Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-15-2006, 02:35 PM
DLinares DLinares is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 63
Default help with 002, popping noise

recently i turned on my digi002 console and got a sequence of "validating ..." blinks followed by a blank screen. When my monitors out's are on, i get a clicking or popping noise that doesn't stop. This seems to only occur when i have my firewire port connected. When i go to open Protools 7.0, the 002 is not found, it asks for it to be connected, Can anyone help me out with a solution for this? I hope there is nothing wrong with the 002. Thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-15-2006, 02:59 PM
Shawn Simpson Shawn Simpson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 1,948
Default Re: help with 002, popping noise

Search the DUC for "Power Harness"
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-15-2006, 03:22 PM
DLinares DLinares is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 63
Default Re: help with 002, popping noise

Didn't really help.... anything else? Is there anyway to reset the digi or the ieee port? This seems to be a problem with a couple other users on this forum.. this may have to do with a mac update problem...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-15-2006, 04:05 PM
RokVox RokVox is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: .
Posts: 719
Default Re: help with 002, popping noise

Hey DLinares,

I'm not sure if this will help you but I do know how to reset the Digi 002. First, make sure you shut down your computer, the 002 and anything else that's connected to them. Next, after everything is powered down, disconnect the firewire cable that goes from the 002 to your computer, ( I would disconnect the cable so it not plugged into either the computer or the digi 002 ). Now your going to reset the 002. Hold down the ESC, DISPLAY and REC buttons on the 002 while turning the power switch to on. Hold the 3 buttons down while the screen on the 002 displays- Validating, Loading, Restoring Defaults and lastly Digi 002. Turn the 002 off, connect your firewire cable to the 002, turn it back on again, then turn on your computer and connect the firewire cable from the 002 to the computer. Then turn everything else on that your using in your Pro Tools set up. Start up Pro Tools and see what happens from there! I hope this helps. Let me know how it turns out.

Michael
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-15-2006, 09:44 PM
DLinares DLinares is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 63
Default Re: help with 002, popping noise

the reset isn't working... it doesn't seem to respond. I tried it in a couple of variations but nothing good happened. This my be a problem with the new MAC update 10.4.4. ANY OTHER IDEAS! THANKS! Is there any way of downgrading updates?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-15-2006, 10:55 PM
RokVox RokVox is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: .
Posts: 719
Default Re: help with 002, popping noise

I'm sorry that the reset didin't work out. I would contact Digidesign and see what they have to say.
Good luck!
Michael
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-15-2006, 10:57 PM
DLinares DLinares is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 63
Default Re: help with 002, popping noise

I appreciate the effort... thanks. Anyone else have any idea?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-16-2006, 12:51 AM
h_ank h_ank is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1
Default Re: help with 002, popping noise

Just wondering if any one has found a fix?
I have had a the same problem for a while and can't find a fix for the frozen digi in stand alone or regular mode.
My faders freeze to the last position they were in be-for the last crash and no dialog appears on the digi when it is turned on.

thanks for your time!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-16-2006, 01:51 AM
Rail Jon Rogut Rail Jon Rogut is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 14,490
Default Re: help with 002, popping noise

'Phone Digi Customer Service.

Rail
__________________
Platinum Samples
www.platinumsamples.com
Engineered Drums for BFD
••••••••••••••••••••••••••••
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-16-2006, 10:07 AM
DLinares DLinares is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 63
Default Re: help with 002, popping noise

I called up Digi Support and found a solution. The technician i spoke to said this is an unfortunate reoccurance that is often a problem with the 002. This is a problem involved with the power harness located internally. The cables located in the 002 have gone bad, due to corrosion or a poor exposure to something. I just got my 002 in august, digi said this problem is something they send you a repair kit and you internally install it. It comes with directions and everything. You need to basically sign your life away to them for the 002 because they are not liable if you mess it up. They said the installation is pretty simple, just involving a screwdriver. So basically your 002 is messed up until you call them up and get the free power harness kit. They ship it to you over night so it's not that bad. So that's the solution. -Danny
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Clicking and Popping Noise Funkle 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 28 09-05-2010 02:17 PM
Popping Noise while recording in PT LE 001 Isadore 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 03-19-2010 01:43 PM
Popping noise Stickman7 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 09-26-2009 05:59 PM
popping/ticking noise dlap 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 05-26-2009 04:56 PM
GETTING RID OF POPPING OR CRACKING NOISE coleslaw 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 07-24-2002 07:24 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:15 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com