Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Other Products > Pro Tools Express on Windows

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-12-2012, 08:08 AM
everettb21 everettb21 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: 3472 modena cir
Posts: 1
Default Exporting a session problem

i did a session copy to desktop to dvd to take over a friends house to add mores parts.
my friend has protools express on windows 8 and i have mac pro osx lion
7.5.
of course i compress the files before they went to dvd.
on the pc i extracted all the files,opened session mix window came up. hit play button no sound. Checked for audio files,no audio files.

Can protools express on win8 read a session from mac osx lion 7.5 using protools 10. Is it something different i need to do ?
everything from the was there except the audio files.

thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-20-2012, 04:06 AM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,390
Default Re: Exporting a session problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by everettb21 View Post
i did a session copy to desktop to dvd to take over a friends house to add mores parts.
my friend has protools express on windows 8 and i have mac pro osx lion
7.5.
of course i compress the files before they went to dvd.
on the pc i extracted all the files,opened session mix window came up. hit play button no sound. Checked for audio files,no audio files.

Can protools express on win8 read a session from mac osx lion 7.5 using protools 10. Is it something different i need to do ?
everything from the was there except the audio files.

thanks
Hi,

Just to confirm.

The way to do this is to use the option in the save menu "save copy in" then save the session to a new location on your hard drive.

Also remember to click the box for Items to copy "audio files" otherwise you will not be including the audio!!

Note: another good thing to do before doing this is to use.. select>unused, in the clip menu then select clear in the clip menu and just remove unusued files from the session. This will stop you from including all the unused clips that are not active in the session but will still take up disk space, especially if you want to zip the session and send it internete etc.

P.S. I dont use Express, so cant confirm all these functions are part of express!!!!!!



Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering E-Mixing & Mastering facility
www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.7 Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 Control 24 Harpertown 8-core UAD-2 Quad / SSL Duende Native. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, Solid State Logic VHD, Anthony De Mario ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-19-2018, 01:06 AM
Vee Vee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Nigeria
Posts: 1
Default Re: Exporting a session problem

I'm having serious issues with a Pro-tools file. First I have tried endlessly to export the project and it starts but eventually stop somewhere. Since that didn't work, I decided to do my vocals inside the project and export later. However, it has refused to export and after encountering a 9013 error message, a major part of the recorded vocals goes missing. Please what to I do to recover vocals and eventually export the file
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Consolidating / exporting a session peter5992 Post - Surround - Video 3 04-20-2013 08:55 AM
Exporting Session Help?? mprev 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 09-09-2009 04:08 PM
Exporting Markers to New Session Gilliss Tips & Tricks 5 01-26-2007 08:40 PM
Exporting PT session to Logic 7.1 malgfunk 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 09-18-2005 09:13 PM
If I edit files after exporting to 2nd session, how is 1st session affected? el biciclista 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 04-02-2002 12:01 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:52 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com