Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-12-2012, 08:35 AM
propower propower is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 2,200
Default MacMini server to replace MacPro?

I am running a PT10HD software/MetricHalo ULN8 system on a 2009 2.93G MacPro Quad (12G ram). No issues with the tower but as time has moved on I am doing all smaller sessions (Singer songwriter / Jazz) and projects really never go above 40 tracks. Very light VI use.

Am seriously contemplating
2011 MacMini server quad i7
replace Hard drives with 2 SSD's - 128G for OS and 512G for samples and audio (Crucial M4's ~ $525) and 16G of Ram.
External TB dock if I need a third drive

I am a freak for minimal fan noise so I was thinking of putting the unit on edge, leaving the bottom cover off and having a Silenx 120mm Fan blowing in 100% of the time. A small iso box for a mini looks very doable as well.....

I know there are at least a few running a system like this. Any comments on how much load it can take from PT before fans start spinning up?? On my MacPro (which geek benches about the same) I rarely go above 20% CPU load.

Any other thoughts are welcome too..........
__________________
2017 27" iMac 3.8GHz i5, 1TB SSD
Logic ProX, Studio One V4, PT2018.x Orion Studio 2017, Apogee Ensemble TB
Musician: http://www.ivanlee.net/
Design Engineer: http://www.propowerinc.com/resume.html
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-12-2012, 01:59 PM
anackman's Avatar
anackman anackman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: New York City
Posts: 191
Default Re: MacMini server to replace MacPro?

was thinking about this very same thing. anyone already doing this out there?

can a mac mini handle everything? i've never been sure.
__________________
10.11 OSX El Capitan
PT 12.4
Mac Pro Quad Core (Studio) + Mac Mini (Home)
UAD Apollo Duo
UAD Satellite Quad
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-12-2012, 02:04 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,590
Default Re: MacMini server to replace MacPro?

The new quad core i7 with dual hard drives should be a potent little package!
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-14-2012, 09:13 AM
propower propower is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 2,200
Default Re: MacMini server to replace MacPro?

Any one else??
__________________
2017 27" iMac 3.8GHz i5, 1TB SSD
Logic ProX, Studio One V4, PT2018.x Orion Studio 2017, Apogee Ensemble TB
Musician: http://www.ivanlee.net/
Design Engineer: http://www.propowerinc.com/resume.html
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-14-2012, 10:25 AM
getz76 getz76 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 1,491
Default Re: MacMini server to replace MacPro?

Quote:
Originally Posted by propower View Post
Any one else??
I wouldn't mess with the stock fan. It works, and changing the airflow won't likely improve anything. Any chance you can put it in a machine room and run cables? If not, a modest isolation box might work, but those are hard to get right.

The only thing that stinks about the Mini server is the integrated graphics. Shouldn't be too much of a hassle with Pro Tools, though.
__________________
| Logic Pro 9 | Reason 6.5 | Pro Tools 10 | MOTU UltraLite mk3 | RME ADI-2 | Summit Audio 2BA-221 x 2 | MOTU 8pre x 2 |
| Mac Pro (4,1) 2.26gHz Xeon x 2 16gB OS X 10.7.4 | Macbook Pro (8,2) 2.2gHz i7 Quad 16gB OS X 10.7.4 |
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-14-2012, 12:48 PM
dougied dougied is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Omahaha, Nebraska, U.S.A.
Posts: 609
Default Re: MacMini server to replace MacPro?

Quote:
Originally Posted by getz76 View Post
I wouldn't mess with the stock fan. It works, and changing the airflow won't likely improve anything. Any chance you can put it in a machine room and run cables? If not, a modest isolation box might work, but those are hard to get right.

The only thing that stinks about the Mini server is the integrated graphics. Shouldn't be too much of a hassle with Pro Tools, though.
I fond it quite odd that the server has Integrated Graphics and the regular Mini has both Integrated and Radeon.
__________________
Mac Pro Dual Quad 2.8Ghz 2008
MacBook Pro i7 2012
OSX 10.8.5 - OSX 10.7.5
Pro Tools 10.3.7 - 11.1.2
6GB RAM
Universal Audio Apollo Quad!!!
Eleven Rack
Focusrite Octopre MKII
Yamaha HS80s
Rockit RP5 Monitors w/ RP10 sub
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-14-2012, 02:29 PM
WombatStudio.Org's Avatar
WombatStudio.Org WombatStudio.Org is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Gibbsboro, NJ
Posts: 524
Default Re: MacMini server to replace MacPro?

Quote:
Originally Posted by dougied View Post
I fond it quite odd that the server has Integrated Graphics and the regular Mini has both Integrated and Radeon.
Server class machines are not generally used for their display, in fact many servers don't have a display; running "headless" ...
__________________
WombatStudio.Org • Digital Recording, Mixing and Mastering in Gibbsboro, NJ • USA
"It's not the gear ... it's the ear"
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-14-2012, 05:26 PM
Numi Numi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Tampa, FL United States
Posts: 376
Default Re: MacMini server to replace MacPro?

This is going to be my next upgrade.. my Mac Mini has been rock solid. Pain in the arse to upgrade the HDD and RAM but not too bad really. If they update the server model again, I will most likely bite. They pack a lot a punch and are quiet all around.
__________________
Equipment:Mac Mini(Late 2012) and Mbox 3

Audio Drive:OWC TIChip924/FW800

Software:OSX 10.8.5, Pro Tools 11.0.2/10.3.7, Reaper 4 and WaveLab 7

~On The LeVeL~

Last edited by Numi; 06-14-2012 at 05:27 PM. Reason: grammer
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What would you replace an old MacPro with these days? EricWillhelm macOS 49 07-09-2013 08:37 AM
PT LE 8 and MacMini Server w/Lion? NHH 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 10-06-2012 08:13 AM
2011 MacMini Server is Compelling Barry Johns macOS 11 09-02-2011 11:18 AM
Files transfered server-server relay still downloaded from remote server Phill Barrett Aspera DigiDelivery 1 03-19-2010 01:58 AM
Applecare has offered to replace my G5 dual 2.5 with MacPro Chris Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 08-26-2007 08:27 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:13 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com