Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > AAX Plug-ins

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-03-2015, 01:17 PM
Gm167704 Gm167704 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Brooklyn NYC
Posts: 2
Default Avid Pro Multiband Dynamics Plug-in - deapth versus ratio

Hi there,
I am interested in purchasing Avid's Pro Multiband Dynamics - I am trying to get a bit more clarity as to how the depth setting works and how i can clearly understand it's relationship to a more classic ratio control. i think i am just generally confused and could use some wisdom.

the manual states:

The Depth control sets the maximum amount of gain reduction or expansion applied to the input signal of the band (from –24 dB to +24 dB). For example, if you set Depth to –10 dB, no more than 10 dB of gain reduction is applied to the incoming signal. You can also adjust the Depth setting using the purple triangle Depth control on the FFT display.

So, if i understand this correctly then, depth simply sets a limit to how much compression or expansion can happen to a given signal right? So does that mean that the Pro multiband dynamic has a ratio in which it compresses and expands signals that is nonadjustable? and instead uses deapth as it functions in a generally similar way? perhaps due to it's also being an expander?

thanks guys
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-03-2015, 02:32 PM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,570
Default Re: Avid Pro Multiband Dynamics Plug-in - deapth versus ratio

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gm167704 View Post
Hi there,
I am interested in purchasing Avid's Pro Multiband Dynamics - I am trying to get a bit more clarity as to how the depth setting works and how i can clearly understand it's relationship to a more classic ratio control. i think i am just generally confused and could use some wisdom.

the manual states:

The Depth control sets the maximum amount of gain reduction or expansion applied to the input signal of the band (from –24 dB to +24 dB). For example, if you set Depth to –10 dB, no more than 10 dB of gain reduction is applied to the incoming signal. You can also adjust the Depth setting using the purple triangle Depth control on the FFT display.

So, if i understand this correctly then, depth simply sets a limit to how much compression or expansion can happen to a given signal right? So does that mean that the Pro multiband dynamic has a ratio in which it compresses and expands signals that is nonadjustable? and instead uses deapth as it functions in a generally similar way? perhaps due to it's also being an expander?

thanks guys
Ratio is a "moving" parameter (slope) given that it depends on the amount over the threshold the signal is.

Depth is simply a defined maximum amount of gain reduction that can happen no matter what.

So even as your signal continues to get louder and you'd expect to see more gain reduction, the Depth "stops it" at that set amount.

Make sense?
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-03-2015, 02:42 PM
Farhoof's Avatar
Farhoof Farhoof is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: EU
Posts: 241
Default Re: Avid Pro Multiband Dynamics Plug-in - deapth versus ratio

Quote:
So, if i understand this correctly then, depth simply sets a limit to how much compression or expansion can happen to a given signal right?
Correct.
Quote:
So does that mean that the Pro multiband dynamic has a ratio in which it compresses and expands signals that is nonadjustable? and instead uses deapth as it functions in a generally similar way?
No the ratio still functions as usual, depth is just a nice extra. You can check the depth setting using the Avid channel strip (non-multiband), it gives a much more understandable visual feedback on how it works.
Beware though Pro Multiband is not using phase linear filters and has audible side effects around the crossover frequencies. I tried it for mastering but it didn't take. Too bad though, other than that it's very nice.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Avid Pro Multiband Dynamics & Pro Subharmonic DHL AAX Plug-ins 25 11-24-2014 08:06 AM
FS: TC Electronic VSS3 TDM reverb, MD3 multiband dynamics CHD Buy & Sell 6 06-18-2012 02:15 PM
TC Electronic MD3 Multiband Dynamics saw Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 12 02-04-2006 06:25 AM
Good Multiband limiter plug ins? Tips & Tricks 5 03-17-2003 10:53 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:47 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com