Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Pro Tools | S6

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-03-2019, 01:41 PM
karegranat karegranat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 50
Default PT 2018.12.0. "Open Plug-ins on Workstation When Editing" broken?

Hi, all!

The title says it all, basically.

When I upgraded today from 2018.10 to 2018.12, my S6 stopped opening plug-ins when pressing the Attention button or any of the Process-buttons (EQ, DYN, INSERT).

I don´t think I have changed anything regarding User Prefs, and still this function is now gone.

Bug? Anything I have overlooked? Anyone else have the same issue? Fix?

Regards,

Javed Kurd, Oslo Norway

MacPro late 2013, 32 GB RAM
Sierra 12.12.6
PT Ultimate 2018.12.0
S6 M10 v.18.3.219
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-04-2019, 05:20 AM
creativecontrol's Avatar
creativecontrol creativecontrol is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 628
Default Re: PT 2018.12.0. "Open Plug-ins on Workstation When Editing" broken?

Greetings,

I'll take a look at this today, however I have received similar reports from a few other users. This sounds like it is related to the PT changes in anticipation of the upcoming S6 release.

More info soon.



best,



Jeff
__________________
Jeff Komar
Applications Specialist, Pro Audio
Avid
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-04-2019, 05:22 AM
karegranat karegranat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 50
Default Re: PT 2018.12.0. "Open Plug-ins on Workstation When Editing" broken?

Thanks, Jeff!

Javed.:)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-05-2019, 08:52 AM
creativecontrol's Avatar
creativecontrol creativecontrol is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 628
Default PT 2018.12.0. "Open Plug-ins on Workstation When Editing" broken?

I’ve repro’d several interactions that are non-functional with that version combination (S6 18.3 + PT 18.12). Most of them have to do with windowing, which is not surprising in light of the active construction going on in this area of the code.



Jeff




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
__________________
Jeff Komar
Applications Specialist, Pro Audio
Avid
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-05-2019, 09:39 AM
karegranat karegranat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 50
Default Re: PT 2018.12.0. "Open Plug-ins on Workstation When Editing" broken?

Ok, thanks!

But what is the next step? Do I have to downgrade PT to 2018.10 again? Is that as easy as just downloading the 18.10 installer and overwrite 18.12, or are additional steps needed?

Javed.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-05-2019, 09:49 AM
creativecontrol's Avatar
creativecontrol creativecontrol is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 628
Default Re: PT 2018.12.0. "Open Plug-ins on Workstation When Editing" broken?

Let me verify behaviors with Pro Tools 18.10 and report back.


best,



Jeff




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
__________________
Jeff Komar
Applications Specialist, Pro Audio
Avid
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-05-2019, 10:17 AM
its2loud its2loud is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Los Angles
Posts: 388
Default Re: PT 2018.12.0. "Open Plug-ins on Workstation When Editing" broken?

Is there an accurate ETA for a Eucon update considering it’s been 9 months since the last one and now the current version of PT is breaking some eucon functionality?

It’s only slightly frustrating.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-05-2019, 02:02 PM
creativecontrol's Avatar
creativecontrol creativecontrol is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 628
Default Re: PT 2018.12.0. "Open Plug-ins on Workstation When Editing" broken?

Confirmed that S6 18.3 and PT 18.10 is a much happier combination of versions and that the windowing issues are not a problem here. I’ll defer to Eddie on information regarding upcoming releases.



best,



Jeff



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
__________________
Jeff Komar
Applications Specialist, Pro Audio
Avid
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-06-2019, 02:21 PM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 1,951
Default Re: PT 2018.12.0. "Open Plug-ins on Workstation When Editing" broken?

Quote:
Originally Posted by its2loud View Post
Is there an accurate ETA for a Eucon update considering it’s been 9 months since the last one and now the current version of PT is breaking some eucon functionality?
We were planning on a release in December but were not happy with the reliability and wanted some more time beta testing and fixing bugs. Hopefully this won't take more than a few weeks. Unfortunately this had the effect of breaking the plug in windows opening in PT 18.12 as this was supposed to be matched with the S6 release. I'm sorry we missed that. The next release has some improved functionality around this feature.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-06-2019, 03:32 PM
its2loud its2loud is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Los Angles
Posts: 388
Default Re: PT 2018.12.0. "Open Plug-ins on Workstation When Editing" broken?

Thanks Eddie. Looking forward to some of the new features. So maybe sometime around NAMM then.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"favorite plug ins" feature broken on 12.6? del cosmos Pro Tools 12 20 12-29-2016 01:45 PM
Cannot open PT9 Session in PT10 - ""could not complete the open sessions command..." median Pro Tools 10 5 10-01-2013 11:14 AM
Import session data... please break out "plug in settings" and "plug in automation" yeloocevad Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 19 10-05-2011 01:04 PM
PT9 Session Troubles - "Bus Error" in "Main Thread" & Could not complete the Open... tohmit macOS 5 03-23-2011 12:13 PM
PT 8.1 audio "hits" or "pops" when i open files from PT7... djoeyd77 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 10-31-2009 03:59 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:07 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com