Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Pro Tools | S3

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-18-2018, 01:41 AM
TerryBarnett TerryBarnett is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Hertfordshire
Posts: 43
Default S3 Stand

Hi everyone

Are any of you using a stand for your S3 that provides a better angle to work with (e.g. easier to read track data on the surface) when sitting a little further back from your workstation environment?

I'm assuming that this would not affect performance as long as ventilation and connection access is not impacted (Eddie?).

Would appreciate any thoughts.

Many thanks
__________________
Pro Tools 12 on iMac 5K 27'' (2017) Intel® Core™ i5 processor.

OSX Sierra

Avid S3 & Artist Transport

UAD Apollo Twin
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-18-2018, 06:29 AM
teedeecee teedeecee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Sydney
Posts: 80
Default Re: S3 Stand

Hi Terry,

For my studio I built a console for the S3 to sit in so the surface is flush with its surrounds and is fronted with a leather strip. I had the good fortune of working on an S5 for years and based my design on it to mirror its ergonomics.

I angled the S3 a few degrees higher and the rear is enclosed. My studio is air conditioned and after a few years haven’t had any issues with heat etc.

Have to say it’s a worthy replacement, coupled with an Transport and some custom EuCon programming.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-18-2018, 11:44 PM
TerryBarnett TerryBarnett is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Hertfordshire
Posts: 43
Default Re: S3 Stand

Thanks ever so much for the response teedeecee; good to hear that there's no adverse environmental impact on the unit.

I absolutely agree that the S3 and the Transport is a brilliant combination and hopefully I'll be able to find a way to get a more comfortable viewing angle as you appear to have done.

Thanks again.
__________________
Pro Tools 12 on iMac 5K 27'' (2017) Intel® Core™ i5 processor.

OSX Sierra

Avid S3 & Artist Transport

UAD Apollo Twin
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-19-2018, 06:04 AM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,369
Default Re: S3 Stand

Quote:
Originally Posted by teedeecee View Post
Hi Terry,

For my studio I built a console for the S3 to sit in so the surface is flush with its surrounds and is fronted with a leather strip. I had the good fortune of working on an S5 for years and based my design on it to mirror its ergonomics.

I angled the S3 a few degrees higher and the rear is enclosed. My studio is air conditioned and after a few years haven’t had any issues with heat etc.

Have to say it’s a worthy replacement, coupled with an Transport and some custom EuCon programming.
post pics please!!
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-22-2018, 04:20 AM
teedeecee teedeecee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Sydney
Posts: 80
Default Re: S3 Stand

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drew Mazurek View Post
post pics please!!
Hi Drew,

I am almost done with construction of the studio, and haven't taken any decent photos as yet, but here is a grab from the cad model.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	TDC STUDIO - CONSOLE.jpg
Views:	0
Size:	61.5 KB
ID:	10509  
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old Yesterday, 01:53 AM
ronnievanoverveld ronnievanoverveld is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Bergen op Zoom, The Netherlands
Posts: 62
Default Re: S3 Stand

When I use my S3 at home, I use a very simple, but effective stand to get a better angle. It's a laptop stand by Ikea:

https://www.ikea.com/us/en/catalog/products/60150176/

I place the middle of the S3 on the stand (the stand is not as wide as the S3). It's also very useful if you take the S3 to other places.

I'm also curious on the console designs (which I also want to built for my studio).

Cheers!
__________________
Ronnie van Overveld - Sounddesigner - The Netherlands
====================================
Mac Pro Trashcan OSX Yosemite, ProTools 12.5 HD Native Thunderbolt, Avid OMNI, HD IO Digital, Avid S3, Avid PT DOCK, Apollo Twin Duo TB
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old Yesterday, 04:10 AM
J-S-Q J-S-Q is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: London
Posts: 187
Default Re: S3 Stand

I have mine mounted on drawer runners so it can be pulled out if I want to focus on the S3 (which solves the angle issue because you have it so close and are looking more down on it), or retracted if I'm doing a lot of keyboard/mouse based stuff.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	S3 Pic 1.jpg
Views:	0
Size:	72.4 KB
ID:	10520   Click image for larger version

Name:	S3 Pic 2.jpg
Views:	0
Size:	74.0 KB
ID:	10521  
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old Yesterday, 07:03 AM
teedeecee teedeecee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Sydney
Posts: 80
Default Re: S3 Stand

J-S-Q, that’s a great solution.

Has taken me years to acknowledge that a large project has a significant portion of pre production that is best served without a console blocking your keyboard and mouse/trackball.

Ergonomics is all!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stand for C8 George Ware ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 2 05-09-2004 06:56 PM
take a stand 70bit 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 15 06-23-2003 03:36 PM
192 stand alone? Scanners Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 05-13-2003 11:00 AM
B4 stand alone... aziel General Discussion 2 04-29-2003 10:11 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:42 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com