Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Old 03-26-2003, 08:30 AM

Default Greetings and a question from the "other" side

Hey guys, I'm a long time (3 and a half years) Mac 001 user, currently at PTLE 5.1.1. Don't get me wrong, I have no great love for the Mac. I don't think anyone should have an emotional attachment to their operating system. My Mac is aging, and I'm considering converting to the PC for my music, simply because I already have a pretty nice PC.

What I'd like to know is what problems I may face in this transition and how much truth their is to the rumors that PTLE is more problematic on the PC. Let me also say that as the CTO for a publishing company, I have extensive knowledge of PCs' software and hardware. I can pretty much install or fix anything PC or Mac related. Here is my current PC config:

-Asus P4B-533e mobo with RAID and Firewire built-in and 512MB DDR RAM
-Celeron 1.7Mhz (I know I have to upgrade to P4, no problem, but what speed should I get?)
-dual 80GB Western Digital SE HDs mirrored together via RAID 1 (mirroring) via onboard Promise RAID
-80GB Seagate barracuda system drive
-Adaptec 2940UW PCI SCSI card to run my DLT backup drive
-Matrox Millennium G550 AGP graphics card
-onboard sound option
-Internal IDE ZIP 100, CDRW and CD-ROM
-Antec TruePower 430w PS

1) Will such a system be problematic?
2) Will I be able to run a dual monitor setup (the G550 supports this)?
3) Do I need more RAM?
4) What processor should I buy?