Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2020

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #41  
Old 03-31-2020, 03:14 PM
xrekcor's Avatar
xrekcor xrekcor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Mt Warning, Australia
Posts: 802
Default Re: 2020.3 is out

Should have flown the other way bro.....

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
Yea, it is so weird.. I have lost one day of my life in 2017 when I took a flight from Los Angeles to Sydney. Flight time is 18 hours and time difference flying west means there is a certain date in my life that I just simply skipped
__________________
Rob
———————————————————————————
MBP 15” 2018 macOS Mojave 10.14.6 Touch Bar and ID
2.2GHz 6 core 8 gen Intel Core i7 processor (TB’s to 4.1GHz)
32 Gb of 2400MHz DDR4, 1T SSD, Magic Mouse and Keyboard
Pro Tools 2020.3-23.# - HEAT applied, Cubase 9.5,
Yamaha TF5, UR44, BEHA4700
........and a bowl of M&M's
———————————————————————————
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 03-31-2020, 03:17 PM
xrekcor's Avatar
xrekcor xrekcor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Mt Warning, Australia
Posts: 802
Default Re: 2020.3 is out

Hell no!!!


Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
Or give us winning lottery numbers.
__________________
Rob
———————————————————————————
MBP 15” 2018 macOS Mojave 10.14.6 Touch Bar and ID
2.2GHz 6 core 8 gen Intel Core i7 processor (TB’s to 4.1GHz)
32 Gb of 2400MHz DDR4, 1T SSD, Magic Mouse and Keyboard
Pro Tools 2020.3-23.# - HEAT applied, Cubase 9.5,
Yamaha TF5, UR44, BEHA4700
........and a bowl of M&M's
———————————————————————————
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 03-31-2020, 03:25 PM
cmbourget's Avatar
cmbourget cmbourget is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Mιtis-sur-Mer, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 633
Default Re: 2020.3 is out

Quote:
Originally Posted by Akiz View Post
Installed it an hour ago and been testing it with a project that always caused -9173 error. This project is @88.2khz/24bit and it was almost impossible to work with it.
In PT 2020.3 things are totally different, i can playback the session, even if the CPU hits 100%, without -9173 error stopping the playback.

[IMG]Screenshot 2020-03-31 at 21.47.44.png[/IMG]

To me this is super important, because all previous versions had a really crappy performance. I'm quite pleased with this result and i came here to post that positive experience! It's far from perfect though, as i don't understand why the CPU spread is so uneven, but at least it doesn't stop the playback now...

Hope this will not change with the next update...


Cheers!
Happy for you!
__________________
Pro Tools Vanilla 2019, Cubase 10.5, Samplitude Suite Pro X4, Wavelab 10

PC Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E5-2667 v2 8 cores
3.33 GHz 64 Go, full SSD

Prism sound Atlas and 2 Focal Solo Be + Sub

Etc.!

www.claudemarcbourget.com
www.metis-islands.com
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 03-31-2020, 03:27 PM
cmbourget's Avatar
cmbourget cmbourget is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Mιtis-sur-Mer, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 633
Default Re: 2020.3 is out

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
Always remember that PT is somewhat picky on the platform where it sits on. IF you have old OS or even worse, OS that has been upgraded from older OS, there may be random errors that nobody else can catch.

That is why I am rebuilding a clean 10.15.4 system tonight.
You reinstall everything, OS and programs? :confus:
__________________
Pro Tools Vanilla 2019, Cubase 10.5, Samplitude Suite Pro X4, Wavelab 10

PC Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E5-2667 v2 8 cores
3.33 GHz 64 Go, full SSD

Prism sound Atlas and 2 Focal Solo Be + Sub

Etc.!

www.claudemarcbourget.com
www.metis-islands.com
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 03-31-2020, 03:28 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 19,646
Default Re: 2020.3 is out

Quote:
Originally Posted by cmbourget View Post
You reinstall everything, OS and programs? :confus:
Yes. And copy stuff back manually, not any ducking Migration Assassin or Time Machine. That is the only way to be sure you have a clean platform.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #46  
Old 03-31-2020, 03:31 PM
whatfools whatfools is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 5
Default Re: 2020.3 is out

Attempting to install now. Completely hung up. Can't end the install. Can't reboot my machine. Have that sinking feeling. Be careful if you try doing this one.
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 03-31-2020, 03:32 PM
Carl Lie Carl Lie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New York City
Posts: 1,066
Default Re: 2020.3 is out

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ellis Beckwith View Post
Just learned I was wrong. I can upgrade to High Sierra, so I should be good with PT for another year or so.
I'm on Sierra - how do you find High Sierra?

Thanks

Carl
__________________
PT 2019.12 HDX OMNI+HDX8x16 -Mac Pro 12 Cores 48 GB RAM OS 10.12.5 - API 16 channel - AMS Neve 16 channel, AMS-Neve-SSL-GML -Pres/Processing, Bock Audio, BLUE Bottle, Neumann, Josephson -Mics, Bogner, Kemper- Guitar, Chandler Zener-Curve Bender Outboard/Master. UAudio, Waves, Plugin Alliance etc.
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 03-31-2020, 03:33 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 19,646
Default Re: 2020.3 is out

Quote:
Originally Posted by Carl Lie View Post
I'm on Sierra - how do you find High Sierra?
Apple App Store
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 03-31-2020, 03:40 PM
Carl Lie Carl Lie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New York City
Posts: 1,066
Default Re: 2020.3 is out

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
Apple App Store
Thanks Janne. I tend to not upgrade my OS unless I need to. I find the newer OS's can bog down old machines.

If anyone is on Mohave with an older cheese-grater 12 core let me know how it's working out if you can.

Thanks in advance. Happy for those up and running.

C
__________________
PT 2019.12 HDX OMNI+HDX8x16 -Mac Pro 12 Cores 48 GB RAM OS 10.12.5 - API 16 channel - AMS Neve 16 channel, AMS-Neve-SSL-GML -Pres/Processing, Bock Audio, BLUE Bottle, Neumann, Josephson -Mics, Bogner, Kemper- Guitar, Chandler Zener-Curve Bender Outboard/Master. UAudio, Waves, Plugin Alliance etc.
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 03-31-2020, 03:41 PM
Mitch Griffin Mitch Griffin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Minneapolis, MN. USA
Posts: 362
Default Re: 2020.3 is out

My only disappointment so far is it seems the EU control to my iPad is now broken. I've got the latest V. 20.1.0.8. All parameters on my iMAC are correct. Anyone else?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2020 PT-Release belasoul Post - Surround - Video 6 03-10-2020 03:17 PM
Pro Tools 2020.1 off the wall Pro Tools 2019 138 01-21-2020 07:12 PM
New Avid Link 2020.1 - launched today 1/16/2020 marianna Licensing & Accounts 8 01-16-2020 11:43 PM
Does anyone use XV-5080 or XV-2020? Atana 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 10 09-24-2002 10:52 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:29 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com