Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-22-2004, 09:42 AM
daveo32 daveo32 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: boston, ma
Posts: 31
Default maximizing the digi002

ok... i am a bit confused. and a bit of a newbie. i dont feel i am taking full advantage of my 002. I want to have more tracks and I know I can ..... And am confused about the SPIDIF stuff.

At the moment I am using 8 inputs. 4 preamped by digi002 and 4 analog inputs preamped by a powered mixing board. my mixxing board has 8 channels. can I utilize all of them so i have control over each one in protools? does this work by using the SPIDIF cabel?

basically how do i take full advatage of this and expand my recordable tracks? what are my options? lightpipe?

any answer or a link to a page that can help would be greatly appreciated. i love this machine i just want to use it to its full potential.

thanks in advance!

digi002
PT LE 6.4
WinXP 1GHZ, 512 RAM
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-22-2004, 02:55 PM
FullFreq FullFreq is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 100
Default Re: maximizing the digi002

Does your mixer have SPDIF outputs?
Even if so, PTLE only have 2 SPDIF inputs. So that doesn't help you much.

However if your mixer has an optical out then you could run that to the optical, or ADAT lightpipe IN, on PTLE. But you can only record up to 24bit/48khz with the optical input. The regular analog inputs on PTLE are 24/96, as well as the SPDIF input.

So it's a matter of what kind of resolution you want to work with. If you want 24/96, then the most inputs you can have would be 10. 8 analog, and 2 SPDIF. But if you only needed to record at 24/48 then you can have up to 16 inputs, using 8 analog and 8 ADAT lightpipe, or optical.

I personally don't hear much difference between 48k and 96k, nor do I see the need to tax my pc anymore than necessary with the added resolution of 96k so I have been recording everything at 48k. But I also have a Presonus DigiMax 96 Pre-amp, which has both SPDIF and Optical outputs. So I've just been running an optical cable from the DigiMax to PTLE and I've got 8 channels of 24/48 inputs to work with. And if I wanted to add another pre-amp or two, I can run those into the analog inputs of PTLE and thus increase my inputs beyond the 8 optical I'm already using. Hope that helps.
__________________
Digi 002R Factory Bundle
P4 2.4 Ghz 1MB Cache
1GB PC3200 Dual-Channel DDR RAM
40GB HDD for OS
250GB HDD for Audio
(2) 17" Monitors
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-22-2004, 03:06 PM
Bastiaan Bastiaan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nederland
Posts: 6,914
Default Re: maximizing the digi002

Actually....


You can go up to 10 inputs with 88 or 96 Khz (8 analog and 2 SPDIF digital)

and up to 18 with 44 or 48 Khz (8 analog, 8 through adat, and 2 through spdif)
__________________
What's that?
- That's the machine that goes "pling".


Bastiaan
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-22-2004, 03:31 PM
FullFreq FullFreq is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 100
Default Re: maximizing the digi002

Isn't it kind of a waster to only have 2 SPDIF inputs on PTLE? I'm sure most people who use PTLE are wanting to track more than 2 tracks at once. Especially knowing that the ADAT Lightpipe, catchy slogon, can only go up to 24/48.
__________________
Digi 002R Factory Bundle
P4 2.4 Ghz 1MB Cache
1GB PC3200 Dual-Channel DDR RAM
40GB HDD for OS
250GB HDD for Audio
(2) 17" Monitors
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-22-2004, 06:12 PM
lemix's Avatar
lemix lemix is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 10,893
Default Re: maximizing the digi002

Quote:
Isn't it kind of a waster to only have 2 SPDIF inputs on PTLE? I'm sure most people who use PTLE are wanting to track more than 2 tracks at once. Especially knowing that the ADAT Lightpipe, catchy slogon, can only go up to 24/48.
Well, sorry to step in FullFreq , but even PT HD has only one SPDIF port/interface...
As a matter of fact, I don't recall seeing any DAW interfaces with multiple SPDIF I/O ports ever..
AES, ADAT, TDIF , MADI...yes. Or some proprietary format , like the Yamaha or Roland one...

cheers,
__________________
cheers,
Andrew


W7 pro 64_i7 3930K_16GB_ Nuendo 6.5.4-7.1.3 / PT 12.4 ------Mac Mini OSX Lion_PT 10.xx
Allen&Heath GS R-24M_ full rack of vintage analog boxes _UAD2_Nugen_iZotope_Melda_Waves_Plugin Alliance_DMG and more
2.0 and 5.1 monitoring
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-22-2004, 08:58 PM
FullFreq FullFreq is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 100
Default Re: maximizing the digi002

Why would you be sorry to step in Lemix?
I don't have too much experience with DAW like these so that's just an observation of mine. But the option for SPDIF at 24/96 is a very good one. Just thought more people would want more than just 2 inputs. That's all.
__________________
Digi 002R Factory Bundle
P4 2.4 Ghz 1MB Cache
1GB PC3200 Dual-Channel DDR RAM
40GB HDD for OS
250GB HDD for Audio
(2) 17" Monitors
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Maximizing VEP along with PT8/10.6.x drBill Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 10-14-2010 08:49 AM
MAXIMIZING MY IMAC G4 shawn pocket 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 04-16-2008 04:28 PM
Maximizing CPU Jsswtpmp182 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 09-03-2006 06:39 PM
Maximizing the CPU Trevor_ 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 10-14-2003 10:57 PM
Maximizing the CPU Trevor_ 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 10-11-2003 05:57 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:14 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com