Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-29-2004, 07:37 AM
FullFreq FullFreq is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 100
Default Setting beginning and end points

How do you set where the end point of a song is? I know I've read if before but I can't find it. But when I bounce a song it always takes longer than the song really is. So I'm sure there's a way to set an end point for a session.
__________________
Digi 002R Factory Bundle
P4 2.4 Ghz 1MB Cache
1GB PC3200 Dual-Channel DDR RAM
40GB HDD for OS
250GB HDD for Audio
(2) 17" Monitors
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-29-2004, 07:39 AM
doylemusic doylemusic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Omaha, Ne
Posts: 812
Default Re: Setting beginning and end points

I always highlight the portion I want to bounce. So I usually select/highlight right before it starts and right after the fade out. Additionally, you can use other software (CD Architect) to align, crop, fade song to your taste.
__________________
PT Ultimate 2020.3.0
1 HDX Card
Lynx Aurora 16 (2)
Windows 10 Pro 1909
ASUS X-99 II
Intel i7
32GB RAM
Gigabyte GeForce GTX 1050 Ti 4GB
www.doylemusic.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-29-2004, 09:05 AM
FullFreq FullFreq is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 100
Default Re: Setting beginning and end points

Yeah I know. I just thought there's a way to mark the ending somewhere. There has to be otherwise how would PTLE know how long the song was when it came time to bounce.
__________________
Digi 002R Factory Bundle
P4 2.4 Ghz 1MB Cache
1GB PC3200 Dual-Channel DDR RAM
40GB HDD for OS
250GB HDD for Audio
(2) 17" Monitors
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-29-2004, 09:14 AM
lemix's Avatar
lemix lemix is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 10,893
Default Re: Setting beginning and end points

PT LE would probably look for the latest event on your playlist...
>don't quote me on that, though..<
__________________
cheers,
Andrew


W7 pro 64_i7 3930K_16GB_ Nuendo 6.5.4-7.1.3 / PT 12.4 ------Mac Mini OSX Lion_PT 10.xx
Allen&Heath GS R-24M_ full rack of vintage analog boxes _UAD2_Nugen_iZotope_Melda_Waves_Plugin Alliance_DMG and more
2.0 and 5.1 monitoring
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-29-2004, 09:26 AM
FullFreq FullFreq is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 100
Default Re: Setting beginning and end points

Interestin. I'll have to take a look at that. I guess I could highlight what I want to bounce. Just thought there was a more definitive way to do it.
__________________
Digi 002R Factory Bundle
P4 2.4 Ghz 1MB Cache
1GB PC3200 Dual-Channel DDR RAM
40GB HDD for OS
250GB HDD for Audio
(2) 17" Monitors
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-29-2004, 09:56 AM
lemix's Avatar
lemix lemix is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 10,893
Default Re: Setting beginning and end points

Quote:
Interestin. I'll have to take a look at that. I guess I could highlight what I want to bounce. Just thought there was a more definitive way to do it.

How much more "definitive" could it be ??

cheers,
__________________
cheers,
Andrew


W7 pro 64_i7 3930K_16GB_ Nuendo 6.5.4-7.1.3 / PT 12.4 ------Mac Mini OSX Lion_PT 10.xx
Allen&Heath GS R-24M_ full rack of vintage analog boxes _UAD2_Nugen_iZotope_Melda_Waves_Plugin Alliance_DMG and more
2.0 and 5.1 monitoring
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-29-2004, 10:32 AM
FullFreq FullFreq is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 100
Default Re: Setting beginning and end points

Quote:

How much more "definitive" could it be ??

cheers,
Well you could actually be able to set parameters for your session as to the start and end of that session. Therefore bypassing the need to highlight want you want to bounce. The reason I say it's possible is there has to be a marker somewhere, otherwise how would PTLE know where to stop bouncing the session? If there wasn't a marker, or some parameter setting, then it would never stop. So......................there should be a more definitve, maybe a bad word for it but nevertheless, way to set the beginning and end points for a particular session. Is that better for you Lemix?
__________________
Digi 002R Factory Bundle
P4 2.4 Ghz 1MB Cache
1GB PC3200 Dual-Channel DDR RAM
40GB HDD for OS
250GB HDD for Audio
(2) 17" Monitors
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-29-2004, 10:44 AM
lemix's Avatar
lemix lemix is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 10,893
Default Re: Setting beginning and end points

Hey Corey ,
Sure...I'll take that.
BUT..I just drag in the time line, and that's it ...so, what's so hard about that ?
Sorry if I'm missing your point...
cheers,
__________________
cheers,
Andrew


W7 pro 64_i7 3930K_16GB_ Nuendo 6.5.4-7.1.3 / PT 12.4 ------Mac Mini OSX Lion_PT 10.xx
Allen&Heath GS R-24M_ full rack of vintage analog boxes _UAD2_Nugen_iZotope_Melda_Waves_Plugin Alliance_DMG and more
2.0 and 5.1 monitoring
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-29-2004, 10:50 AM
FullFreq FullFreq is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 100
Default Re: Setting beginning and end points

It's just that I bounce songs a lot so I can listen to them in my car as I work on them. So if I have a lot of tracks, including midi, aux, etc., then it's kind of a pain to highlight each time I wanna bounce. It would be cool and easy to define a specific ending so when it came time to bounce it doesn't take 3 minutes longer than the song actually is to bounce the file. That's all. lol
__________________
Digi 002R Factory Bundle
P4 2.4 Ghz 1MB Cache
1GB PC3200 Dual-Channel DDR RAM
40GB HDD for OS
250GB HDD for Audio
(2) 17" Monitors
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-29-2004, 12:51 PM
mastermad mastermad is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 19
Default Re: Setting beginning and end points

If you know the end time of you song, just type in the value in the "End" parameter on either the time display in the edit window or in the transport window. You can also set the "Start" time in the same way. This is fast if you know the length of the song, and doesnt involve click and drag.

Be sure to press the enter key after you enter the values to make the settings stick.

Hope that helps.

Regards,
MM
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rec In/Out points independent from play/loop points like DP has? spiritG Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 10-01-2009 04:40 PM
setting start and end points for tracks? GMP 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 06-15-2009 10:47 AM
Setting Loop Points Within a Sample weezerboy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 03-09-2009 05:08 PM
Setting In and Out Points John Fishback Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 7 12-17-2006 09:01 AM
help with setting loop points Equality 7-2521 Tips & Tricks 2 07-17-2005 11:40 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:18 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com