Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-22-2014, 11:59 PM
GuidoHelbling GuidoHelbling is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Winterthur, Switzerland
Posts: 67
Default Pan and plugin windows follow selection

Something else to vote up:

-Pan and plugin-window should follow selected track. I think it would save hundreds of meters mousing around each day. ...and a lot of mistakes screwing around at the wrong window...

http://protools.ideascale.com/a/dtd/...ack/79360-3779

Guido
__________________
Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.10.0 with Dante, MacPro 12 Core, 32 GB RAM, OS 10.13.6, Dynaudio bm5a mk2 and 7.1.4 Dolby Atmos Monitoring
https://www.avosound.com/en/
https://www.guidohelbling.com/
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-23-2014, 06:22 AM
fork-media fork-media is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: sai kung
Posts: 428
Default Re: Pan and plugin windows follow selection

yes!

but I wonders if thats why the MC series offers serious advantage here?

example - select channel ( on screen or on MC series )

hit the EQ button - on the MC series - and the E not only spreads over the surface - but also brings up the Plug in on computer monitor


doing pretty much as u require..


I for one am now considering buying the MC control - for some of the new softkey ability...
__________________
i7 quad mac mini - 10.8.5 - 2x 1 TB SSD Focusrite Saffire PRO 40
protools 10.39 ( also 11? ) CPTK/ HD - Digital Performer 7.2 -Avid MC Mix
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-23-2014, 08:56 AM
Brandonx1 Brandonx1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,900
Default Re: Pan and plugin windows follow selection

Quote:
Originally Posted by fork-media View Post
yes!

but I wonders if thats why the MC series offers serious advantage here?

example - select channel ( on screen or on MC series )

hit the EQ button - on the MC series - and the E not only spreads over the surface - but also brings up the Plug in on computer monitor


doing pretty much as u require..


I for one am now considering buying the MC control - for some of the new softkey ability...
Do you mean the artist series? Yes plug ins follow track selection. Crazy fast.
__________________
Brandon Howlett
Vibe Audio Post, Inc.
Re-recording Mixer
Custom Build CPU, HDX 1, Omni, 192 I/O Digital
S6 M10 24 fader
Satellite Mac Pro, HDNative, 192 I/0
Black Magic HD Extreme
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-23-2014, 09:30 AM
Frank Kruse Frank Kruse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: old europe
Posts: 5,517
Default Re: Pan and plugin windows follow selection

As far as Eucon goes: Plugins follow, Pan window does not.

As a work-around get Spanner. Much better panner in terms of ergonomics generally and will follow if you have a Eucon controller attached because it's a plugin.


Frank.
__________________
PTHDn 2020.5 (OSX10.14.6), 8x8x8, MacPro 5,1 3.33Ghz 12-Core, BM DeckLink SDI, SYNC HD, all genlocked via AJA GEN10, 48GB RAM, Xilica Neutrino, Meyersound Acheron
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-23-2014, 10:39 AM
GuidoHelbling GuidoHelbling is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Winterthur, Switzerland
Posts: 67
Default Re: Pan and plugin windows follow selection

I really think it should be a feature: If I click a clip, open plugin-windows and pans should folow - as long the clip also has the same plugins on the track. It would be that simple! Imagine, never screwing around in the wrong window!
Logic for example did this since years and other DAW probably too. It would speed up an editing-workflow and also the concentration to the actual work would be massive better if you don't have to select all that by hand all the time. I think it is just unnessesairy.

It should work like this:
You select a clip, all open plugin-windows follow: Your MS-Tool, your EQ and your pan or whatever you loaded in the tracks, everything which is open shows the parameters from that selected track.

A checkbox in the prefs could activate or deactivate this option so everybody could work as he wants.

Spanner is great, but currenty I'm working on a project my client hasn't Spanner. So I have to use the pans. :-(

Guido
__________________
Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.10.0 with Dante, MacPro 12 Core, 32 GB RAM, OS 10.13.6, Dynaudio bm5a mk2 and 7.1.4 Dolby Atmos Monitoring
https://www.avosound.com/en/
https://www.guidohelbling.com/
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-23-2014, 07:30 PM
fork-media fork-media is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: sai kung
Posts: 428
Default Re: Pan and plugin windows follow selection

yeh - I know what u mean! DP7 ( my other DAW ) has a 'channel strip ' that follows selected channel - u can edit the EQ - pan - aux sends ( surround or stereo ) or plugins - 'pop' out from there..

I missed that feature like crazy until I figured my MC Mix out.. ( so easy to get at EQ - plugins -= reverb sends -= it really did become center of universe for me!! )


Now I love the 'flip' fader - its awesome for panning - surround panning



so using the flip button on the MC Mix - the surround 'panner' or should we say surround panning ability does follow selected track - and to be honest I prefer it over the onscreen panner..

front to back moves are easy - as are left to right.. ( each has a fader )

so u can even move left to right ( or front to back ) and add LFE at the same time! BONUS!

if u are doing stereo - then 'flip' the faders to stereo pan ---> I have managed to pan 4 adjacent channels *at the same time* ( ok they were all going the same way! ( footsteps 1 - 2 3- and 4 ) walk left to right hahaha

I also love how u know *exactly* where you are in the stereo field - unlike those POS rotary encoder - gives a great confident feel to the panning


regarding your request - Its interesting how they have enabled a lot of shortcut keys thru EUCON you simply cant access any other way

If I was running a business I guess thats what I would do? ( I might not be popular - but I think the Avid 'glasnost' is over- they are reeling in the native abilities a little?

but for now I know I am thinking about buying an MC - altho I suspect I will wait and get it on my next film edit / mixproject - for recording foley - I dont need it..


the problem with maggots spanner - is that if u are collaborating - then everyone has to use spanner?
__________________
i7 quad mac mini - 10.8.5 - 2x 1 TB SSD Focusrite Saffire PRO 40
protools 10.39 ( also 11? ) CPTK/ HD - Digital Performer 7.2 -Avid MC Mix
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-23-2014, 09:33 PM
Brandonx1 Brandonx1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,900
Default Re: Pan and plugin windows follow selection

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frank Kruse View Post
As far as Eucon goes: Plugins follow, Pan window does not.

As a work-around get Spanner. Much better panner in terms of ergonomics generally and will follow if you have a Eucon controller attached because it's a plugin.


Frank.
Panner on the artist control does, but it's not a very functional panner
__________________
Brandon Howlett
Vibe Audio Post, Inc.
Re-recording Mixer
Custom Build CPU, HDX 1, Omni, 192 I/O Digital
S6 M10 24 fader
Satellite Mac Pro, HDNative, 192 I/0
Black Magic HD Extreme
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-24-2014, 01:27 AM
Frank Kruse Frank Kruse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: old europe
Posts: 5,517
Default Re: Pan and plugin windows follow selection

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brandonx1 View Post
Panner on the artist control does, but it's not a very functional panner
Even with Eucon/Aritists it won't follow.

Even pushing the Pan knob on the Artist control won't open the pan window unlike with EQ and dynamics.

Unless you found some magic trick. Please share.

Frank.
__________________
PTHDn 2020.5 (OSX10.14.6), 8x8x8, MacPro 5,1 3.33Ghz 12-Core, BM DeckLink SDI, SYNC HD, all genlocked via AJA GEN10, 48GB RAM, Xilica Neutrino, Meyersound Acheron
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-24-2014, 02:07 AM
GuidoHelbling GuidoHelbling is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Winterthur, Switzerland
Posts: 67
Default Re: Pan and plugin windows follow selection

Yes, please share.

But I'd already be happy if open windows follow the selection as long as they are not unlinked with the red 'Target Enable / Desable' button.

Guido
__________________
Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.10.0 with Dante, MacPro 12 Core, 32 GB RAM, OS 10.13.6, Dynaudio bm5a mk2 and 7.1.4 Dolby Atmos Monitoring
https://www.avosound.com/en/
https://www.guidohelbling.com/
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-24-2014, 02:59 AM
fork-media fork-media is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: sai kung
Posts: 428
Default Re: Pan and plugin windows follow selection

thats right - it doesnt follow on screen... but the surface does follow.

I find the pan then flip - ( sends the L/R front Rear LFE etc

after that simply 'shift' flip between volume fader and the panner postiioning

i dint think I woul like it ( but actually its - quite usable! solves the I cant grab the sucker when its moving problem


but yeh - the panner window really should follow selected channel!



ps - thanks for letting me know where to post wish lists! I got a few of my own to add - once I log in I will vote yours up


mine gonna be clip layering .... so when I drag in that 5 sec too long bit it doesnt get wiped out,

cutom keys - ( if I send one more clip to the beginon of the sequence with that Y key,,,,,,, )
__________________
i7 quad mac mini - 10.8.5 - 2x 1 TB SSD Focusrite Saffire PRO 40
protools 10.39 ( also 11? ) CPTK/ HD - Digital Performer 7.2 -Avid MC Mix
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Random Plugin Selection/Plugin Selection Shortcut issues thebeatless Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 10 08-05-2014 10:52 PM
C8 Track selection Follow daslicht ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 4 01-11-2011 06:11 AM
mix window does not follow c24 send selection Serge Perron ICON & C|24 0 10-19-2010 06:37 PM
automation mode buttons/C8 channels follow track-selection automatically clusterer ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 2 11-24-2009 03:16 PM
Play/Edit Marker stopped follow timeline selection stern 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 05-22-2007 11:30 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:06 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com