Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Old 06-20-2019, 06:25 AM

Default Mac: internal Mic and Speakers I/O problem

I'm a Pro Tools rookie trying make a recording on my MacBook Air to learn a few of the ropes. My input should be my MacBook Mic, and my output should be my external headphones. However they're not acknowledged. Initially when I set to record, I got feedback, since the output was the laptop's headphones. I jimmied with the playback engine, and now I have either "no input" or the McBkArSpk is greyed out. The external headphones are not registering as an output and I have no input. What's going on here?
Attached Images
File Type: png Screen Shot 2019-06-20 at 8.23.47 AM.png (49.4 KB, 0 views)
Old 06-20-2019, 06:30 AM

Default Re: Mac: internal Mic and Speakers I/O problem

Hi friend what interface you have under playback settings ?

If in Mojave be shure to check your mic privacy settings too .
Old 06-20-2019, 06:40 AM

Hi Jeam25,

Thanks for your reply. In the Playback Engine menu, I've tried the pro tools aggregate I/0, I've trie MacBook Air Microphone, MacBook Air Speakers, External Headphone and none have given me the desired I/O combo: Input Mic, Output External Headphones. Toggling between them, the Input menu is either blank (no input) or reads MacBook Mic, but is greyed out.
Old 06-20-2019, 06:51 AM

Mic privacy settings checked ?

Old 06-20-2019, 07:07 AM

Yep, all good there. When I opened PT for the first time, I got horrendous feedback. So initially, the mic was the Input, the speakers the output.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Screen Shot 2019-06-20 at 9.05.33 AM.jpg (29.3 KB, 0 views)
Old 06-20-2019, 07:09 AM

Ok check you IO setting in Protools and deafult all of them including the buss tab .