Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > FireWire and USB Audio Interfaces (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-16-2018, 10:35 AM
gjmiller gjmiller is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 19
Default Mbox Pro buffer underflow (-6085)

Have already reset the clock to S/PDIF and back to Internal on both Pro Tools 9 and Mbox interface with no luck ... also disconnected/reconnected firewire and rebooted. Paid justanswer $28 yesterday and so far no response except them wanting another $38 to get on my computer remotely, which I'm not going to do! ... any thoughts and preferably a fix?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-21-2018, 09:46 AM
gjmiller gjmiller is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 19
Default Re: Mbox Pro buffer underflow (-6085)

OK, the specifics for my setup: Pro Tools 9.0.6, Mbox Pro and Windows 7.

Finally found the answer in Pro Tools help.

Not Hearing Input or Output

If you are unable to get input into or hear output from Pro Tools, the following troubleshooting steps may fix the problem.
Default I/O Setup:

Open a Pro Tools session.
Click on the Setup menu.
Click on I/O.
By default, you'll be on the Output tab. Click on the Default button towards the bottom left corner.
Click on the Input tab and then the Default button again.
Click on the Bus tab and then the Default button once again.
Click OK to save these changes.
The input and output paths for your audio interface should now be set to the default settings for your audio interface.
Double-check your input and output settings in the Mix window of Pro Tools to make sure that they're now set correctly, and test again.

Create New Session With Stereo Mix I/O Settings:

Launch Pro Tools.
From the Quick Start menu, choose 'Create Blank Session'.
Click on the '>>' button next to 'Session Parameters'.
Under 'I/O Settings' choose the 'Stereo Mix' option.
Click OK.
The session will now be created with the default input/output settings for your audio interface. Do a test recording or import some audio and see if your issue persists.

If you want, you can rename the I/O paths to how you had them set before as long as everything is working OK. In the I/O Setup, just double-click the name of the path that you want to rename, type in the new path name, and then hit Enter.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-25-2018, 11:06 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,600
Default Re: Mbox Pro buffer underflow (-6085)

One more thing for Windows users; Set Windows>Sound>Properties to use the on-board sound card as it's "default playback" device(leaving the interface for Pro Tools use, only).

Re the IO setup, it is well worth some time getting to know how/why certain things work(and certain things sometimes don't). Customizing to suit your needs can really streamline your workflow In my case, since I have 30 channels of outboard preamps, I found it best to name my inputs according to the preamp that feeds each(as in Midas 1, Midas 2, ISA 1, Vitech 2, etc). Then I also named the output side(Main Out, Phones Voc, Phones Bass, Phones Gtr, etc). With an Mbox, things are easy to keep track of, but as your setup grows, don't be afraid to "grow" with it
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Error 6085 buffer underflow Herokazz FireWire and USB Audio Interfaces (Win) 1 10-26-2015 12:33 PM
Buffer Underflow 6085 error (yes, another one) dezwits 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 12 10-29-2012 06:55 PM
buffer underflow -6085 firewire device, but i have mbox 2 usb? nicnac712 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 15 08-03-2010 05:08 AM
Unibody MacBook Pro vs. MBox 2 Pro (how I beat Audio buffer underflow -6085) Arthur Nascimento 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 03-25-2009 09:40 PM
need help! error 6085 - buffer underflow? timbologic 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 08-30-2005 10:47 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:10 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com