Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Live Sound > VENUE Live Sound Systems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-17-2015, 06:53 AM
fredrikzon fredrikzon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Norrfjärden, Sweden
Posts: 37
Default S3L + Motu monitor 8

Hello

I wonder if anyone else have tried to connect the Motu Monitor 8 AVB interface with the S3L and get it to work?

I tried and ended up with that all parts could be seen in the Motu web interface and was able to get sound from a Avid stage box input via AVB into to the Monitor 8. But it was like digital distorting and I could not found any way to get the pre fader pick point on direct out to work as my goal was to use it as an personal monitor mix system for example in-ear. Then the musicians could set their own mixes from ipads. Similar as the Pivitec but a lot cheaper... Only thing you need is the Monitor 8 and perhaps a AVB-switch.

After som thoughts I decided to install the patch (or what it is..) from Pivitec on the E3 as they have a product that works. It looks like it installs 4 AVB streams on the E3 that seems to be the direct out points from the console. And after that I could also see the direct out patch in the Monitor 8. So then I was able to get a signal pre fader out to the Monitor 8. Stil it was digital distortions. Tried to change clock sync but stil the same.

I heard that Motu is working on this and that there would be a solution out this fall, have also tried to contact them but no answer yet.

Anyone have any suggestions why it is distorting? I mean all boxes is set to 48k sample rate. Do you think the problem is in the Avid products or the Motu? I mean Pivitec has got it to work with AVB connections so why not the Motu. I also used the Pivitec AVDECC controller and could se all boxes, both E3, Monitor 8 and the AVB streams that the Pivitec installation put there. Was also able to change sync from the AVDECC controller in the monitor 8 box. So all program talk to each other.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-17-2015, 01:53 PM
Amplitude Amplitude is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Copenhagen
Posts: 95
Default Re: S3L + Motu monitor 8

very interesting topic!! I planed to use one of the new motu interfaces as well to have some more I/O at the FOH for example. but I didn't wanted to buy it before anyone tested it. ;-) I'm wondering if sound from a Mac to the monitor 8 over avb also distorted while in the same network with the e3? maybe it's some kind of clocking problem..
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-17-2015, 04:50 PM
fredrikzon fredrikzon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Norrfjärden, Sweden
Posts: 37
Default Re: S3L + Motu monitor 8

I think I only took audio from computer via usb (that worked) but will also try via AVB tomorrow. To be continued...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-18-2015, 01:17 AM
Amplitude Amplitude is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Copenhagen
Posts: 95
Default Re: S3L + Motu monitor 8

thanks! :)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-18-2015, 04:07 AM
fredrikzon fredrikzon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Norrfjärden, Sweden
Posts: 37
Default Re: S3L + Motu monitor 8

Hi again. The same digital distortion with sound from computer via usb then patched via AVB to the E3.

Also same with local input from Monitor 8 patched to E3.

So I think at this state there isn't much to do than wait for official support from Motu/Avid :-(
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-18-2015, 06:48 AM
fredrikzon fredrikzon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Norrfjärden, Sweden
Posts: 37
Default Re: S3L + Motu monitor 8

Can ad that sound from computer via usb or local inputs sounds okey in headphones connected directly to the Monitor 8.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-18-2015, 08:24 AM
Amplitude Amplitude is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Copenhagen
Posts: 95
Default Re: S3L + Motu monitor 8

hmm but how about avb from computer to monitor 8 directly?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-19-2015, 03:06 AM
fredrikzon fredrikzon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Norrfjärden, Sweden
Posts: 37
Default Re: S3L + Motu monitor 8

Hello again

Yes that works when I connect CAT cable direct from computer to Monitor 8. (no Avid boxes connected though)

I will also try to get hold of an AVB-switch to see if there could be of help.

Again to be continued.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-20-2015, 02:42 AM
Amplitude Amplitude is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Copenhagen
Posts: 95
Default Re: S3L + Motu monitor 8

hey,
are you using Yosemite?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-20-2015, 02:44 AM
fredrikzon fredrikzon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Norrfjärden, Sweden
Posts: 37
Default S3L + Motu monitor 8

Mavericks
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can Studio Monitor Express & Transport act as digital monitor controller? briancares Artist Series 1 02-04-2014 05:23 AM
MBox 2 Pro Monitor knob has stopped changing monitor levels Rumandolin 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 04-21-2013 09:13 AM
How to properly setup the original Mbox with the MOTU 828mkII for monitor control confusedhelp 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 14 06-14-2009 03:34 PM
Dual Monitor / hardware playback with NTSC monitor TheBriceShow Post - Surround - Video 2 02-21-2005 05:58 PM
DIGI 001 and Motu 2048 MK II or Motu 24i+ Logic Audio cyril 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 02-19-2002 09:08 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:13 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com