Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  ē  Community Terms of Use  ē  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  ē  Community Search  ē  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2020

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #31  
Old 06-07-2020, 10:57 PM
massivekerry massivekerry is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 123
Default Re: Building Orchestral Template, but PT Hangs

Quote:
Originally Posted by falcowe View Post
Sorry this is going to be a newb question but what are you talking about when you say scripts Michael and/or massivekerry? Obviously it has something to do with how the VI's function but I'm not clear what exactly this script is. (I am not a programmer :))
Scripting is an internal Kontakt feature that allows developers to do things ďunder the hoodĒ beyond just triggering a sample per note. Things like round robins, legato transitions, in-patch program changes, performance-sensitive articulation switching are all thanks to scripts that tell the instruments what to do. A great example is any of the ďTotal PerformanceĒ string patches from Spitfire. You play quick and hard, itís Spiccato, gently and itís Sustain, Connected and itís legato. All in ďreal-timeĒ, while managing all of the samples for each articulation, dynamic level, round robins,, multiple microphone positions (additional samples) and any triggered CCs for dynamics, vibrato, etc. while every other thing in your session is running. Itís kind of like driving while talking on the phone, eating a bagel in one hand, a coffee in the other and driving with your knees. If thereís not much traffic, and youíre in a premium, smooth ride, you ...might... be okay. But try it on a packed freeway In a 10-year old beater with everyone doing 15 over the speed limit...
__________________
Kerry Smith
http://apothekerry.com

12-core 3.46GHz Cheese Grater, 64GB RAM, HD | Native, HD I/O
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 06-08-2020, 12:19 AM
Marsdy Marsdy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: England
Posts: 1,832
Default Re: Building Orchestral Template, but PT Hangs

Quote:
Originally Posted by massivekerry View Post
One (kind of separate but somewhat related) thing to say in favor of VEP is that the Decoupled instances do cut down Save times. Iíve seen big DAW-hosted-Kontakt-Instruments templates in PT, Cubase and Logic, and when you have a bunch of instances (or even a particular few heavily-scripted instances) the Save time is OB-SCENE.
Good point - yes save times are way too long unless VE Pro is decoupled. Itís just unworkable with a lot of Kontakt instances. Thatís another reason why I donít host in Pro Tools and use VE Pro.
__________________
Dave Marsden
UK
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 06-08-2020, 12:29 AM
Rectifried Rectifried is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 388
Default Re: Building Orchestral Template, but PT Hangs

Kontakt or omnispere or dive or or even its own mini grand ... Protools is abysmal to a freakish inept level in handling VI ...

if you want to deep dive in doing score go to VIcontrol forum/Sampletalk ... I lurked and a bit to get a handle on the craft of mock score and esp libraryís .as it was less on YouTube then
. I think I saw one person once say they used pt to score .. many might a have a copy for delivery stems

But really ,no one used it .Nobody..

I Finally had to jump to Something else so I went Ableton ... logic and Cubase and digital performer are top 3 In Vi orch score world

Every year I think pt will handle it and ..... no,,
Putting time in on a working template and have the daw crap out is a (ahem ) drag ...Believe me
Watching yt vids of dozens of loaded VI with articulations and real time playing On other daws
Then sad trombone ...pt

Since you have a mac$$$$ Logic prob will be your best bet as I think it would / should be optimized for Apple-y love

Btw you were so generous during your nobody special Years helped me alot with my pcm96
And when I sold it once knowing harman might not update the drivers
Cheers
__________________
Hal Cragin On the DUC Since The Year 2000 AD

PT 2020.5, macpro 12 core trashcan 64 gig ram, MBP i7 9,1 16gig ram OS 10.12.3.. TBlt UA Apollo16 SSD's [samsung],
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 06-08-2020, 03:31 AM
Michael Carnes's Avatar
Michael Carnes Michael Carnes is offline
Development Partner
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Salt Lake Valley
Posts: 184
Default Re: Building Orchestral Template, but PT Hangs

Moving along, I've managed to get everything I'm likely to need into a VEPro project. This is a first. RAM-wise, I'm up over 200GB. Pro Tools would mess the bed by the time I got to 60GB or so. So now I can load the VEPro project and hook up in Pro Tools (insert any other DAW name). The orchestra is large enough that I have to use a half-dozen instantiations in the project.

This brings up the issue of the thread-count per instantiation. This feels archaic: a little like screwing around with the core count in Pro Tools 10 (something I don't miss). VEPro suggests the possibility of turning on multithreading in Kontakt itself and keeping the per-instantiation thread count low.

Does anyone have experience with this? By the way, thanks for all the helpful comments.
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 06-08-2020, 04:31 AM
Marsdy Marsdy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: England
Posts: 1,832
Default Re: Building Orchestral Template, but PT Hangs

Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael Carnes View Post
Moving along, I've managed to get everything I'm likely to need into a VEPro project. This is a first. RAM-wise, I'm up over 200GB. Pro Tools would mess the bed by the time I got to 60GB or so. So now I can load the VEPro project and hook up in Pro Tools (insert any other DAW name). The orchestra is large enough that I have to use a half-dozen instantiations in the project.

This brings up the issue of the thread-count per instantiation. This feels archaic: a little like screwing around with the core count in Pro Tools 10 (something I don't miss). VEPro suggests the possibility of turning on multithreading in Kontakt itself and keeping the per-instantiation thread count low.

Does anyone have experience with this? By the way, thanks for all the helpful comments.
Iíve been messing with thread count per instance for years but always gone back to the default of two threads. Below that I get clicks and pops, above two threads CPU usage in PT starts going up exponentially. Two has always been the sweet spot for me. I have tried to spread the load of my ďorchestraĒ across multiple VE Pro instances though.

I think itís partly dependent on user workflow. How many instances of VE Pro in PT, how many instances of Kontakt per VE Pro instance and so on. VSL recommend keeping the VE Pro instance count low as you say but that gets tricky with a large template in the 100s of GBs. Iím tending to have 16 Kontakts per instance. Iíve not messed with Kontaktís own multithreading much as Iíve never found it makes much difference in VE Pro.

Iíve found the single biggest variable is VE Proís buffer multiplier. The higher the multiple the more CPU efficient it gets although at the expense of latency. Before my new Mac Pro Iíve always had this set to x2 and with a PT buffer of 256, I personally found this manageable. That said Iím looking forward to pushing this on my 16 core.
__________________
Dave Marsden
UK
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 06-08-2020, 05:44 AM
Michael Carnes's Avatar
Michael Carnes Michael Carnes is offline
Development Partner
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Salt Lake Valley
Posts: 184
Default Re: Building Orchestral Template, but PT Hangs

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marsdy View Post
Iíve been messing with thread count per instance for years but always gone back to the default of two threads. Below that I get clicks and pops, above two threads CPU usage in PT starts going up exponentially. Two has always been the sweet spot for me. I have tried to spread the load of my ďorchestraĒ across multiple VE Pro instances though.

I think itís partly dependent on user workflow. How many instances of VE Pro in PT, how many instances of Kontakt per VE Pro instance and so on. VSL recommend keeping the VE Pro instance count low as you say but that gets tricky with a large template in the 100s of GBs. Iím tending to have 16 Kontakts per instance. Iíve not messed with Kontaktís own multithreading much as Iíve never found it makes much difference in VE Pro...
Thanks Dave. That's all very helpful input. Please be sure to post back (here or in a new thread) once you get down the road a ways with your new Mac.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anyone here using PT 12 for orchestral work (big template) vudoo Pro Tools 12 5 01-13-2017 05:28 AM
Orchestral Template KierONeil General Discussion 1 06-26-2015 02:46 PM
PT8CS2 Hangs on Building "Miscellaneous Views" whatever that means 25ghosts Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 03-02-2009 03:21 PM
Orchestral VIs SixChurchStreet Virtual Instruments 1 01-05-2009 04:21 PM
Using orchestral samples vogue Tips & Tricks 3 02-26-2004 03:46 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:01 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com