Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 11

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-24-2015, 05:28 AM
Stys64's Avatar
Stys64 Stys64 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: St. Clair Shores, Michigan
Posts: 66
Default PT11 to PT12

Happy Holidays. I do not post often but have learned a lot from the members of this forum. This time around, I am curious if PT users experience the "anxious gut" when upgrading. Simply put, my wife purchased the PT12 upgrade for me this Christmas (along with the Slate Batch Commander). I am eager to download the new version but, the thought of doing so makes my stomach flip with fear something may go wrong. Anyone ever feel this way when upgrading? Has Avid's PT software quirks affected my confidence?

As for the Slate BC - jury is still out. This software has a steep learning curve should you wish to create your own presets.

Happy Holidays!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-24-2015, 09:32 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,709
Default Re: PT11 to PT12

Re moving from 11 to 12, I treat this as I treat ANY update. Always have a backup plan....no, really...have a backup plan

Mine is to clone my system drive before any change(I keep several hard drives just for this purpose) and/or save a drive image(I keep a pair of 2TB USB drives just for this purpose). For me(running windows), PT12 has not been smooth sailing(yet), but my backup plan allows me to swap back to my PT11 system drive so I can work as usual. Once I get 12 to work nicely, I'll be a happy user(love the new Commit and Track Freeze!!!) but in the mean time, I have a working rig. FWIW, my friends than are on Macs are having a better time with 12
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-24-2015, 10:06 AM
Stys64's Avatar
Stys64 Stys64 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: St. Clair Shores, Michigan
Posts: 66
Default Re: PT11 to PT12

[QUOTE=albee1952;2322547]Re moving from 11 to 12, I treat this as I treat ANY update. Always have a backup plan....no, really...have a backup plan

Great advice. Thank you!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-26-2015, 09:46 PM
Extreme Mixing Extreme Mixing is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Van Nuys, CA. USA
Posts: 1,329
Default Re: PT11 to PT12

Yes. Add that to the fact that 11 never worked will for me. It was terrible. So I felt that I had no choice but more to 12. I stepped up and spent the money on 12HD. 12.4 really has to work. So far, it's been better.

Steve
__________________
Steve Shepherd
Extreme Mixing
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrade from PT11 to PT12 rubensn Pro Tools 12 2 11-28-2015 11:03 PM
XPAND II in PT12 and PT11 YYR123 Pro Tools 12 1 11-22-2015 10:55 PM
PT11 to PT12 DuncanRI Pro Tools 12 0 06-20-2015 07:17 AM
So PT12 is actually slower than PT11? makinghits Pro Tools 12 28 04-03-2015 03:47 AM
Why PT12 might be very similar to PT11 trevora Pro Tools 12 1 03-29-2015 06:01 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:20 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com