Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Old 02-15-2005, 05:42 PM

Default Best ProTools book?

Hi folks... just got a Digi 002 and have messed with it somewhat and read the manual. This weekend, though, I'm leaving home for a few days, and the trip involves 14 hours of plane travel and another 12 by land.

In short, I need reading material.

I'd like to use all this reading time to deepen my understanding of my new ProTools set up.

Can anyone recommend a really good ProTools book, one that would serve a rookie well in getting going (but would also work well for someone with a bit more experience, in other words, a book that goes from maybe total newbie up to intermediate/advanced?)
Old 02-15-2005, 06:33 PM

Default Re: Best ProTools book?

I really enjoyed "Pro Tools 6 for Mac and Windows - Visual Quickstart Guide" - by Steven Roback. Not cheap, but the most comprehensive for all levels.
On a much simpler note, David Franz's book is quite good, though I find he often goes off on these boring 'studio management' tangeants.
Old 02-15-2005, 07:09 PM

my faves
1) ProTools Power - MacQueen & Albanese
2) Producing in the Home Studio with ProTools - David Franz
3) The Complete ProTools Handbook - Jose Valenzuela

all helpful....but I'm not sure if they are all current with PT 6.7
Apogee Rosetta 200/ UA LA-610
Genelec 8030A/7050b
McDSP, Waves, Sony, URS, Spectrasonics, BFD, Altiverb
Old 02-16-2005, 12:07 PM