Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Other Products > Pro Tools Express on Windows

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 09-22-2014, 07:59 PM
Chosen Chosen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 1
Default Re: Pro Tools Express can't locate hardware.

Hello Everyone. I'm having this same issue "Unable to locate hardware" error when I attempt to open Pro Tools.. I have Pro Tools Express 10.3.4 with the Mbox. I downloaded the latest updated driver to try and fix the issue as recommended on the forum post but I am still getting the "Unable to locate hardware" error when I attempt to open Pro Tools. I have uninstalled and re-installed the program, checked to make sure the Mbox is functioning properly through the device interface and it is. Are there any other suggestions?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 09-22-2014, 09:07 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 10,944
Default Re: Pro Tools Express can't locate hardware.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chosen View Post
Hello Everyone. I'm having this same issue "Unable to locate hardware" error when I attempt to open Pro Tools.. I have Pro Tools Express 10.3.4 with the Mbox. I downloaded the latest updated driver to try and fix the issue as recommended on the forum post but I am still getting the "Unable to locate hardware" error when I attempt to open Pro Tools. I have uninstalled and re-installed the program, checked to make sure the Mbox is functioning properly through the device interface and it is. Are there any other suggestions?
Hi and welcome to he community

Try holding down the "N" key while opening PT and chose the MBox and see if that helps anything.

Best of Luck
Christopher
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher


South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
SOUTHSIDEPUB

#Nothing Breaks Like a Heart

Eagles may soar, but weasels don't get sucked into jet engines
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01-19-2015, 12:37 PM
kklein2014 kklein2014 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2
Default Re: Pro Tools Express can't locate hardware.

I just had this problem and then found the solution, at least for me. I'm using Windows 7 and Pro-Tools, M-Powered Essential. The program comes with the KeyStudio set that includes a midi keyboard and microphone/headphone USB dongle. Downloading all of the latest drivers and the latest release of the program did not solve the problem. The problem was that Windows was not recognizing the Fast Track driver; apparently it is part of the M-Audio microphone/headphone dongle that comes with KeyStudio. I went to Device Manager, where the dongle was listed as USB Device. I decided to update the driver. I did a manual selection (automatic just installs the same one), selected M-Audio, and then FastTrack, which I had already downloaded and installed. Beautiful, it worked! Apparently it doesn't get applied for some reason. Hope this helps. I thought maybe the KeyStudio keyboard was required, but no, it runs without it.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 01-22-2015, 07:44 AM
llerrem llerrem is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 1
Default Re: Pro Tools Express can't locate hardware.

Quote:
Originally Posted by kklein2014 View Post
I just had this problem and then found the solution, at least for me. I'm using Windows 7 and Pro-Tools, M-Powered Essential. The program comes with the KeyStudio set that includes a midi keyboard and microphone/headphone USB dongle. Downloading all of the latest drivers and the latest release of the program did not solve the problem. The problem was that Windows was not recognizing the Fast Track driver; apparently it is part of the M-Audio microphone/headphone dongle that comes with KeyStudio. I went to Device Manager, where the dongle was listed as USB Device. I decided to update the driver. I did a manual selection (automatic just installs the same one), selected M-Audio, and then FastTrack, which I had already downloaded and installed. Beautiful, it worked! Apparently it doesn't get applied for some reason. Hope this helps. I thought maybe the KeyStudio keyboard was required, but no, it runs without it.

Hey KKlein, would you be able to break this down a little further. This looks like the exact info I need. Just not sure how to do it. I'd appreciate it!
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 07-09-2017, 11:08 AM
Time2paint Time2paint is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 6
Default Re: Pro Tools Express can't locate hardware.

Please help me~
I also have the "Unable to locate hardware" error with
Protools Express 10.3.4
I've installed (and uninstalled) Asio 10,13,14, because none worked.

My Equip:
DigiDesign MBox2, (driver is active)
64 Bit Processor
6 core Processor
Windows 7
iLok 2nd gen (driver is active)
Protools Express 10.3.4

Thank you to all the wonderful tech-savy young people - you are great.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools Express - Windows 8 - Unable to locate Hardware - Mbox Mini protoolsexpress Pro Tools Software (Win) 1 02-15-2014 01:56 AM
MBox Mini UNABLE TO LOCATE HARDWARE Pro Tools Express electropunkboy Pro Tools Software (Mac) 4 11-18-2013 10:06 PM
Pro Tools Express Unable To Locate Hardware Psychic Denim FireWire and USB Audio Interfaces (Win) 1 06-21-2013 08:00 AM
Pro Tools Express 10.3.3 unable to locate hardware cfmfam Getting Started 2 05-16-2013 06:09 PM
Mbox3 Pt express "Unable to locate Hardware" FMviolin Pro Tools 10 0 04-27-2013 01:46 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:20 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com