Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 09-21-2017, 06:02 PM

Default What is the most user friendly PT interface?

I know this is a subjective question, but I have been using PT 12 on a Mac for about two years now, and run a RME Fireface 802, along with a FerroFish A16 unit. The RME unit has always been a steep learning curve to use, although there are many advantages to it.

I was just wondering what would be the most user-friendly option if I would change over to a different interface, concerning routing, I/O's, etc? There's no reason for me to go HD at this time. Any advice would help.
Old 09-21-2017, 06:45 PM

Default Re: What is the most user friendly PT interface?

Do you have a thunderbolt port? If yes, then look at the new Presonus Quantom. One thing that many(most?) 3rd party interfaces use is their own monitoring/routing software, which can add to complexity(as a way of getting around latency). The Quantom is supposed to have extremely low latency so they don't need this extra layer. I run HD/Native here(with HD IO and 192) and once IO configuration is done, its pretty darn easy. Using Avid-branded hardware is often the most friendly(anything that sidesteps the extra software)

The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Old 09-22-2017, 12:18 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
The Quantom is supposed to have extremely low latency so they don't need this extra layer. I run HD/Native here(with HD IO and 192) and once IO configuration is done, its pretty darn easy. Using Avid-branded hardware is often the most friendly(anything that sidesteps the extra software)