Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-12-2009, 09:24 PM
mastermorris mastermorris is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 82
Default Running a click track to a midi key board using Expand etc....

Im running a Evolution key board and I'm wondering how to use my click track with the Expand insert? I don't like the click track presets and wanted to use the plugin instead.

Can some on give me some ideas?....and steps to do so!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-12-2009, 09:32 PM
filosofem filosofem is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Christchurch NZ
Posts: 11,864
Default Re: Running a click track to a midi key board using Expand etc....

* Create an Instrument track
* Insert Xpand!
* Pro Tools Main Menus>Setup>Click/Countoff Options
* Click Output options assign Xpand! Channel 1.


filosofem
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-13-2009, 12:03 AM
flommer flommer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 4,117
Default Re: Running a click track to a midi key board using Expand etc....

Quote:
Originally Posted by mastermorris View Post
Im running a Evolution key board and I'm wondering how to use my click track with the Expand insert? I don't like the click track presets and wanted to use the plugin instead.

Can some on give me some ideas?....and steps to do so!
Do you have TL Metro? I think it's free these days as a TL utilities set that comes with PT..

Anyway, If you have it, it's a decent click plugin.. A few more choices than click...
__________________
MacPro3ghz, 6GB, 10.7.5, PT10.3.2, Digi002 factory/toolkit2/PTIEP, 11R
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-13-2009, 06:18 AM
danander11 danander11 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 4,013
Default Re: Running a click track to a midi key board using Expand etc....

Quote:
Originally Posted by filosofem View Post
* Create an Instrument track
* Insert Xpand!
* Pro Tools Main Menus>Setup>Click/Countoff Options
* Click Output options assign Xpand! Channel 1.


filosofem

That's a cool trick. Never thought to look before.. I like the TL, but mostly just make my own out of perc stuff usually. A tad more natural feeling.
__________________
Here I am,
after time not long...
and thankful for the break,
What I found when I got there,
was that I couldn't stay away!

Hobo Shave!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-13-2009, 08:16 AM
audiogeekzine audiogeekzine is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 1,524
Default Re: Running a click track to a midi key board using Expand etc....

anyone find that TL Metro doesn't turn off completely when using the 8th note click?

Turning click on and off with num7
__________________
@theaudiogeek
| www.EPICSounds.ca | www.AudioGeekZine.com | www.HomeRecordingShow.com |
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-13-2009, 02:18 PM
obiwan177 obiwan177 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 127
Default Re: Running a click track to a midi key board using Expand etc....

I like the unnaturalness of the click, it cuts through easily when recording, so it's easier to stay on the beat.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-13-2009, 02:32 PM
mastermorris mastermorris is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 82
Default Re: Running a click track to a midi key board using Expand etc....

Thanks for all the feedback!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-15-2009, 09:56 AM
SpinningDisk's Avatar
SpinningDisk SpinningDisk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 1,474
Default Re: Running a click track to a midi key board using Expand etc....

Just use your keyboard. Turn on click. Open click window and set it use your keyboard. I always set it to channel ten. Plus , you save power.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Running Video, Click, Aux Audio, and Midi - LIVE foxforceFIVE 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 02-09-2013 03:50 PM
click track without midi shane2bt 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 10 06-13-2004 10:23 AM
Running a click track? MeAlien27 General Discussion 8 10-30-2003 12:36 PM
Running a click track? MeAlien27 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 10-25-2003 07:47 AM
A7V266-E Asus with or without on-board sound & can DD001 create a click track parisch 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 12-03-2001 10:41 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:45 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com