Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-08-2004, 07:05 AM
ikke ikke is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 197
Default vst2retas users inhere? non-users, read this to !

I recently bought this wrapper from FXpansion. At first i was very imprest. Just run the adapter once and all your favorite vst's are now rtas, love it!
Tought i discovered a major bug, well if you can call this a bug, its more like malfunctioning software to me. Anyway, after i removed a vst/i plugin from an aux track in pro tools and click on another vst/i that s still loaded, my screen starts flickering very mad!! The only thing i can do is to close the current session and reopen it..

I asked for help on the FXpansion forum and AngusFX (FXpansion-internet-help-guy) wont answer my problem. If i start a topic on my problem, he just locks it so it will dissapear from the forum.. Anyone having same problems with FXpansion?

So bottomline is, to all people who does nt purchased the wrapper yet, wait untill its WORKING!! Cause you ll just throw away 90 bucks! Its pure ripp off. If this software is tested like tthey say to be, then they intended to rip us of!! Cause any tester will figure this out after working on a session for more then 30 minutes.

And then another thing, when you are not satisfied with your software, they say you get your money back... NOT!!!! Pure lies!!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-08-2004, 07:42 AM
ladewd ladewd is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: LA
Posts: 200
Default Re: vst2retas users inhere? non-users, read this to !

FWIW, I've been dealing with Fxpansion and Angus for a few years now. Yes, sometimes the new product releases are buggy, but eventually you'll get what you paid for. In addition you're getting the software at a reduced price for being a "beta tester". Once this thing is up and running, I'm sure the price will go up significantly. The web site makes it very clear that this is a pre-release version.

CA
__________________
Mac Pro 5.1 12Core 48GB RAM, 4 Internal Drives Mackie Onyx 1640i, PTLE 12.7 w/MPTK2, OSX Yosemite. MacBookPro 13" 2.26GHz 8GB RAM, OSX El Capitan w/MOTU Ultralite Mk3.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-08-2004, 07:46 AM
Cliffy_Boy's Avatar
Cliffy_Boy Cliffy_Boy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Montr้al, Qu้bec
Posts: 5,089
Default Re: vst2retas users inhere? non-users, read this to !

The wrapper is not perfect. There are way too many VSTs out there and some are written differently. I get the flickering too on some VSTs - I don't close PT, I close the VST window and all is fine. A nuisance - yes. BUT - I can now effectively use VSTi's that I couldn't before that I used in my Cubase days. The Grand - Atmosphere etc.

My advice - don't assume the wrapper is the end all but rather a work-in-progress that will get better as users indicate to Angus the problem plugs. And since this is the only way you can use VSts, be happy there is a solution - albeit a bit rough. The alternative is No Vsts.
__________________
Cliff Stendel
-iMac 5K 32g
-PT12. HDX
-HD I/O 8x8x8. -HD Omni -Avid S3


-API 2500 -API 5500 -UA 2-1176 -UA 2-610
-Neve 1073, Chandler LTD-1 -Eventide H8000FW -Lexicon PCM96
-Bricasti M7. -Joe Meek channel.


-Waves Mercury, Flux all, Softube All, Plugin Alliance all, McDSP all, Sonnox All, MH production, Wave Arts,a bunch more
-Moog Voyager XL, Nord Piano, Hartmann Neuron, ARP Axxe, Gibson Les Paul, Mesa Boogie Roadster, Kemper, Taylor T5 and T5-12
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-08-2004, 07:48 AM
kmshroom kmshroom is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 1,791
Default Re: vst2retas users inhere? non-users, read this to !

Quote:
If i start a topic on my problem, he just locks it so it will dissapear from the forum.. Anyone having same problems with FXpansion?
he locks it (AFTER he moves your post to the real VST-RTAS wrapper thread) because you're supposed to keep all bug reports for that wrapper in its dedicated thread, you doofus. ..or would you rather have bug reports scattered all over the forum in disarry? ..
__________________
you cannot find peace by avoiding life
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-08-2004, 08:10 AM
ikke ikke is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 197
Default Re: vst2retas users inhere? non-users, read this to !

well ok than, do the following:

-create 2 stereo aux tracks
-insert a vst plugin on each track (vst or vsti, does nt matter)
-delete 1 vst plugin
-try to open the vst plugin that s still loaded
-...

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-08-2004, 09:31 AM
citi citi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,686
Default Re: vst2retas users inhere? non-users, read this t

Quote:
you doofus.
Was that really neccesary? Are we having a bad day?
__________________
CiTi
----------------------------------
http://www.checkonet2ent.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-08-2004, 11:03 AM
Rail Jon Rogut Rail Jon Rogut is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 14,490
Default Re: vst2retas users inhere? non-users, read this to !

ikke

If you read the bug report thread at K-v-R, I posted a simple work-around which requires one mouse click.

(Actually I posted two work-arounds) both which are incredibly simple.

well ok than, do the following:

-create 2 stereo aux tracks
-insert a vst plugin on each track (vst or vsti, does nt matter)
-- Disable the plug-in (Control+Start click on it in the insert)
-delete 1 vst plugin
-try to open the vst plugin that s still loaded


No problem...

Rail
__________________
Platinum Samples
www.platinumsamples.com
Engineered Drums for BFD
••••••••••••••••••••••••••••
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-09-2004, 03:41 PM
kmshroom kmshroom is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 1,791
Default Re: vst2retas users inhere? non-users, read this t

Quote:
Quote:
you doofus.
Was that really neccesary? Are we having a bad day?
i thought it was, because the original poster was very harshly accusing FXpansion of wrong, when in fact the poster wasn't using their forum properly / failed to read all of Angus' very clear explanations as to why the threads were relocated (not just closed, as the original poster misunderstood).
__________________
you cannot find peace by avoiding life
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Happy Mbox Users Post / Potential Mbox Users Read 2012 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 02-10-2005 11:03 AM
ALL PRO TOOLS USERS PLEASE READ (and act...) dio 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 59 05-01-2004 12:06 AM
001 users read this!! thank god!! saggsy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 11-22-2003 06:05 PM
G4/533 users - PLEASE READ - and comment! syMPh 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 11-30-2001 12:31 AM
01V users read here saggsy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 07-31-2001 04:53 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:21 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com