Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2019

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #31  
Old 07-11-2019, 04:38 PM
Rectifried Rectifried is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 357
Default Re: -9173 Error Finally Gone?

it takes ton of cash shot from a confettii canon to make this SW work apparently
__________________
Hal Cragin On the DUC Since The Year 2000 AD

PT 2019.5, macpro 12 core trashcan 64 gigram, MBP i7 9,1 16gig ram OS 10.12.3.. TB UA Apollo16 SSD's [samsung],
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 07-11-2019, 06:46 PM
jjnssn jjnssn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 527
Default Re: -9173 Error Finally Gone?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Downtown_BE View Post
the new 8 core with 32GB ram - amazing machine..


Are you able to run with all 8 cores and turbo boost active? Or do you deactivate one or both?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
____________________________________________

W10 Pro / X99 / E5-1650v3 / 64GB ECC / nVidia P1000 / ASUS TB3 AIC
PT HDX1 / OMNI / HD IO 16x16 / 11R / Kontakt Kontrol S49 / Artist Transport and Mix / UAD OCTO Satellite, Apollo Twin MKII &, x8P Thunderbolt

[Late 2013 10.14 MacBook Pro]
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 07-12-2019, 05:28 PM
SDDP SDDP is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Los Angles, CA
Posts: 501
Default Re: -9173 Error Finally Gone?

I am hoping the new Mac Pro 28 core with 768GB ram should help reduce the -9173 errors a bit
__________________
-Mac Pro 5,1 12core 2.4GHz Westmere 40g
-RX 580 8GB GPU
-OSX 10.12.6 on a 1TB SSD Via PCIE card
-PTHDN 2019.5 Ultimate
-HD Omni
-BM Intensity Pro

-Waves Mercury+SSL4000 Collection+Abbey Roads
-iZotope RX7 Advanced
-iZotope Post Production Suite 3
-iZotope Music Production Suite 2.1
-HALO UP/DOWN MIX
-ANYMIX
-Delonghi Perfecta ESAM 5600.S
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 07-13-2019, 09:58 AM
Kirby B. Kirby B. is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Geneva, Switzerland
Posts: 520
Default Re: -9173 Error Finally Gone?

Running great for me on MBP 2015. Hardly any CPU drain. No 9173 errors, It did crash once in a 4 hour session. but was back after having 2 min lost, thank you Auto-save. Haven't tried 2019.6 on the Windows machine yet.
__________________
Digi002R PT2018 Win 10
INTEL Core i7 930, 3.52 Ghz
GIGABYTE GA-X58A-UD3R
CORSAIR XMS3 12GB 1600Mhz
2 X WD 1TB Caviar Black 64 GB cache

MOTU Traveller PT2018
MacBook Pro Mojave
16GB DDR3
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 07-13-2019, 10:13 AM
arche3's Avatar
arche3 arche3 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 856
Default Re: -9173 Error Finally Gone?

Quote:
Originally Posted by SDDP View Post
I am hoping the new Mac Pro 28 core with 768GB ram should help reduce the -9173 errors a bit
Lol...

Sent from my SM-G975U using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 07-13-2019, 10:26 AM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 11,797
Default Re: -9173 Error Finally Gone?

Quote:
Originally Posted by arche3 View Post
Lol...

Sent from my SM-G975U using Tapatalk
Quote:
Originally Posted by SDDP View Post
I am hoping the new Mac Pro 28 core with 768GB ram should help reduce the -9173 errors a bit

Lets hope
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 07-13-2019, 10:52 AM
Meads's Avatar
Meads Meads is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,815
Default Re: -9173 Error Finally Gone?

I see those errors and PT being sluggish and laggy whenever I copy stuff over the network in the background.
I have scheduled backups running to my NAS over 10Gbe (has been the same with 1Gbe) every hour for the external SSD I mostly am working on. As soon as the file transfer to the NAS starts PT freaks out and is nearly unusable. It throws -9173 all the time, and there's input and GUI lag out the yin yang.
When the transfer is finished all goes back to normal.

Also in workspace there's a lot of APFS snapshots mounted, whenever this behaviour occurs. And when there's two drives with the same name connected (I had a backup drive for audio stuff named "audio" while also having an internal drive with that same name). Pro Tools doesn't like that at all. I guess they will need another decade at least until they arrive in the year 2020 with their programming staff.
__________________

iMac Pro
- MacOS 10.14.6
---
- Pro Tools U HDN 2019.6
- Avid HD Omni + HD I/O 8x8x8
- C|24
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 07-13-2019, 11:34 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,603
Default Re: -9173 Error Finally Gone?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Meads View Post
I have scheduled backups running to my NAS over 10Gbe (has been the same with 1Gbe) every hour for the external SSD I mostly am working on.
Why do you think it is a good idea to do backups while working on a session? I would schedule daily when I sleep and computer/network can do the work. In other words, the day I think I cannot trust my storage to stay alive for 24 hours it is time to replace it.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 07-13-2019, 11:37 AM
Meads's Avatar
Meads Meads is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,815
Default Re: -9173 Error Finally Gone?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
Why do you think it is a good idea to do backups while working on a session?
Why do you think we shouldn't be able to do backups while working on a session in 2019?
I don't care about limitations that derive from an inability to program a modern and stable software. If I want to do hourly backups of my WIP you can be sure I have a good reason for it. If you're not able to compute the reasoning behind that maybe you should apply for a spot amongst Avid's coding staff.
__________________

iMac Pro
- MacOS 10.14.6
---
- Pro Tools U HDN 2019.6
- Avid HD Omni + HD I/O 8x8x8
- C|24
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 07-13-2019, 11:40 AM
Meads's Avatar
Meads Meads is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,815
Default Re: -9173 Error Finally Gone?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
...the day I think I cannot trust my storage to stay alive for 24 hours it is time to replace it.
I trust my storage, I don't trust Pro Tools. There was more than one instance where it crashed and took stuff with it. And autosaves didin't happen as instructed in settings. Pro Tools is a trainwreck, and I have too much work on my plate. I do not want to lose more than an hour of invested time and redo stuff. And I already have due to Pro Tools giving me the finger.
__________________

iMac Pro
- MacOS 10.14.6
---
- Pro Tools U HDN 2019.6
- Avid HD Omni + HD I/O 8x8x8
- C|24
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AAE error -9173 nikydvt Pro Tools 12 11 01-14-2017 04:05 PM
AAE error -9173 on PT 12.4 marcnyc Pro Tools 12 2 06-24-2016 03:27 PM
Error -9173 music.m Pro Tools 11 1 03-19-2015 09:42 AM
PT 11 Clearly Not An AAE 9173 Error rgconrad1 Pro Tools 11 3 09-29-2014 11:56 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:08 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com