Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-15-2003, 07:27 AM
karusse karusse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 35
Default CRITICAL UPDATE FOR INTEL USERS!

I was losing heart...whew...I've been up ALL NIGHT (no sleep) trying to figure out this irritating 9093 error that would automatically come up after a couple of seconds, no matter what my settings were. I just bought a dell 4550, with a p4 2.67 processor. I had two hard drives (both WD), 1gb of ram, the hardware and software configured such that pro tools would run with maximal efficiency, and I was still getting this error! So, what the heck? It's not as if this is a dinky system I'm running on...

Well, it turns out that intel has a new driver in place of its 'ultra ata controller'...and it was my salvation.

I'm new to really messing around with hardware configurations, but I spent HOURS learning and configuring before I even started. If any of you folks have intel chipsets in your comp, and you haven't done this already, goto the intel sight and download its new driver in place of its ultra ata controller driver. It's called 'Intel Application Accelerator', and it should do wonders on your system's speed, especially if you aren't getting errors. I feel reinvigorated, and now on to making music!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-15-2003, 07:40 AM
marbez marbez is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Santiago, Chile
Posts: 107
Default Re: CRITICAL UPDATE FOR INTEL USERS!

Hi. I once had the same problem when I first build my computer, and yes, the problem was the intel "ultra ata controller", which do it very bad with protools. My solution at that time was using the OS drivers (I was using WIN MW) instead of the intel drivers, and the problem disappear. Now I'm with WIN XP PRO and using its ata drivers and don't have any problem.

Anyway, thanks for the info. I'll check this new drivers.

m
__________________
DIGI 001
ASUS CUSL2-C
PIII 1GHz (yes, I need an upgrade)
512 RAM
2xMAXTOR 40G
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-15-2003, 07:42 AM
karusse karusse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 35
Default Re: CRITICAL UPDATE FOR INTEL USERS!

Ok...just to give you an idea of what the difference is...

I just tested one of the demo versions out that comes with the digi001 (I think it's called 'Be There'). I tested this out with everything running (printer, 32 bit appearance, dsl connection on ethernet, all hardware drivers enabled, etc.) and it runs smooth as a whistle. BEFORE I downloaded intel's 'Application Accelerator', I could not get past 2 seconds trying to record 1 mono audio track without an error message popping up (and this was when non-essential hardware and software devices were disabled). Just had to let you guys know...victory is sweet! [img]images/icons/tongue.gif[/img]
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-15-2003, 02:44 PM
GW GW is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,709
Default Re: CRITICAL UPDATE FOR INTEL USERS!

I just did that and now I´m asked to re-authorise my plugins...
__________________
PT 12.4.0, iMac 27" Retina 4GHz i7, 32GB RAM, PoCo x8,
Digi002 Fact., Logic X|FCPX|Motion
Plugins: Waves Diam. V9|Artist Sign Ser.|SSL|GTR3.5, TC MD3|Harm4|VSS3|DVR2|Nonlin|Unwrap, Sonnox Infl|Dyn, Autotune
VI: Reason 8, Ivory It., Trilian|Omnisphere, VG2/RealGuitar, Kontakt6|GPO, Goliath|Gypsy|Fab Four, Candy, Structure, EZdrum, BIAB Audiophile
Hardware: TLM49|TLM103, SPL Track One, TC M-One, Artist Contr.v2|Transp|3xMix
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-16-2003, 06:00 AM
marbez marbez is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Santiago, Chile
Posts: 107
Default Re: CRITICAL UPDATE FOR INTEL USERS!

I finally installed the Intel Application Accelerator drivers, and noticed a little bit more stability with the overall performance of PT with heavy loaded sessions. I also find that when I start my computer it loads faster.

Thanks for the advice Karusse,

m
__________________
DIGI 001
ASUS CUSL2-C
PIII 1GHz (yes, I need an upgrade)
512 RAM
2xMAXTOR 40G
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-17-2003, 07:33 AM
silence_of_stone silence_of_stone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Georgia
Posts: 1,424
Default Re: CRITICAL UPDATE FOR INTEL USERS!

Hi karusse,
its me, graveleye. I just want you to know that I am sorry for seeming upset with you the other night about my system crash. I know none of this was your fault, and you were trying to help, and as usual I appreciate all DUCers help!
I still don't know why my pc freaked out with that driver, but all will be well. It has prompted me to take the dive into xp, so its a blessing in disguise.
I did manage to back up everything, so all is well.
I just wanted to let you know I am sorry for wigging out, and let you and all the other folks here know that I sure appreciate the help. Its nice how folks here rally around you when you are in trouble!
Thanks again,
Kev
__________________
Ad astra per aspera...
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-17-2003, 07:57 AM
James Tauber James Tauber is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 10
Default Re: CRITICAL UPDATE FOR INTEL USERS!

I am SO glad I found this thread!

After hours trying (to no avail) to get my new Digi002 to play more than 1 second, I installed the Intel Application Accelarator and everything works beautifully.

The problem in my case was a -6089 error. I mention that in case anyone searches for that code here.

Thanks!

James
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-17-2003, 02:06 PM
marbez marbez is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Santiago, Chile
Posts: 107
Default Re: CRITICAL UPDATE FOR INTEL USERS!

Quote:
Originally posted by Stone Knife:


-If it ain't broke, think twice about 'fixin' it!
[img]images/icons/cool.gif[/img]
<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">You're right Stone.

I finally uninstalled the new intel drivers.

When I first installed the drivers it appears to be a slight general improvement, but yesterday (the same day I installed the new intel drivers) I had strange problems with a small session (4 audio/4 aux/1 master/1 midi) and some bombfactory/waves plugins. Here it is:

After tracking, when doing the firt mix adjustments, ProTools suddenly close and a looping digital sound show up to stay, no matter what i did to make it stop. Also, the pc didn't want to restart or shut down. Reset was the only solution.
This same problem also happen when trying to erase a track or erase a plugin from the session.
The strangest thing was that all this problems happens only in this session, the other ones seems right.

Maybe the drivers had nothing to do with my problem, but it was the first time I have such a problem, and the only change I have done to my system was the new drivers.

So, If it ain't broke, think twice about 'fixin' it!
[img]images/icons/cool.gif[/img]
__________________
DIGI 001
ASUS CUSL2-C
PIII 1GHz (yes, I need an upgrade)
512 RAM
2xMAXTOR 40G
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-17-2003, 08:00 PM
karusse karusse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 35
Default Re: CRITICAL UPDATE FOR INTEL USERS!

Hey Kev (or graveleye)! No offense taken! I'm sorry that the suggestion didn't help (but, in fact hurt). I would've been in the exact same position as you were a couple of days ago...
[img]images/icons/rolleyes.gif[/img]
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-17-2003, 08:43 PM
soma323brooklyn soma323brooklyn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 63
Default Re: CRITICAL UPDATE FOR INTEL USERS!

Quote:
Hi. I once had the same problem when I first build my computer, and yes, the problem was the intel "ultra ata controller", which do it very bad with protools. My solution at that time was using the OS drivers (I was using WIN MW) instead of the intel drivers, and the problem disappear. Now I'm with WIN XP PRO and using its ata drivers and don't have any problem.
<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">Question how do you check these settings? I'm on Win XP Pro also, how do I check wich driver I'm using?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Critical Update for Plug-In Footy VENUE Live Sound Systems 2 07-06-2011 04:58 PM
What does «critical update» mean? Mark Ziebarth Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 06-15-2011 12:11 AM
Critical Update 8.01 will not run bluemusic133 Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 1 03-09-2011 09:40 AM
critical update Please help shea 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 10-08-2008 08:08 AM
7.4 needs a Critical Update?????? valayah Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 1 12-24-2007 08:31 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:12 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com