Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 09-16-2002, 02:12 PM

Default AM radio sound and that elusive "POCKET" sound...

I am fairly new to this whole thing of engineering in a studio. I've mixed for live shows and am pretty good with that, but this is a WHOLE NEW AREA. I've read and studied and LISTENED and even recently purchased GOLDEN EARS to help train my ears, but it's been a stuggle getting the sound I'm wanting.

Here's my problem, I have been struggling with getting a good sound that doesn't sound like AM radio. I know that it's partly/mostly an EQ issue, but I'm not convinced that this may also be a tracking issue as well - sub-par gear.

I've recorded vocals using an AKG Solidtube mic through the Digi 001 preamp (after reading through the discussion groups lately, this appears to not be a good idea). The vocalist is a female that has a very powerful voice that sings POP and inspirational style music, something between a LeAnn Rimes and Barbara Streisand.

I know that without HEARING some of the recordings, it will be difficult to provide a good answer, but what I'm looking for is...

1) Is it possible to get that silky sound using Pro Tools LE?

2) If so, then did I screw up by using the DIGI 001 preamp? Is there something that I can do to fix it? I tried running them through the Behringer Tube Ultragain and was able to "soften" them up a bit.

3) Regarding that AM sound, any recommendations and some direction for EQing? This is a dumb question, but I figure I'd throw it out there and see if someone has some tips.