Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-05-2017, 07:57 PM
DJ Hellfire DJ Hellfire is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,030
Default "I'm leaving Pro Tools for ... DAW"

The other day I kinda blasted on some guys in the http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=387476 thread for posting yet another thread about leaving Pro Tools instead of just leaving Pro Tools. My point wasn't to take away anyone's right to complain. My point was to express that complaining on this forum is not going to solve the problem.

THIS is what's going to solve the problem for those with unstable systems; actually going to another DAW and hurting Avids pockets and market share is what has to happen. Several long time Pro Tools users are actually making the switch AND giving detailed videos on the exact reasons why and what the benefits are in other options.

Pete Stewart mentions his growing instability issues and feeling like Pro Tools itself wasn't growing enough.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L8zY7KyvpyQ

Matty Trump gives a very detailed look into some of the amazing features Studio One offers.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=45fUddilLI4

Even the marvelous Warren Huart is dabbling in Studio One for nearly a year now.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U8N0LlJkzQg

Even in our Maschine Masters 'On The Spot' video, Matt Weiss mentions that HD is basically a huge $10K cost for Pro Tools not to crash. The scenario for this conversation being brought up is that the producer and the artist booked a studio session for a certain amount of hours to make this video and lost time due to Pro Tools crashing and requiring a complete reboot in the middle of the session. The producer mentions that this is NOT a surprise and that he plans to move to Ableton.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PKQKsJUcjkc

So this is all I was saying. Just leave and show them why. Eventually they will either get into gear or sell the brand.
__________________
www.HellfireBeats.com

Akai MPC 2000XL, Akai MPC X, Mackie 1202VLZ Pro, Akai Advance 61, Focal Alpha 80, UAD 2 Apollo Quad, UAD 2 Satellite Quad, UAD 2 Octo PCIe, Neve R6 "Lunch Box", Neve Portico 511, Neve Portico 551, Neumann TLM49

Pro Tools 2018.10

Mac Pro 4,1 (5,1 upgrade), Early-2009, 3.46GHz Nehalem 12-Core, 32GB RAM - OS 10.12.6

13" MacBook Pro, Late-2011, 2.4GHz Dual Core i5, 16GB RAM - OS 10.12.6

27" iMac, Late-2012, 3.4GHz i7, 24GB RAM - OS 10.12.6

Last edited by DJ Hellfire; 01-06-2017 at 05:03 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-05-2017, 08:17 PM
ShiftStudios ShiftStudios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Toowoomba, QLD, Australia
Posts: 282
Default Re: "I'm leaving Pro Tools for ... DAW"

I started a similar war sometime back and made a few enemies. As I took a step back and looked at it maturely, I decided, "I'll just use whatever I feel like, unless the client specifically asks for XYZ DAW."

Based on the price and the way the Pro Tools subscription model works, I can't blame anyone for feeling jilted when they spend a heap on AVID hardware and Software (which I still keep doing!!). But your comment is absolutely right, complaining here does not get results. Leaving and telling AVID why you're leaving will if enough do.

As an audio engineer/mixer/producer that often works on complete E.P.s and Albums for bands, not having "Import from Session" is a dealbreaker on large projects. All DAWs give great results these days, and I don't think that any DAW is better than another, but they all have their quirks and features, and each tries to target the market in a slightly different way. I'd love EuCon support to be an industry standard because some of us early Pro Tools guys invested a lot into EuCon interfaces. I have an S3 that I would love to use fully functional with Studio One 3, alas, it is not to be.

So in conclusion, I did leave Pro Tools for Logic, then Logic for Studio One, and now I just use, whatever (usually Pro Tools because I'm most familiar with it). But they all have their Pro's and Con's.
__________________
Shift Studios

Computer: Custom Built PC
Mobo: Gigabyte Aorus Z270X-Gaming 7
CPU: i7 7700k
MEM: 16GB Corsair Vengance DDR4 3000
GPU: Gigabyte Aorus GTX 1080Ti Extreme
OS: Windows 10 Pro x64
DAWs Pro Tools 12.7.1
Interface: Universal Audio
Preamps: Focusrite, Universal Audio
Outboard Processors: Universal Audio
Control Surfaces: AVID S3, Pro Tools | Control + Pro Tools | Dock
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-05-2017, 08:48 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,608
Default Re: "I'm leaving Pro Tools for ... DAW"

Indeed I also have tried a few other options, but in the end, I am back on Pro Tools because I just prefer the way it works(WHEN it works). Having said that, there have been several versions that have been really solid for me(like 10.3.8, 11.3.1) and I do have a system drive with 11.3.1 that I know I can use all day long with no big issues. I have a separate system drive(drives are in cages for fast swap) and I try each new version as they get released, but the backup drive is only a minute from running. I ran 12.7 for several hours today. First run was horrid(tons of non-working plugins). Reboot and restart PT and half the plugins came back. Uninstalled and reinstalled all my Waves plugins>reboot and almost all plugins worked(though a couple required a re-authorization). Sure wish everyone had an option for iLok(I know many will roll their eyes at this, but DANG! iLok just plain works)
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-05-2017, 08:51 PM
deanrichard deanrichard is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Waukesha, WI
Posts: 825
Default Re: "I'm leaving Pro Tools for ... DAW"

I moved to Reaper for the bulk of my work. For my needs it's far better, and in so many ways I don't even want to list them all. If one person leaving Avid sends a message, then I've done my part. My subscription to PT doesn't run out for a while, but then Avid will not get any more of my money.

I continue to use PT for existing projects, and I do use Samplitude for various tasks.


Quote:
Originally Posted by DJ Hellfire View Post
The other day I kinda blasted on some guys in the http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=387476 thread for posting yet another thread about leaving Pro Tools instead of just leaving Pro Tools. My point wasn't to take away anyone's right to complain. My point was to express that complaining on this forum is not going to solve the problem.

THIS is what's going to solve the problem for those with unstable systems; actually going to another DAW and hurting Avids pockets and market share is what has to happen. Several long time Pro Tools users are actually making the switch AND giving detailed videos on the exact reasons why and what the benefits are in other options.

Pete Stewart mentions is growing instability issues and feeling like Pro Tools wasn't growing.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L8zY7KyvpyQ

Matty Trump gives a very detailed look into some of the amazing features Studio One offers.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=45fUddilLI4

Even the marvelous Warren Huart is dabbling in Studio One for nearly a year now.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U8N0LlJkzQg

Even in our Maschine Masters 'On The Spot' video, Matt Weiss mentions that HD is basically a huge $10K for Pro Tools not to crash. The scenario for this conversation being brought up is that the producer and the artist booked a studio session for a certain amount of hours to make this video and lost time due to Pro Tools crashing and requiring a complete reboot in the middle of the session. The producer mentions that this is NOT a surprise and that he plans to move to Ableton.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PKQKsJUcjkc

So this is all I was saying. Just leave and show them why. Eventually they will either get into gear or sell the brand.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-05-2017, 09:54 PM
del cosmos del cosmos is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 257
Default Re: "I'm leaving Pro Tools for ... DAW"

Quote:
Originally Posted by DJ Hellfire View Post
The other day I kinda blasted on some guys in the http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=387476 thread for posting yet another thread about leaving Pro Tools instead of just leaving Pro Tools. My point wasn't to take away anyone's right to complain. My point was to express that complaining on this forum is not going to solve the problem.



THIS is what's going to solve the problem for those with unstable systems; actually going to another DAW and hurting Avids pockets and market share is what has to happen. Several long time Pro Tools users are actually making the switch AND giving detailed videos on the exact reasons why and what the benefits are in other options.



Pete Stewart mentions is growing instability issues and feeling like Pro Tools wasn't growing.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L8zY7KyvpyQ



Matty Trump gives a very detailed look into some of the amazing features Studio One offers.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=45fUddilLI4



Even the marvelous Warren Huart is dabbling in Studio One for nearly a year now.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U8N0LlJkzQg



Even in our Maschine Masters 'On The Spot' video, Matt Weiss mentions that HD is basically a huge $10K for Pro Tools not to crash. The scenario for this conversation being brought up is that the producer and the artist booked a studio session for a certain amount of hours to make this video and lost time due to Pro Tools crashing and requiring a complete reboot in the middle of the session. The producer mentions that this is NOT a surprise and that he plans to move to Ableton.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PKQKsJUcjkc



So this is all I was saying. Just leave and show them why. Eventually they will either get into gear or sell the brand.


Excellent post!




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-05-2017, 10:06 PM
jscomposer jscomposer is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: The Boogie Woogie
Posts: 336
Default Re: "I'm leaving Pro Tools for ... DAW"

I know most ppl want more MIDI features, but I think what Pro Tools really needs is a complete overhaul of the underlying code. It's powerful but bloated. Reaper gave me an extra several years out of my old machine. Even with a 2015 MBP, PT gives me dropouts when playing Sonivox strings. (Got that a few days ago for $1. ) Open the same plugin in Garageband and no dropouts.

If PT13 doesn't deliver a significant improvement in efficiency and performance, I'll be switching to Logic or at the very least not renewing.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-05-2017, 10:11 PM
ShiftStudios ShiftStudios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Toowoomba, QLD, Australia
Posts: 282
Default Re: "I'm leaving Pro Tools for ... DAW"

Quote:
Originally Posted by jscomposer View Post
I know most ppl want more MIDI features, but I think what Pro Tools really needs is a complete overhaul of the underlying code. It's powerful but bloated. Reaper gave me an extra several years out of my old machine. Even with a 2015 MBP, PT gives me dropouts when playing Sonivox strings. (Got that a few days ago for $1. ) Open the same plugin in Garageband and no dropouts.

If PT13 doesn't deliver a significant improvement in efficiency and performance, I'll be switching to Logic or at the very least not renewing.
From my understanding, the whole basis of this subscription model is that PT12 is the last version and all we will see going forward are dot updates. So in a years time, we might be on 12.12.1 or something like that.

Feel free to correct me if I am wrong, but that is how I understood it.
__________________
Shift Studios

Computer: Custom Built PC
Mobo: Gigabyte Aorus Z270X-Gaming 7
CPU: i7 7700k
MEM: 16GB Corsair Vengance DDR4 3000
GPU: Gigabyte Aorus GTX 1080Ti Extreme
OS: Windows 10 Pro x64
DAWs Pro Tools 12.7.1
Interface: Universal Audio
Preamps: Focusrite, Universal Audio
Outboard Processors: Universal Audio
Control Surfaces: AVID S3, Pro Tools | Control + Pro Tools | Dock
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-05-2017, 10:22 PM
soybalm soybalm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: usa
Posts: 617
Default Re: "I'm leaving Pro Tools for ... DAW"

I have 12.5.2 and that's as far as I'm going. It has issues like lots of cpu errors and elastic has to be rendered and committed if you want to minimize those. I used Logic for years on the PC and Atari but I find working with elastic on PT is best for me. I like the work flow and I don't need too many other features. I'm not getting them anyways. ;-)
__________________
Dave Cournoyer-guitarist-project studio
Mac Mini late 2012, i7, Sierra
16GB PT10.3.10HD PT12.5.2
Apogee Mini-Me firewire.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-05-2017, 10:53 PM
jscomposer jscomposer is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: The Boogie Woogie
Posts: 336
Default Re: "I'm leaving Pro Tools for ... DAW"

Quote:
Originally Posted by ShiftStudios View Post
From my understanding, the whole basis of this subscription model is that PT12 is the last version and all we will see going forward are dot updates. So in a years time, we might be on 12.12.1 or something like that.

Feel free to correct me if I am wrong, but that is how I understood it.
I can't believe that would be the case. I certainly don't recall reading that in PT12 announcements or release notes. It doesn't make sense to "stop" at 12 just because we're subscribing. If all they'll be doing from now on is dot updates with a few extra features here n there I'm DEFINITELY not renewing. (But I'm 99.99% sure that's not their plan.)

They rolled out the last few major updates about every 2 years. PT13 should be around the corner.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-05-2017, 11:00 PM
ShiftStudios ShiftStudios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Toowoomba, QLD, Australia
Posts: 282
Default Re: "I'm leaving Pro Tools for ... DAW"

Quote:
Originally Posted by jscomposer View Post
I can't believe that would be the case. I certainly don't recall reading that in PT12 announcements or release notes. It doesn't make sense to "stop" at 12 just because we're subscribing. If all they'll be doing from now on is dot updates with a few extra features here n there I'm DEFINITELY not renewing. (But I'm 99.99% sure that's not their plan.)

They rolled out the last few major updates about every 2 years. PT13 should be around the corner.
Yeah, I'd be surprised if that was the case personally, but I thought I remembered reading it somewhere. However I cannot find reference of it anywhere, so I must have imagined it.
__________________
Shift Studios

Computer: Custom Built PC
Mobo: Gigabyte Aorus Z270X-Gaming 7
CPU: i7 7700k
MEM: 16GB Corsair Vengance DDR4 3000
GPU: Gigabyte Aorus GTX 1080Ti Extreme
OS: Windows 10 Pro x64
DAWs Pro Tools 12.7.1
Interface: Universal Audio
Preamps: Focusrite, Universal Audio
Outboard Processors: Universal Audio
Control Surfaces: AVID S3, Pro Tools | Control + Pro Tools | Dock
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"Pro Tools quit unexpectedly" when opening (holding "n" no longer fixes it)[RESOLVED] andrew24c macOS 4 07-23-2014 07:21 PM
"Pro Tools not responding" error and a very "laggy" session! Help! drumbumd Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 0 02-10-2012 05:37 PM
Pro Tools 9 "Pausing" when I press "Play" with Focusrite Scarlett interface eanderso22304 macOS 3 11-23-2011 06:45 AM
Pro tools 9 crashes at startup "Bus error" in thread "MainThread", at address 0x0 danball macOS 2 09-26-2011 04:49 PM
hardware buttons for "preview", "capture" and "punch" evs Post - Surround - Video 1 12-06-2010 12:28 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:37 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com