Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2019

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-09-2019, 01:29 PM
rinky rinky is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: NorCal
Posts: 222
Default -9173 Error Finally Gone?

Is the infamous -9173 error finally eradicated with 2019.5 update?
__________________
PT 2019.5
PT HDX
Magma ExpressBox3T PCIe Thunderbolt Exp Chassis
Blackmagic Multidock, SSDs
iMac Pro
64 GB ram
OS X Mojave
Somehow, musicians are now technicians!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-09-2019, 04:46 PM
tclash tclash is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 251
Default Re: -9173 Error Finally Gone?

Got one in the first few minutes of using 2019.5.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-09-2019, 05:03 PM
rinky rinky is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: NorCal
Posts: 222
Default Re: -9173 Error Finally Gone?

Yikes!!! Out of all the massive bug fixes listed for this release, the most notorious is still not fixed.
Wow...
__________________
PT 2019.5
PT HDX
Magma ExpressBox3T PCIe Thunderbolt Exp Chassis
Blackmagic Multidock, SSDs
iMac Pro
64 GB ram
OS X Mojave
Somehow, musicians are now technicians!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-09-2019, 06:54 PM
amagras amagras is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 3,240
Default Re: -9173 Error Finally Gone?

And freezing tracks is still the same hang fest
__________________
Dell XPS 8700. Intel Core i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GHz. RAM: 16GB. Windows 10 Home x64. NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645. NI Komplete Audio 6. Pro Tools Software 2019
amagrasmusic.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-09-2019, 08:08 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,236
Default Re: -9173 Error Finally Gone?

The premise of this thread is a little silly. AAE-9173 is not going to be “gone”. That’s an important error that will always still be possible if you load up a system enough, or have a bad plugins.

2019.5 is obviously a huge amount of work from Avid, with what so far seem like very impressive improvement in threading that reduces issues that were contributing to 9173 errors before for many users. See other posts on threads here about that already. Will it stop all 9173, no, that is impossible. How will it work for you? With your plugins, sessions and workflow? Don’t know. Try it. Have a recovery plan.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-10-2019, 03:27 AM
Jamie Mac Jamie Mac is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Brussels, Belgium
Posts: 48
Default Re: -9173 Error Finally Gone?

Still getting completely random and unidentifiable -9173 errors while CPU usage is hovering at 10% in a session with

There is no pattern that causes it.

It just happens about twice a day (in 2018.12) and I've had it happen now after about 2 hours of mixing today in 2019.5
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-10-2019, 03:42 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,236
Default Re: -9173 Error Finally Gone?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jamie Mac View Post
Still getting completely random and unidentifiable -9173 errors while CPU usage is hovering at 10% in a session with

There is no pattern that causes it.

It just happens about twice a day (in 2018.12) and I've had it happen now after about 2 hours of mixing today in 2019.5
Have you troubleshot your plugins (removing the .aaxplugin files)? Looked for Fully optimized your system? Tried other troubleshooting? Larger IO buffer size? Is disk cache turned on. Try a different playback engine? Etc... what OS are you on? Have you tried disabling hyperthreading (esp. If on Mac/Mojave) if it was disabled try reenabling it with 2019.5.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-10-2019, 03:54 AM
Jamie Mac Jamie Mac is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Brussels, Belgium
Posts: 48
Default Re: -9173 Error Finally Gone?

Yes, my system was and is fully optimised.

The error is completely random and is a known issue that has not been resolved in 2019.5
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AAE error -9173 nikydvt Pro Tools 12 11 01-14-2017 04:05 PM
AAE error -9173 on PT 12.4 marcnyc Pro Tools 12 2 06-24-2016 03:27 PM
Error -9173 music.m Pro Tools 11 1 03-19-2015 09:42 AM
PT 11 Clearly Not An AAE 9173 Error rgconrad1 Pro Tools 11 3 09-29-2014 11:56 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:43 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com