Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-17-2015, 02:32 AM
Base12 Base12 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 9
Default Pro Tools 12 and Motu Midi Bug workaround

Reference: http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=372989

Windows 8.1 64bit, Pro Tools 12.2.1 - New Installation
Motu Midi Express XT - latest firmware and drivers.
I need to work and this is what solved it for me. Until Avid can fix this.

After trying for hours to figure out why my routed midi interface Motu Express XT 8x8 would not accept MIDI IN in Pro Tools, I was able to isolate it to a 3 file combination in the roaming preference folder. They are DSIPrefs,HD Native.pio and Last Used.pio

If I delete these before starting pro tools, my MOTU Express XT usb works every time. Otherwise, it fails and acts silly. Online I found lots of references to MIDI, PT 11, PT 12 not working with certain MOTU gear but no solutions.

It seems that the Pro Tools application performs some kind of identification or binding that recognizes the MOTU driver in full during the creation of these files. If these files exist when you start pro tools, the function that properly binds the MOTU driver is bypassed and becomes partially functional or not at all. I need to work and this is the only solution I was able to discover during my debugging the system.

For the record....
DISCLAIMER: Use at your own risk, you accept all responsibility, this workaround may not fit your specific need and no guarantees are made or assumed. The author is not responsible any negative results.

If you have a similar situation, you can backup the roaming avid folder
before you delete the 3 files.

I created this powershell script to make the deletion easier for me every time I load Pro Tools.

If you want, create a shortcut
Shortcut target: C:\Windows\System32\WindowsPowerShell\v1.0\powersh ell.exe -command &'C:\ProToolsMotu.ps1'
Start in: C:\windows\system32\WindowsPowerShell\v1.0\
In Advanced button, click Run as Administrator.

open notepad (or ISE) and create a file called C:\ProToolsMotu.ps1
Change the ????? value below to your Windows profile name

# Pro Tools Motu Shortcut
# by Base12
# Date: 10/17/2015

# Tested in Pro Tools 12.2.1
# Bug in Pro Tools causes MOTU drivers
# to sporadically work post-preference folder creation
# This deletes the 3 files that if exist, trigger pro tools
# bypass something in the MOTU Express XT USB drivers
# replace ????? with your profile name in the $pt_roaming line

# DISCLAIMER: Use at your own risk. Backup your files before trying.

$pt_roaming = "C:\Users\?????\AppData\Roaming\Avid\Pro Tools\"
$del_files = @("DSIPrefs","HD Native.pio","Last Used.pio")
foreach($file in $del_files)
{
$pathFile = $pt_roaming+$file
Remove-Item -Path $pathFile -Force
}
# Load Pro Tools
& 'C:\Program Files\Avid\Pro Tools\ProTools.exe'

# END
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-20-2015, 03:07 PM
Base12 Base12 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 9
Default Re: Pro Tools 12 and Motu Midi Bug workaround

As a follow-up, tried a brand new MOTU Express XT replacement and same thing occurred. As a final test, did a new install of Win 8.0 and same results.
Is there a way avid can confirm if this is re-creatable on their end.

BTW, forgot to mention on the powershell script that you need to set the execution policy before you can use it:
C:PS> Set-ExecutionPolicy -ExecutionPolicy RemoteSigned

Last edited by Base12; 10-20-2015 at 03:12 PM. Reason: info fix
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-05-2016, 10:46 AM
benwalker benwalker is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: London
Posts: 8
Default Re: Pro Tools 12 and Motu Midi Bug workaround

Any word from Avid as to whether this will be resolved? I'm running PT11 with a new Midi Express XT - I specifically went for the XT in order to use the standalone routing options for hardware sequencing, but when trying to use it with PT I spend more time being frustrated than making music: actually had to send a client home today after a hang/bsod/system restore/reboot/ffs session.

I tried wiping the DSIPrefs and Last Used files, which in turn lost all my audio IOs and caused PT to hang whilst trying to close/reload a project. However the XT did start working again without having to reboot my PC, so there's that..
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-01-2016, 01:43 PM
YKlein YKlein is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Brooklyn NY
Posts: 26
Default Re: Pro Tools 12 and Motu Midi Bug workaround

Yahh I got the Same issue!

****Avid Fix it!!*****
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-01-2016, 02:57 PM
Steve White Steve White is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1998
Location: Greenville, SC 29614
Posts: 42
Default Re: Pro Tools 12 and Motu Midi Bug workaround

I'm having the same problem just communicating with an Avid PRE.... It will not connect through a MOTU Micro Express. Well it shows up in PT 12, but it doesn't connect with the PRE. Ugh... How difficult can this be?
__________________
Steve White
South Carolina Editor
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-19-2016, 11:00 AM
Steve White Steve White is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1998
Location: Greenville, SC 29614
Posts: 42
Default Re: Pro Tools 12 and Motu Midi Bug workaround

I got this response back from Avid FYI:

"I think you are running into a known issue here (PT 217940)The summary of this issue is: Pro Tools 11-12 under Windows 8-10 does not work properly with MOTU MIDI interfaces.This issue is specific to MOTU's MIDI interfaces that offer stand-alone capabilities (ie routing matrix, MTC/LTC sync etc….) In their current product line this includes the MIDI Express XT and the Micro Express."

I also found out that some MIDI interfaces come without drivers: They are called "Class Compliant" -- Sweetwater's website has this "word of wisdom" defining "Class Compliant."

In common usage, this means that a USB peripheral device is “plug and play,” meaning you can plug it in and it will work a Mac or Windows computer without installing proprietary drivers.

Mac and Windows come with generic USB drivers; there are several types, known as “classes,” such as USB Video Device Class, USB MIDI Device Class, USB Mass Storage Class, etc. Peripherals that can work with those class drivers are referred to as “class compliant.” Because those “class” drivers are generic, they may not support product-specific or proprietary features — to access those non-“class” features usually requires a proprietary driver from the device’s manufacturer.

Hopefully the new MIDI interface will work.
And it worked!!
__________________
Steve White
South Carolina Editor

Last edited by Steve White; 09-07-2016 at 07:20 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-19-2016, 12:01 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,066
Default Re: Pro Tools 12 and Motu Midi Bug workaround

MOTU support for anything Windows has always been on the thin side. IOW when it works great but when it doesn't - not so great. I still have the MOTU MIDI Timepiece AVUSB that I used on my Windows/Sonar system. Clockworks was a mess to deal with on Windows (there's so much it's supposed to do that it doesn't do). MOTU regularly releases new drivers for it's hardware so you may want to check the downloads section over at MOTU.com/
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-15-2018, 10:55 AM
panamajack's Avatar
panamajack panamajack is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Miniappleapolis
Posts: 710
Default Re: Pro Tools 12 and Motu Midi Bug workaround

Was considering the MOTU Micro Express because of LTC gen. Still using Unitor Mark IIs, for which Apple provides a driver.

(Sorry for the necro thread resuscitation...)
__________________
PT10.3.10HD(Tyan s2932 [8core Shanghai 2.7GHZ] 32GB,Win7 SP1); PT10HD(Tyan s2892 w/10GB, Win7 SP1);PT8HD(Dell 690 quad Xeon 3.0, 8GB, Win7,192 I/O, 96 I/O);MacBook Pro: 11R, Apogee Element 46, Focusrite 8PreX PT HD 11.3.2; Mac Pro 3.47 Hex 32GB, OSX 10.12.6/L10.4.2;L9.1.8, 2.64TB; G5 D2.3 4GB, 10.4.11/L8; 12c MP 2.66/32GB PT12.4; Structure, GigaGS3, Kontakt 5, Garratin, Sibelius 8.7+, Finale26,EMU,Vegas Pro 16-10/; RME HDSP9652,MOTU 2408 MKIII/1224/308, FX,Kurz,L5s,Strat,ASAT,JB,Zon
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MOTU drivers interfering with MIDI monitoring in Pro Tools thebilliad macOS 2 12-17-2013 08:37 PM
MOTU midi express XT not seen by pro tools 11 jessejabberjaw Pro Tools 11 0 09-21-2013 12:37 PM
workaround-internal midi routing bakerja AAX Plug-ins 3 07-22-2013 12:28 PM
[Problem] Midi Pro Tools 10.3.5 & Motu Midi Express 128 Advanced-Productions MIDI 0 05-20-2013 09:43 AM
Pro tools 5.0 and Motu Midi timepiece AV configuration... aquaviva MIDI 3 06-11-2001 08:39 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:46 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com