Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #71  
Old 09-27-2020, 09:50 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 14,379
Default Re: Macintosh moving to ARM

The new Mac Pro are very nice. I played enough to feel like I would really like one but like != justify. I primarily use a Macbook Pro, so it's an additional cost. If I was having issues now that affected business and I could pay back in ~3 years I would get one. Otherwise... what's the current issue with your Mac Pro trashcan? Can you improve that?

Are you really on Pro Tools 12.x still? Are you seeing CPU issues? Have you tried 2019.5 or later with the AAE performance improvements?

Last edited by Darryl Ramm; 09-27-2020 at 10:14 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #72  
Old 09-27-2020, 10:04 PM
Sardi Sardi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Perth
Posts: 1,999
Default Re: Macintosh moving to ARM

Quote:
Originally Posted by ArKay99 View Post
I'm using UAD I/F's through TB 2. On the Apple Store page the Mac Pro is stated to have TB...then I've seen that they will be supporting TB through USB-C...that's a different connector, so I'm not what that's about since I need a traditional TB2 type connector. Any knowledge of that?
TB3 to TB2 adaptor. $60 and you’re good to go.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #73  
Old 09-28-2020, 05:22 AM
rmccam rmccam is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 266
Default Re: Macintosh moving to ARM

Quote:
Originally Posted by ArKay99 View Post
Lastly, It seems there are a few on here that have already purchased the new Mac Pro... I'm wondering if they like them.
I really like mine but I'd say the need for one is very specific. I'm on HDX and am currently working on a project in Atmos, so my choices were pretty limited when I made the purchase earlier this year (I'm not interested in going PC or Hackintosh). If I'd had even a near-equivalent option, I would have gone another route. I can justify the business expense but it's still a tough pill to swallow.

That said, the Mac Pro is a powerhouse and very quiet (save the stupid HDX fan), but the ARM thing does annoy me. I don't know if it'll end up actually being an issue but it has the potential to be a big one. Just moving to Catalina in January (months after its release) was a pain... who knows how bad the move to ARM will be. As others have pointed out, being on the last good Intel machine could be a blessing in disguise for those of us who rely on stability for our businesses.
__________________
Ryan McCambridge
Producer • Sound Designer • Mixer
Reply With Quote
  #74  
Old 09-28-2020, 05:29 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 20,195
Default Re: Macintosh moving to ARM

Quote:
Originally Posted by rmccam View Post
ARM thing does annoy me. I don't know if it'll end up actually being an issue but it has the potential to be a big one. Just moving to Catalina in January (months after its release) was a pain... who knows how bad the move to ARM will be.
You weren't around when Apple moved from PPC to Intels in 2004-2005 were you? Universal Binaries are nothing new here.

The transition was as close to seamless as it could have been, and Intel hardware was way more powerful since second generation. Did not use first generation machines so cannot comment on that. When I replaced my 2005 G5 Quad with a 2009 Nehalem Quad, the performance difference was very obvious. And without water cooling

Biggest PITA is you need to wait until all 3rd party vendors have their stuff together, which also means some software will be left behind.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #75  
Old 09-28-2020, 05:31 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 20,195
Default Re: Macintosh moving to ARM

Quote:
Originally Posted by BCnSTL View Post
Geezo. Apple has never given firm answers about when they will release new products or when they might drop support for old ones.
They are obligated to support hardware for at least three years after the final sale, but in reality it has always been five years. Even the last transition, last PPC sold was 2005 and it was supported with Leopard's last release on August 2009

History is a bad guideline for future, though.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #76  
Old 09-28-2020, 05:36 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 20,195
Default Re: Macintosh moving to ARM

Quote:
Originally Posted by ArKay99 View Post
I mean if I'm going to shell out that kind of green, I'd like to feel confident I can get at least 7 years or so from it
Sorry to say it this frank, but it is just plain stupid to expect a computer even work 7 years let alone be able to run latest software. They are built for 3 year lifespan and you can "hope" to get 5 years.

If it is not feasible for you, buy something cheaper.

Miracles can happen, though. My 2013 trashcan is still going strong, albeit I have custom upgraded it to 10-core. Just that I cannot "expect" that this thing is working next year, and if I need to park it with Catalina it is still just as useful as today, as long as it keeps running.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #77  
Old 09-28-2020, 05:38 AM
rmccam rmccam is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 266
Default Re: Macintosh moving to ARM

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
You weren't around when Apple moved from PPC to Intels in 2004-2005 were you? Universal Binaries are nothing new here.
...

Biggest PITA is you need to wait until all 3rd party vendors have their stuff together, which also means some software will be left behind.
I've been using PT since version 5. As you said, the transition was a pain because of third-party software — because who uses just Avid plugins? Then you have the hassle of recalls once all those companies get left behind.

The bigger issue is obsolescence. The $12k machine loses its value really quickly once a shift like that takes place.
__________________
Ryan McCambridge
Producer • Sound Designer • Mixer
Reply With Quote
  #78  
Old 09-28-2020, 05:40 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 20,195
Default Re: Macintosh moving to ARM

If you buy a +10k machine you need a plan how to write it off. Then who cares if you donate it for someone after its planned lifetime?
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #79  
Old 09-28-2020, 05:19 PM
ArKay99 ArKay99 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Cape Coral, FL
Posts: 791
Default Re: Macintosh moving to ARM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
The new Mac Pro are very nice. I played enough to feel like I would really like one but like != justify. I primarily use a Macbook Pro, so it's an additional cost. If I was having issues now that affected business and I could pay back in ~3 years I would get one. Otherwise... what's the current issue with your Mac Pro trashcan? Can you improve that?
Current issue is freezing...actually it's "Burning Processor' according to the logs. The story behind the machine is, it's a 2013 refurbed Quad core that I sent to OWC to have the processor upgraded to the 10-core in there now. I added 16 gigs of ram to bump it to 32 gig. I've had this problem from the beginning. I have a fan sitting on top of it, and the whole thing sitting on top of a laptop cooler fan. This is the only thing that keeps it running for an acceptable amount of time, as long as I keep the CR temps below 70. I've taken it apart and cleaned it, a lot, but it's a thermal thing. I've read where some early 2013's had issues with the dual video cards overheating, so it may be a combo of that and the processor. Then with all these fans running at dissonant frequencies the fan noise is unacceptable...I've got the machine in the CR on the desk.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
Are you really on Pro Tools 12.x still? Are you seeing CPU issues? Have you tried 2019.5 or later with the AAE performance improvements?
Yes, still on 12.4.x... I've got 2 instrument plugin's that are 32 bit and I need them for a lot of the projects I do. I use them with Vienna Instruments hosted by their 32 bit server. And to tell the truth, converting to the newest OS, then the new version of PT and consequently upgrading all my plugs is daunting...I was holding off on all that until I got a new machine, installing the new version of PT, and upgrading my firmware and software then.

This is kinda why getting a new machine is important.
__________________
Mac Pro 6.1, E5-2690 V2 10 core 3.0G, 32gig 1866 memory, 512G PCIe system drive, 2 1T data drives in Thunderbolt enclosure, macOS 10.15.7, Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.9.1, Twin Raven MTi's, Apollo 8 TB, 2 UAD2 Satellite Octo Thunderbolt, RME ADI-4 DD, Neve 5012, 5043, Bricasti M7, 2 PCM 92's, M350, DynAudio BM6 MK 3, BM14S, a bunch of cool mics...1 damned iLok2.
Reply With Quote
  #80  
Old 09-28-2020, 05:34 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 20,195
Default Re: Macintosh moving to ARM

I have the same 10-core custom trashcan as you have, except mine has 64GB memory and 2TB storage. No heat issues here so it must be a software thing.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
003 Macintosh Audio JoeyBoomBox 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 06-21-2007 10:41 PM
macintosh processors... pinstudio 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 09-10-2005 12:37 PM
macintosh processors... pinstudio 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 09-10-2005 10:14 AM
MacIntosh Plus??? j old school 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 12 08-29-2002 07:57 AM
Macintosh USB Audio In N9YTY Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 02-13-2001 08:21 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:15 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com