Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-01-2018, 09:47 AM
mtung mtung is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Oslo, Norway
Posts: 475
Default MADI: I need 64 tracks at 96k, what's best?

Hi,
I'lll be on the receiving end of two fibre streams for a total of 64 tracks at 96k. Would the AVID MADI interface be able to accommodate that directly into Protools if I connect both digi ports on the MADI interface to both ports on a single HDX card?
thanks in advance!
mike
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-01-2018, 10:59 AM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,929
Default Re: MADI: I need 64 tracks at 96k, what's best?

Yes. In normal mode, 96k, port 1 is 1-32 and port 2 is 33-64. 2 miniDigilink cables to one HDX card will then give you 64 channels inside Pro Tools.
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2019.6, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD OmniMac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-01-2018, 11:36 AM
mtung mtung is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Oslo, Norway
Posts: 475
Default Re: MADI: I need 64 tracks at 96k, what's best?

Thanks BScout!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-01-2018, 11:45 AM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,929
Default Re: MADI: I need 64 tracks at 96k, what's best?

FYI: If you go higher than 96k, you'll run into 1/2 channel counts. But at 96k, it'll do the full 64.
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2019.6, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD OmniMac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-01-2018, 02:28 PM
mtung mtung is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Oslo, Norway
Posts: 475
Default Re: MADI: I need 64 tracks at 96k, what's best?

Thanks BScout! Just the info I needed.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: HD I/O, MADI, SSL Alpha Link MADI SX, 7.1 TASCAM Monitor Controller, Lucid 88192. antonis Buy & Sell 6 11-15-2017 05:51 AM
HD MADI Supports Frame Pattern MADI ??? misterGOLD Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 2 02-10-2014 11:43 PM
HDX MADI - All tracks distorted and noisy ianriggle Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 5 02-26-2013 06:55 PM
AVID MADI - connect 2 MADI units? smc917 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 07-25-2011 02:38 PM
HD PCIe with SSL Delta link MADI HD Alpha link MADI AX Juraj Bernáth Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 09-10-2009 07:13 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:40 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com