Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-29-2007, 01:09 PM
deedub deedub is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 10
Default Best Mac for 003 Factory (simple part time home studio use)

Please post comments as I'm looking for recommendations. I just received 003 factory with 6 pin firewire connect. I assumed I could use my powerful Dell M90 laptop with Windows XP Pro to run PTLE and 003. Wrong. Even though Digi touted the Dell M65 & M90 awhile back as compatible it's not. Firewire, buffer challenges abound as well as all the config, partitioning etc. of the system I'd have to do to have PT run properly. I've resigned myself to look at getting a dedicated DESKTOP for one purpose only: to run PT. I've had PC's but not Mac. I've been told Mac is superior to PC for Pro Tools. Please share some thoughts on a PROVEN compatible Mac that is not too pricey. I am using PT for simple home projects that includes an upcoming church musical. Nothing that elaborate. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-29-2007, 01:57 PM
James Drake James Drake is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 592
Default Re: Best Mac for 003 Factory (simple part time home studio use)

Apple only make one desktop computer.
__________________
Waves Plugins FOR SALE
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-29-2007, 03:33 PM
deedub deedub is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 10
Default Re: Best Mac for 003 Factory (simple part time home studio use)

Thanks. Shows how unfamiliar I am with Apple products. Are they similiar to PC where they can be configured with different components (graphics cards, bigger memory, processors?). If so I'm looking for recommendations as how to best configure a Mac for best, trouble free performance with PTLE.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-29-2007, 04:12 PM
OneMadSon OneMadSon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 235
Default Re: Best Mac for 003 Factory (simple part time home studio use)

Like you, I'm no Mac expert (despite using one for my protools rig the past 5 years) but I just asked this same question last week so I'll chime in. Right now the current desktop macs are called MacPros. Based on the input from people here I just got a dual 2.66ghz with 1 gig of RAM. If you use lots of soft synths and plugs ins (I don't) you probably will want more RAM but even 1 gig should keep you rocking. There are endless configurations for these machines. If you don't have a problem buying and installing your own hardrives and RAM you can do it much cheaper than buying it from Apple. Sites like Mac Mall will get you this machine (Mac Pro 4-Core(2 Dual-Core 2.66GHZ Intel Xeon) 1GB/250/7300GT/SD) for around $2350 pre tax. And you get a free printer. No monitor. Based on input here this should be enough power to make you very happy. That is the machine I just bought. It has room for something like 8 gigs of RAM and 3 extra internal hardrives.

My 003 is also in the mail. I'm not sure if you got the production toolkit with yours (i traded in an 002 so I got that for free) but even if you didn't it appears we are in for quite a treat.
__________________
One Mad Son

The only difference between me and a madman is that I am not mad S. Dali
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-29-2007, 04:20 PM
The Dougfather The Dougfather is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 3,199
Default Re: Best Mac for 003 Factory (simple part time home studio

Dude, go for an iMac, they're very good value for money and provide a great bridge between the mini macs and a mac pro. I've gone from a G5 to a core 2 duo, older sessions that were CPU intense barely tickle the CPU meter on the C2D.

Cheers
__________________
iMac i5 2.8GHz, Macbook Pro 2.4GHz, Pro Tools 10/11, MOTU 828mk2, Presonus Digimax FS, Presonus Firestudio Project, TC Konnekt 24D
---
iCON Photography
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-29-2007, 09:24 PM
deedub deedub is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 10
Default Re: Best Mac for 003 Factory (simple part time home studio use)

Thanks. Just the sort of feedback I was hoping for. Did some research since my first post, including talking with a friend who is Mac only and a PT user as well as a professional sound engineer. Says iMacs and used G5 are good values that get you quite a ways down the road (as long as it has the Intel chipset). I am also bwginning to entertain a MacPro, but with a good size monitor I'm probably around $3000 new which is about $1000 more than I anticipated. Have decided I'm going Mac though. And yes, I did get the Expansion Pack thrown in N/C.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OT: Home Owner's Insurance when Studio is at home Dizzi45Z Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 8 07-16-2010 03:34 PM
Recording in real studio, mixing at home w/ Pro Tools, mastering at real studio scummyjob 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 10 05-17-2010 03:02 AM
2 Part Question : regarding studio monitors Wavelabs Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 15 06-29-2009 01:48 PM
Part-time Studio Share in W. Midtown NYC knewbee General Discussion 0 01-23-2006 04:53 AM
Home Studio or Commercial Studio (HELP!!!) cityscholar Tips & Tricks 3 10-29-2004 05:57 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:32 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com