How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 11-30-2014, 08:00 PM

Default PRO TOOLS LE 8 - Authorization Code - Yosemite Support

Hello,

I am a recording hobbyist who has recently returned to laying down ideas via my old software - PRO TOOLS LE 8, and old hardware - MBox Pro 2.

I have 3 questions:

1) My MacPro runs on Yosemite. Will I be able to install LE 8 and record? I'm not looking for support, just to be able to record ideas through the Mbox.

2) I've moved 3 times since first purchasing PRO TOOLS LE 8 and have since lost the authorization code. I have a Registration ID, Serial Number, even a Third Party Content Activation Code. I don't believe I ever registered the product as I was never really serious about using the software. Can I receive a new authorization code?

3) If 8 works on Yosemite and I can get a new code, do I need an iLok for this version?

Thanks in advance for any help or suggestions.
Old 11-30-2014, 08:30 PM

Default Re: PRO TOOLS LE 8 - Authorization Code - Yosemite Support

LE is not likely going to work after a dozen or so OS changes. The good news is, the Mbox is still supported, so you can buy new software. Depending on your budget, you can spend a little(Reaper or Harrison MixBus), or a lot. But if you REALLY want to stay with PT, I think you will have to buy 11(and I'm not even sure THAT will work well or not). Look for this link in the top section of this(and every) DUC page:
Software Updates, Drivers, Manuals, Compatibility, Optimize, Troubleshoot, etc. (Links)

The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Old 11-30-2014, 08:38 PM

Default Re: PRO TOOLS LE 8 - Authorization Code - Yosemite Support