Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-11-2009, 12:30 PM
DZarob DZarob is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 4
Default PT LE 8.0.1 with Quad Core on Windows

I keep searching the existing threads for answers and can't seem to find what I'm looking for.

Basically my question is, does PT LE 8 benefit from multiple cores? Core 2 Duo? Quad Core?

I have read also that there is a way to set the cores to perform specific tasks, such as 1 for playback engine, 1 for rtas, etc. IF that's possible, where do you modify these settings?

Thank you in advance!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-11-2009, 12:54 PM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,492
Default Re: PT LE 8.0.1 with Quad Core on Windows

Quote:
Basically my question is, does PT LE 8 benefit from multiple cores? Core 2 Duo? Quad Core?
Yes, it does.

Quote:
I have read also that there is a way to set the cores to perform specific tasks, such as 1 for playback engine, 1 for rtas, etc. IF that's possible, where do you modify these settings?
What you're reading is about how some RTAS VI's or plug-ins cannot run on a fully dedicated RTAS processor - the solution is to free up one or more processors in the Playback Engine in Pro Tools to run those plug-ins.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-11-2009, 12:55 PM
Third Eye Studios Third Eye Studios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Albuquerque, NM USA
Posts: 1,862
Default Re: PT LE 8.0.1 with Quad Core on Windows

Hello,
Quote:
Basically my question is, does PT LE 8 benefit from multiple cores? Core 2 Duo? Quad Core?
Yes
Quote:
I have read also that there is a way to set the cores to perform specific tasks, such as 1 for playback engine, 1 for rtas, etc. IF that's possible, where do you modify these settings?
Haven't heard of this. I believe the only setting available a simple adjustment of how many cores PT will use in the playback engine.
__________________
Third Eye Studios.org
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-11-2009, 01:03 PM
DZarob DZarob is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 4
Default Re: PT LE 8.0.1 with Quad Core on Windows

Thank you for the info. I just find it strange that if you tell PT to use one processor for the playback engine, it knows to use the other processors for other tasks. Seems a bit misleading. To me this setting telling PT to use one processor would be like telling it to completely ignore the other processor altogether (leaving it free for other programs to use).
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools Essential on Windows 7 w/AMD Athlon II X4 630 Quad-Core jac-oh-la music Pro Tools SE and Essential (Win) 0 04-08-2010 11:27 AM
Have a Quad Core (Asus P5K). Use Only One Core Active For Best Results? MIDI Issues. epu 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 11 08-12-2009 02:24 AM
Mac Pro Quad 3.0ghz 4 core vs. Dual Quad 8 core? AllThingsMusicStudio 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 09-04-2008 08:22 AM
Single core vs. dual core vs. quad core John Peeples Tips & Tricks 9 11-07-2007 03:28 PM
Windows 64 bit - Core 2 Quad GtrDude 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 13 08-08-2007 06:56 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:21 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com