues hardware wise with the system.

I have now ditched the board for a Asus X99-Deluxe II Motherboard Socket 2011-3 as a replacement, I'm looking to see if the HD core has issues with newer hardware and which OS is best suited?

Current hardware
Intel i7 5820k
Radeon RX460
32Gb DDR4
4TB Sata Hard Drive
256 SSD Hard Drive
800w Corsair PSU
Water Cooler

Thanks in advance
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-10-2019, 10:17 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,459
Default Re: HD Core accel PCIe Compatability

If it was me, I would go Mac,

You can put an HD3 in a Mac Pro and they run like a dream.

I would run a Mac Pro 5.1 running 10.8.5
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-10-2019, 10:36 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 11,095
Default Re: HD Core accel PCIe Compatability

Just so we rule this out / You do have a PT10 HD license right? Not just a PT10 license as you need a HD version of PT to run the TDM cards
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher


South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
SOUTHSIDEPUB

#Nothing Breaks Like a Heart

Eagles may soar, but weasels don't get sucked into jet engines
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-11-2019, 01:30 AM
AlanDogg AlanDogg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Scotland
Posts: 4
Default Re: HD Core accel PCIe Compatability

Hi Guys,
thanks for the reply, Sorry not a mac person . Yeah full HD license, It ran fine on windows 10 with card and converter but the system was unstable (most likely corrupt bios I'm thinking) Is the card compatible with the pc hardware? are there any known conflicts with the card in the past?

Many thanks :)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-12-2019, 05:06 AM
AlanDogg AlanDogg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Scotland
Posts: 4
Default Re: HD Core accel PCIe Compatability

I have replied to this 2 days ago but said it had to be approved by admin??
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-12-2019, 08:53 AM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 11,095
Default Re: HD Core accel PCIe Compatability

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlanDogg View Post
I have replied to this 2 days ago but said it had to be approved by admin??
When you are new member links and quotes makes the forum software catch it and has to be done maually so I approved your post now as soon as I saw it
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher


South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
SOUTHSIDEPUB

#Nothing Breaks Like a Heart

Eagles may soar, but weasels don't get sucked into jet engines
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-12-2019, 04:26 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,459
Default HD Core accel PCIe Compatability

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlanDogg View Post
Sorry not a mac person . Yeah full HD license, It ran fine on windows 10 with card and converter but the system was unstable (most likely corrupt bios I'm thinking) Is the card compatible with the pc hardware? are there any known conflicts with the card in the past?



Many thanks :)

So here is the rub, the last Version of PT that will run the cards is PT10.3.10

According to this chart the last version of windows that will run PT10.3.10 is Win7


http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...tibility-Chart

You won’t have stability with Win10 / PT10 b/c it was never qualified and meant to run on Win10

Your going to have a hard time getting Win7, I just sold a machine to a friend of mine and I have had a time getting a legit Win7 license >

This is why I suggested a Mac, it’s easier to get an old copy b/c they don’t work off a license per se.

I have run Mac and Win. For a newer system for less money I can make Win do amazing things

For an old system Mac Stability is king and you would benefit from it.

My $0.02
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-13-2019, 06:05 AM
AlanDogg AlanDogg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Scotland
Posts: 4
Default Re: HD Core accel PCIe Compatability

Thanks for getting back to me and thanks for the detailed explanation. I have no issues getting hold of win 7 license as they are extracted from old machines and sold on eBay for £5 so got win ultimate & license ready. Just waiting on my new asus board coming then I will install the lot and let you know. Yes I hear mac is more stable just wondering as my system is intel based if it would run mac OS?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-13-2019, 10:31 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,459
Default Re: HD Core accel PCIe Compatability

I’ve run hackintoshes before also. Too much mess for me these days (Apple literally changes the game every 12 months ludicrous)

Especially since you can get great deals on 5.1 MP’s .

If you get Win7 you can have a nice time with PT10
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HD 3 Core PCIe and 2 Accel Pcie cards JonGon Buy & Sell 0 04-05-2015 10:02 PM
Digidesign HD3 Accel PCIe Core + 2 accel cards & 192 w/8 channel d/a output card juneaudio Buy & Sell 3 02-25-2015 01:45 PM
FT: Accel PCIe For Core Accel PCIe acmost Buy & Sell 3 09-01-2012 04:38 PM
Runing Accel plugs on the "Accel PCIe core DaveSB Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 12-19-2005 11:25 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:57 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com