Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-29-2009, 11:48 PM
Jsswtpmp182 Jsswtpmp182 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 282
Default i need your help! badly...

i'm sorry if this topic has been posted- tried searching, no luck...

i'm running pro tools m-powered 7.4.2cs3 on a mac pro, osx 10.5.6.

i've been fixing up some mixes and everything was going great. then, i lost audio. all the meters are moving except my master fader, and i have no signal to my monitors or headphones. i've tried making a new master track, redoing my i/o setup, making a new session and importing the tracks from the no audio one, all to no avail. i'm on a strict time line getting these mixes out and i'm at a dead stop...

my friend is running le 7.4 and had this same problem- but couldn't figure out how to fix it..

please help me! i will give you ten million dollars

also, i have made sure all my plug ins are up to date. the only thing i can think of is i just got the spl transient designer plug in- maybe that's what's causing this?

Last edited by Jsswtpmp182; 05-29-2009 at 11:53 PM. Reason: additional info
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-30-2009, 02:32 AM
guitar486 guitar486 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Mountain View, CA
Posts: 727
Default Re: i need your help! badly...

I highly recommend trashing your preferences as a first step.

So how 'bout that 10 mil?
__________________
----I was thinking of taking a solo in the bridge.
-Nah, I don't think that would sound good.
----Ok, well how about just a series of cool riffs?

Mac Pro 2008 (Harpertown) -- OS X 10.8.2 -- 16GB RAM -- WD Black Drives -- UA Apollo Quad -- Pro Tools 10 w/ CPTK
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-30-2009, 08:06 AM
Jsswtpmp182 Jsswtpmp182 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 282
Default Re: i need your help! badly...

haha tried it- no success.. 1 mil for trying..
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-30-2009, 10:38 AM
Eric Seaberg's Avatar
Eric Seaberg Eric Seaberg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,819
Default Re: i need your help! badly...

It sounds to me that you accidentally held down OPTION (or is it CONTROL?) while changing one of your output assignments and they ALL changed. I've been caught doing this when adding an AUX channel for a verb or something.

Just confirm that all of your outs are going to the same buss as your master fader assignment.
__________________
Eric Seaberg • San Diego, CA
A.E.S., I.E.E.E., S.M.P.T.E., S.P.A.R.S.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-30-2009, 10:43 AM
Jsswtpmp182 Jsswtpmp182 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 282
Default Re: i need your help! badly...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eric Seaberg View Post
It sounds to me that you accidentally held down OPTION (or is it CONTROL?) while changing one of your output assignments and they ALL changed. I've been caught doing this when adding an AUX channel for a verb or something.

Just confirm that all of your outs are going to the same buss as your master fader assignment.
Nothing has changed in my outputs.. I wish it were that simple though!

Update: I made a new master fader, deleted the old one, and got sound in the left side back.. Tried doing it again but the same thing happened.. What is going on here?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-30-2009, 10:48 AM
Jsswtpmp182 Jsswtpmp182 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 282
Default Re: i need your help! badly...

Please click one of the Quick Reply icons in the posts above to activate Quick Reply.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-30-2009, 04:42 PM
Jsswtpmp182 Jsswtpmp182 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 282
Default Re: i need your help! badly...

anybody have anything else to try? i'm at my wits end. i'm about to throw all this crap away and go to school

ante's been raised to 20 million
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-30-2009, 04:53 PM
guitar486 guitar486 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Mountain View, CA
Posts: 727
Default Re: i need your help! badly...

If you could post some screenshots or a screen capture that would be helpful. There is free screencasting software here: http://www.jingproject.com/

You can send the 1 mil through paypal if you like
__________________
----I was thinking of taking a solo in the bridge.
-Nah, I don't think that would sound good.
----Ok, well how about just a series of cool riffs?

Mac Pro 2008 (Harpertown) -- OS X 10.8.2 -- 16GB RAM -- WD Black Drives -- UA Apollo Quad -- Pro Tools 10 w/ CPTK
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-30-2009, 05:52 PM
therecordinghouse therecordinghouse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Fort Wayne, IN.
Posts: 1,094
Default Re: i need your help badly! willing to pay up to 20 mil

what interface are you running? there i helped. PM me and i will give you my address to send the check..
__________________
Lynn Graber
Studio and Mobile Recording, Fort Wayne, IN.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-30-2009, 06:25 PM
flommer flommer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 4,117
Default Re: i need your help badly! willing to pay up to 20 mil

Does this happen with all existing sessions? Does this happen with brand new sessions?

Don't know why you are pointing out the transient designer plug, but just take it out of the plugins folder to see if it is the cause.

<system drive>/Library/Application Support/Digidesign/Plug-ins

Can you use sends to send audio to any other outputs? What interface?
__________________
MacPro3ghz, 6GB, 10.7.5, PT10.3.2, Digi002 factory/toolkit2/PTIEP, 11R
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I need help badly YungD 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 08-28-2010 04:38 AM
Need help badly djmichael.london 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 12-09-2008 11:18 AM
need help badly! pukes 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 01-13-2007 08:32 PM
plug in help needed badly, very badly brentjd 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 03-28-2006 05:37 PM
I need help badly Jesus H. Tips & Tricks 5 07-06-2004 03:24 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:59 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com