Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Live Sound > VENUE Live Sound Systems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-13-2015, 01:27 PM
Karel Noon Karel Noon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Gelsenkirchen, Germany
Posts: 243
Default S3L and other AVB devices?

Hello,
has anybody tried connecting other AVB devices to the S3L network?

Especially things like the motu AVB switch or the xmos device?

I am thinking about custom made listener endpoint devices for in ear racks or amps

From how I understand the system a talker device would not be recognized?!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-14-2015, 05:29 AM
hugolarin hugolarin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 26
Default Re: S3L and other AVB devices?

Hello Karel. AVID has not officially qualified the use of third party AVB end point devices on S3L-X system at this time but Apple computers that are AVB ready. They have demonstrated in the past at trade shows interop with some products such as the Pivitec Personal mixing system. (The talkers and the channel count is key here). As to switches, I can only assume that they will officially qualify in a release soon. Same for the Extreme Networks Submit 440 series which in this case is AVB certified already anyway. So should work no problem with the correct configuration.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-14-2015, 06:47 AM
Karel Noon Karel Noon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Gelsenkirchen, Germany
Posts: 243
Default Re: S3L and other AVB devices?

Thank you,
I know that no Switches or other devices are Supported, but sometimes things just work regardless of what is officially allowed
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-14-2015, 01:46 PM
hugolarin hugolarin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 26
Default S3L and other AVB devices?

Yes. The E3 engine has 2 x 32 channels streams talker that are typically for the 64 channels to Pro Tools. Indeed you should be able to connect them to another 32 ch. listener
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-15-2015, 03:51 AM
Kristo Kotkas's Avatar
Kristo Kotkas Kristo Kotkas is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Tallinn, Estonia
Posts: 598
Default Re: S3L and other AVB devices?

Not supported, but you can force two Pro Tools systems to listen to S3L, works with Maverics only as Yosemite supposedly fixed that "bug" :/
__________________
VENUE FAQ & download links, useful
AVID VENUE ILok driver download
VENUE Plugin DSP usage

My AVID:
  • Room A > HD4Accel PCI-CustoMac / 192D / PTHD10 / 2 x Artist Mix / Artist Control
  • Room B > HD3Accel PCI-CustoMac / 192D / PTHD10 / 2 x Artist Mix
  • Big Live > VENUE Profile 48/24 + 2nd Snake card, IOx, FWx, HDx, PQ Rack, 8 x PQ Controllers
  • Small Live > S3L-32 + Mac Mini - two systems - combined one 64/32 FOH / Mon setup
  • On stage > Pro Tools on laptop with variety of M-Audio boxes
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-15-2015, 06:48 AM
Karel Noon Karel Noon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Gelsenkirchen, Germany
Posts: 243
Default Re: S3L and other AVB devices?

How do you connect the two protools systems?
Via switch?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-15-2015, 07:39 AM
Kristo Kotkas's Avatar
Kristo Kotkas Kristo Kotkas is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Tallinn, Estonia
Posts: 598
Default Re: S3L and other AVB devices?

I have just broken the redundancy and connected one system to E3 and the other one to S3 but I guess an AVB switch should work too. Only one PT system can talk back to E3, so the last one you connect will be the one that talks back. That means a "backup" system should be connected first and the main one second. The system is intended to work so that only one mac can be connected to a E3 engine and if you try to connect the second one you cannot select the E3 in the second systems Network Device Browser window in Audio Midi Setup, the tick box will just not stick. But the trick is that when you triple-click the tick box it will work :) You may call it Kristo's triple click trick After that both systems will get audio but only the second one will play back.
__________________
VENUE FAQ & download links, useful
AVID VENUE ILok driver download
VENUE Plugin DSP usage

My AVID:
  • Room A > HD4Accel PCI-CustoMac / 192D / PTHD10 / 2 x Artist Mix / Artist Control
  • Room B > HD3Accel PCI-CustoMac / 192D / PTHD10 / 2 x Artist Mix
  • Big Live > VENUE Profile 48/24 + 2nd Snake card, IOx, FWx, HDx, PQ Rack, 8 x PQ Controllers
  • Small Live > S3L-32 + Mac Mini - two systems - combined one 64/32 FOH / Mon setup
  • On stage > Pro Tools on laptop with variety of M-Audio boxes
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-18-2015, 12:18 AM
Amplitude Amplitude is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Copenhagen
Posts: 95
Default Re: S3L and other AVB devices?

why shouldn't a talker device work? anyone tried it yet? I mean a MacBook is a talker device as well. and it works fine without pro tools...
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-18-2015, 03:56 PM
Kristo Kotkas's Avatar
Kristo Kotkas Kristo Kotkas is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Tallinn, Estonia
Posts: 598
Default Re: S3L and other AVB devices?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Amplitude View Post
why shouldn't a talker device work? anyone tried it yet? I mean a MacBook is a talker device as well. and it works fine without pro tools...
I'm not sure if I follow you... S3L need to "know" the talker to be able to receive from it. S3L knows Stage 16 boxes and it knows Pro Tools. It will not receive signal blindly, devices need to be assigned. You can assign up to 4 Stage 16 boxes and one Pro Tools system to S3L thats it.
__________________
VENUE FAQ & download links, useful
AVID VENUE ILok driver download
VENUE Plugin DSP usage

My AVID:
  • Room A > HD4Accel PCI-CustoMac / 192D / PTHD10 / 2 x Artist Mix / Artist Control
  • Room B > HD3Accel PCI-CustoMac / 192D / PTHD10 / 2 x Artist Mix
  • Big Live > VENUE Profile 48/24 + 2nd Snake card, IOx, FWx, HDx, PQ Rack, 8 x PQ Controllers
  • Small Live > S3L-32 + Mac Mini - two systems - combined one 64/32 FOH / Mon setup
  • On stage > Pro Tools on laptop with variety of M-Audio boxes
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-19-2015, 01:45 AM
Amplitude Amplitude is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Copenhagen
Posts: 95
Default Re: S3L and other AVB devices?

That's what I mean. it's not "pro tools only" I can easily send audio from iTunes, qLab or whatever from my MacBook. so I thought maybe every other stream than a Stage16 stream would show up in the "Pro Tools" Tab under patching. isn't that just van stream1 1-32 and avb stream2 1-32 ?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is FW 800 ok with FW 400 devices? theregentblue 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 12-19-2010 08:14 PM
Let us use 2 devices in LE already!! foryorent 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 05-25-2007 11:18 PM
OMS DEVICES+PT audiodesign MIDI 3 08-14-2002 12:35 AM
USB devices with PTF crimedog Digidesign Hardware & Software 4 02-03-2002 03:01 PM
Devices for OMS JLEpperson Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 08-07-2000 07:00 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:07 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com