Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > ICON & C|24

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-12-2007, 02:52 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default USB to ethernet adapter

Has anyone used/had success using an USB to ethernet adapter for there ICON?
namely on a G5, I'd like to run a HD3 w/ a chassis but I like keeping the control surface off of the network

thanks
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-12-2007, 04:24 PM
Chris Lambrechts's Avatar
Chris Lambrechts Chris Lambrechts is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Apr 1998
Location: Belgium
Posts: 2,025
Default Re: USB to ethernet adapter

just curious why you would like to keep it off your network ?


Chris
__________________
Chris Lambrechts
Applications Specialist- Live Sound
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-12-2007, 04:47 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: USB to ethernet adapter

well having many D-Commands, Vegas mode on one unit will trigger it on the others
also if the stage needs to require it's surface there is no confusion about which controller to use
all in all I find that any of the ethernet controllers are more stable when isolated
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-12-2007, 05:16 PM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,538
Default Re: USB to ethernet adapter

I'd do the reverse. Use the Ethernet for the ICON and a USB adapter for the network. We have to do that with the Duality.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-12-2007, 06:21 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: USB to ethernet adapter

I do push/pull storage over the 1 Gb network, the controller only needs 10 Mb
all the USB to ethernet I've seen are 10/100 Mb
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-13-2007, 01:25 AM
mtung mtung is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Oslo, Norway
Posts: 475
Default Re: USB to ethernet adapter

Hello Craig,

I am wondering about what your experience with the gigabit ethernet storage in conjunction with the Icon. Which storage solution are you using? I am testing a SNS x-4 and so far am having some problems and I suspect it has to do with traffic from the controller mixed in on the gigabit switch. Can you shed any insight into this??

thanks!

Mike
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-13-2007, 02:41 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: USB to ethernet adapter

We're just doing push/pull from an X-Serve as central storage w/ a Nexsan SATABOY for the storage spaces.
I would love to go to central workspaces but at 40 stations that would require some heavy hardware
iSCSI looks interesting but I think I'll need 10 Gb network backbone to make it work






warning rant coming:


why can't Avid's central storage systems support the only products that is keeping the company afloat?
(6 PC via fiber is not support)
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-17-2007, 07:47 AM
greenwood greenwood is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: UK
Posts: 68
Default Re: USB to ethernet adapter



We are using a server from Ardis Technology called the 'Dynamic Drive Pool' at the moment we have six machines on it, all playing video and audio via iscsi, Icons are on the same network but are on a different subnet. We have been using this system for two years now and have had no problems, makes moving sessions around so easy. Check out http://www.dynamicdrivepool.com/ also Ardis give great support.

Regards

Tony
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-17-2007, 01:59 PM
mix109 mix109 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Athens/Greece
Posts: 618
Default Re: USB to ethernet adapter

Thumbs up for Ardis!!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-17-2007, 02:52 PM
mtung mtung is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Oslo, Norway
Posts: 475
Default Re: USB to ethernet adapter

Greenwood and Mix109,

What kind of track counts are you working with regularly? I am looking for a solution that works over Gigabit ethernet and can handle lots of tracks and beat detected drums with those thousands of crossfades. And all of this from two main control rooms and one editing room.

Any chance that you have experience with these scenarios??

Thanks,

Mike
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
USB-Ethernet adapter andreasaidu Artist Series 6 02-18-2011 09:16 AM
USB to Ethernet Adapter with Euphonix mcmix gsilbers Artist Series 3 05-04-2010 10:57 AM
Will Control 24 work with USB to ethernet adapter ? VIKING ICON & C|24 3 08-30-2009 03:13 PM
Control 24 w/ USB->Ethernet adapter? The Chinese Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 04-23-2009 11:55 AM
Procontrol, USB to ethernet Adapter spigots ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 4 02-21-2003 04:49 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:16 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com