Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-15-2017, 01:01 PM
jaminjamesp jaminjamesp is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 122
Default Link track selection from edit window to mix window?

I've recently added a 40" display mounted on the wall above my main monitor. I like to keep my edit window in the desk monitor and my mix window above me on the wall.

I was wondering if there was anyway to link my track selection in the edit window to the mix window, so that when I click on a track to edit, that track will center itself (or something) in the mix window. Obviously it highlights it, but thats not super useful.

I'm working on a fairly large session for a film score, about 90 tracks, and scrolling left and right is getting cumbersome (but still much better than doing it on a smaller monitor). It would be nice to have my mix window move so that when I'm editing a track, that fader will be highlighted and centered directly above me.

Seems like this would be a fairly obvious feature to turn on/off depending on your work flow. But I haven't seen anything like it so I'm guessing it doesn't exist.

Has anyone with a similar work flow figured out a workaround?
__________________
Pro Tools 12.6.1
OS X 10.12.1
nMP 6 Core
Dual AMD FirePro D300
32 GB Ram
Syphony i/o 8x8
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-15-2017, 01:18 PM
joachim's Avatar
joachim joachim is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Germany, München
Posts: 1,657
Default Re: Link track selection from edit window to mix window?

Memory Locations might help : time property "none" , general properties "track show/hide" and "track height".
Show only 10 tracks (maybe an instrument group like brass or percussion), adjust their track height (to fit the window), assign a mem loc. Do the same for the other 80 tracks.

Or : right click on the track name in the edit window and choose "scroll into view".
__________________
PT 11.3.1 HD , RME Fireface 800 , Genelec 5.1 ,
Win7 64bit Professional , i7 3930 Hexcore , 64GB Ram , SSD System + SSD PT Session/Audio + SSD Video (all Samsung 840 Evo) + Spinner 1TB Data , 2x Radeon HD 5450 \\ SD 633 Femto MKH8060 MKH8070 MKH30/MKH40 DPA4060
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-15-2017, 02:25 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,600
Default Re: Link track selection from edit window to mix window?

Take a look at Slate's Batch Commander. It seems capable of giving you some handy shortcuts, plus a ton of other goodies(I am still chomping at the bit for them to release the windows version)
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-16-2017, 10:08 AM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,069
Default Re: Link track selection from edit window to mix window?

There's a new setting in Preferences for PT 12.7 about Mouse Wheel Scrolling Snaps To Track. Page 108 of the PT 12.7 Reference Guide. This may be or may be close to what you're looking for.
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at a reasonable rate
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-16-2017, 10:22 AM
PTPhillip PTPhillip is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 32
Default Re: Link track selection from edit window to mix window?

If you Control+Shift click on the track name, it will scroll the Mix and Edit windows so that it is the viewed at the left of the Mix window and top of the Edit window. The same thing can be done by pressing Option+Command+F (Scroll to Track) then entering the desired track number. Of course, that method is only useful if you have enabled Track Number from the View menu.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-16-2017, 11:03 AM
jaminjamesp jaminjamesp is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 122
Default Link track selection from edit window to mix window?

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Weed View Post
There's a new setting in Preferences for PT 12.7 about Mouse Wheel Scrolling Snaps To Track. Page 108 of the PT 12.7 Reference Guide. This may be or may be close to what you're looking for.


I let my subscription run out a day before they released 12.7. I thought no way another update was coming that soon. I kept telling myself I wasn't missing any new features. Now you've proved my wrong.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Pro Tools 12.6.1
OS X 10.12.1
nMP 6 Core
Dual AMD FirePro D300
32 GB Ram
Syphony i/o 8x8
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-16-2017, 04:10 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,598
Default Re: Link track selection from edit window to mix window?

Quote:
Originally Posted by PTPhillip View Post
If you Control+Shift click on the track name, it will scroll the Mix and Edit windows so that it is the viewed at the left of the Mix window and top of the Edit window.
Yes+1

Wasn't sure if this worked without a Control Surface but yes this is a very handy trick.....

Also if you have a surface it will put that track that you Cntrl/Shift clicked on, in the leftmost fader!!!!
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-16-2017, 05:37 PM
jaminjamesp jaminjamesp is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 122
Default Re: Link track selection from edit window to mix window?

Yeah, I was aware of that shortcut, but on a 40" display, far left for the mix window is pretty far. I know it sounds picky, but I wish there was a similar short cut to center it on the display. That way I could just whip my mouse right up to it. I suppose this will have to do.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Pro Tools 12.6.1
OS X 10.12.1
nMP 6 Core
Dual AMD FirePro D300
32 GB Ram
Syphony i/o 8x8
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Make MIDI editor track selection independent of edit window? tooold Pro Tools 11 3 01-30-2015 10:34 AM
track selection visible in edit & mix window I&I Pro Tools 11 0 06-29-2014 10:51 AM
Edit Window Follows Bank Selection. Edit Window Follows Bank Selection. Edit Window.. Focuret Artist Series 17 01-18-2014 03:53 AM
C8 Follows Link Track Selection in Edit/Mix window FluffyPost ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 2 01-20-2009 08:44 PM
Mix/Edit Window Track Selection compmedia 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 05-12-2000 07:14 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:28 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com