Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Getting Started

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-07-2015, 04:00 PM
Matthew.protools Matthew.protools is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Seattle
Posts: 4
Default Pro Tools Installation and iLok Issue

UPDATE: Installed Pro Tools 11. "WARNING: Loss of Plug-In authorization keys may occur." Fixed. Proceeding to download remaining plug-ins and soundbanks.

AMD 8350 8-core processor
8gb RAM
Windows 7 64bit
300gb free space on 1tb hard drive

Last edited by Matthew.protools; 02-07-2015 at 09:51 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-07-2015, 04:13 PM
Benoni's Avatar
Benoni Benoni is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Behind YOU!!
Posts: 9,727
Default Re: Pro Tools Installation and iLok Issue

You should uninstall Pro Tools 9 before you install Pro Tools 11 anyway, so uninstall it.

You can download Pro Tools 11 from your Avid account.

The iLok License for Pro Tools 11 can ONLY be placed on an iLok v2 key.

Not sure why you have two separate licenses for PT11, are you sure it's not a bundle of PT10 and PT11?
__________________
Brian

Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit

Pro Tools 2020
benonistudio.com
Youtube Channel - benonistudio
Plugin Deals
@benonistudio
Instagram
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-07-2015, 04:16 PM
Matthew.protools Matthew.protools is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Seattle
Posts: 4
Default Re: Pro Tools Installation and iLok Issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by Benoni View Post
The iLok License for Pro Tools 11 can ONLY be placed on an iLok v2 key.

Not sure why you have two separate licenses for PT11, are you sure it's not a bundle of PT10 and PT11?
I think I have an iLok v2, it says mine is a second generation.

And yeah you're right about it being a bundle.

I am unable to install Pro Tools for some reason. I have installed the drivers available through my products on the Avid website.

Last edited by Matthew.protools; 02-07-2015 at 05:38 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-07-2015, 06:11 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 13,018
Default Re: Pro Tools Installation and iLok Issue

Hi Matthew

Do you have any Virus Protection software activated when you downloaded the installer? And if you did please deactivate that 100% certainty and re-download the installer and see if that helps, have been an issue a few times this past month and disabling all Virus software helped.
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-07-2015, 06:43 PM
Matthew.protools Matthew.protools is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Seattle
Posts: 4
Default Re: Pro Tools Installation and iLok Issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by Southsidemusic View Post
Hi Matthew

Do you have any Virus Protection software activated when you downloaded the installer? And if you did please deactivate that 100% certainty and re-download the installer and see if that helps, have been an issue a few times this past month and disabling all Virus software helped.
Didn't do anything. I tried re-installing the driver and codecs but that didn't affect it either.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-07-2015, 07:24 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 13,018
Default Re: Pro Tools Installation and iLok Issue

Why are you installing HD drivers and codecs? Do you have an HD X or HD native setup? If so which interface?
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-07-2015, 09:04 PM
Matthew.protools Matthew.protools is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Seattle
Posts: 4
Default Re: Pro Tools Installation and iLok Issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by Southsidemusic View Post
Why are you installing HD drivers and codecs? Do you have an HD X or HD native setup? If so which interface?
I don't have HD, I'm not sure why I installed the HD driver. Regardless, after uninstalling it that still hasn't made a difference.

EDIT: Going to try completely removing Pro Tools again and re-install.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-08-2015, 07:18 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,851
Default Re: Pro Tools Installation and iLok Issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by Matthew.protools View Post
I don't have HD, I'm not sure why I installed the HD driver. Regardless, after uninstalling it that still hasn't made a difference.

EDIT: Going to try completely removing Pro Tools again and re-install.
Pretty certain that the HD driver gets installed, regardless of hardware(it always did when I was running my 003 interface), and any time you uninstall Pro Tools(for any reason) you should also uninstall the HD driver(if you are presented with the option).

Regarding this:
UPDATE: Installed Pro Tools 11. "WARNING: Loss of Plug-In authorization keys may occur." Fixed. Proceeding to download remaining plug-ins and soundbanks.
this is a very similar message that many will see if they have a drive(hard drive, USB drive, whatever) with a name longer than 11 characters(and a space IS a character), so maybe check drive names by opening My Computer

Re iLok old vs gen 2(and PT11 requires gen 2), the "key" shaped iLoks are the old style. The gen 2 iLoks are rectangular and tapered at both ends(with the cap still on) as seen here:http://www.sweetwater.com/store/deta...A2oaAtli8P8HAQ
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools 11 Installation/ License Recognition Problems (iLok) aebert macOS 5 01-08-2014 02:59 PM
Ilok Issue with pro tools 10 (Mac / Windows) mmk macOS 0 04-13-2012 12:45 PM
Pro Tools 9 to 10 ilok will not surrender issue gdrum macOS 3 10-24-2011 06:13 AM
ilok issue with pro tools expansion pack audioczar 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 12-19-2010 07:59 AM
Installation Memory Allocation Issue with Pro Tools Free (Message ID = -6008) mtbakerstu Digidesign Hardware & Software 0 02-01-2003 11:35 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:29 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com