Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 04-11-2018, 01:55 PM
Mount Royal Mount Royal is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Posts: 995
Default Re: HDX Core Audio

Quote:
Originally Posted by YYR123 View Post
I leave the computer in Analog...

But there shouldn’t be a problem by picking up the ADAT Spdif signal coming out of a Mac Pro tower and putting it into the 192 chassis


It should pass Audio without PT being open.....
Thanks, you've been very educational. I'll see if I can get this to work.

I thank you for your assistance. This may interest others here as well.

John-
__________________
Pro Tools 2018.4
HDX, 192 and Lucid I/O
5,1 MacPro 12 Core; OSX 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04-11-2018, 02:08 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,652
Default HDX Core Audio

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mount Royal View Post
Thanks, you've been very educational. I'll see if I can get this to work.

I thank you for your assistance. This may interest others here as well.
I am not the only one running my system like this.

I simply moved to this option because is the least dependent on Avid to fix the problem.
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 04-11-2018, 02:24 PM
Mount Royal Mount Royal is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Posts: 995
Default Re: HDX Core Audio

Quote:
Originally Posted by YYR123 View Post
I am not the only one running my system like this.

I simply moved to this option because is the least dependent on Avid to fix the problem.
Yes, the merit in your approach is appealing. If you can recall, the analog audio pass thru your interface as a consequence of specific hardware settings in the PT IO? Or, for example, is Analog 1-2 mapped to Analog Out 1-2, by default?

Since my CPU and our 192 interfaces are 65 feet apart, I need to be thoughtful about long distance connectivity.

Again, thank you.

John-
__________________
Pro Tools 2018.4
HDX, 192 and Lucid I/O
5,1 MacPro 12 Core; OSX 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 04-12-2018, 05:13 AM
Mount Royal Mount Royal is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Posts: 995
Default Re: HDX Core Audio

I note that AVID HDX does appear in System Preferences > Sound > Output if: Pro Tools is closed, and if the Playback Engine is toggled between HDX and some other option, then back to HDX before PTR is closed. I wonder if anyone is able to access AVID HDX in System Prefs if Pro Tools is open.

Once AVID HDX is selected in System Prefs as Sound Output, my 192 channels 1/2 act as Core Audio out.

What I don't yet know is whether Core Audio out can be routed to something other than Analog !&2 out.

This still leaves us, as YYR123 points out, vulnerable to OS fickle behavior. I'm going to see if I can can the MacPro's ADAT Optical path to pass thru the 192 as a second alternative.

John-
__________________
Pro Tools 2018.4
HDX, 192 and Lucid I/O
5,1 MacPro 12 Core; OSX 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 04-17-2018, 03:26 PM
K Roche's Avatar
K Roche K Roche is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wilds of Wyoming
Posts: 989
Default Re: HDX Core Audio

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mount Royal View Post
Thank you and continuing with that theme, do you depart the computer hardware in analog or digital signal? Is there a way that we can "program" the 192 to pass audio, from Input A to Output B, without PT being open?

I should know this but don't.

John-
So to clear up a few things Core Audio for Avid HD Hardware was broken with Yosemite
But currently as of PT 12 something and OS Sierra it is working again. I use it all the time on my system configured as (below in sig line )

Yes it works when PT is not running. In fact I believe it only works when PT is not running .
__________________
System :
Avid HD Omni I/O Interface ...Mid 2010 Mac Pro/ processor- 3.33 6-core Intel Xeon "Westmere" w/ Memory- 24 GB........PTHDN 2018.12 on OS 10.13.6 High Sierra on primary boot drive (SSD PCIe 512 GB Samsung SM951) FCPX files storage on Samsung 970 EVO 1TB and PT sessions storage on 2dn Samsung 970 EVO 1 TB --


"Peace cannot be kept by force. It can only be achieved by understanding" Albert Einstein

Enjoy the Journey
.... Kev...
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 04-18-2018, 04:39 AM
Mount Royal Mount Royal is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Posts: 995
Default Re: HDX Core Audio

Quote:
Originally Posted by K Roche View Post
So to clear up a few things Core Audio for Avid HD Hardware was broken with Yosemite

But currently as of PT 12 something and OS Sierra it is working again. I use it all the time on my system configured as (below in sig line )



Yes it works when PT is not running. In fact I believe it only works when PT is not running .


With the System Preferences Sound window open, I can watch the Avid HDX option disappear, and then reappear, as Pro Tools is opened, and then closed.

The prospect of routing CPU output digitally thru an interface is nice. As is argued above, Core Audio, and its unreliabilities, could be bypassed. I haven’t looked into the details of how one could route Optical In to AES out of a 192 interface, but that would be the best option for my setup.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Pro Tools 2018.4
HDX, 192 and Lucid I/O
5,1 MacPro 12 Core; OSX 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 04-18-2018, 06:26 AM
K Roche's Avatar
K Roche K Roche is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wilds of Wyoming
Posts: 989
Default Re: HDX Core Audio

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mount Royal View Post
With the System Preferences Sound window open, I can watch the Avid HDX option disappear, and then reappear, as Pro Tools is opened, and then closed.

The prospect of routing CPU output digitally thru an interface is nice. As is argued above, Core Audio, and its unreliabilities, could be bypassed. I haven’t looked into the details of how one could route Optical In to AES out of a 192 interface, but that would be the best option for my setup.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Well yes and understandable if you wish to bypass Core Audio But I was just noting that as far as I can tell (at least on my system with the OS and PTHDN versions I am running ) Core Audio is now completely reliable. And again to clarify "reliability" per se, was never actually the issue for me it was and still is reliable , The issue was when Apple changed the OS code for Yosemite, it was not compatible with the the Avid HD Core Audio Drivers for some third party applications like iTunes , YouTube, Soundcloud etc. but it did in fact actually still work with some 3rd party DAW apps like Reason and Studio One.
So for me at least it was not a matter being "unreliable" it was a matter of AVID finally getting around to rewriting and fixing the HD Core Audio Driver code so that it would work with all 3rd party apps (after 2 + years )

I do not have a 192 I have an OMNI and the above described work around did work by coming out of my Mac and into my Omni via the optical connections and choosing SPDIF digital
__________________
System :
Avid HD Omni I/O Interface ...Mid 2010 Mac Pro/ processor- 3.33 6-core Intel Xeon "Westmere" w/ Memory- 24 GB........PTHDN 2018.12 on OS 10.13.6 High Sierra on primary boot drive (SSD PCIe 512 GB Samsung SM951) FCPX files storage on Samsung 970 EVO 1TB and PT sessions storage on 2dn Samsung 970 EVO 1 TB --


"Peace cannot be kept by force. It can only be achieved by understanding" Albert Einstein

Enjoy the Journey
.... Kev...
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 04-19-2018, 01:48 PM
Mount Royal Mount Royal is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Posts: 995
Default Re: HDX Core Audio

Quote:
Originally Posted by K Roche View Post
...I do not have a 192 I have an OMNI and the above described work around did work by coming out of my Mac and into my Omni via the optical connections and choosing SPDIF digital
Regarding you passing S/PDIF Optical thru the Omni, does the optical signal still pass thru your Omni when Pro Tools is closed, or must PT be open with a "track" open routing the Optical thru the Omni?

If the optical does pass thru your Omni, even with PT closed, do you recall the manner of setting up your PT I/O to permit this functionality?

Thanks a lot,

John Caldwell
__________________
Pro Tools 2018.4
HDX, 192 and Lucid I/O
5,1 MacPro 12 Core; OSX 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 04-19-2018, 02:55 PM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,923
Default Re: HDX Core Audio

It'll come through the Omni with Pro Tools closed. You have to setup the mixer in the Omni controls within Pro Tools. That mixer is separate from Pro Tools operation.
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2019.6, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD OmniMac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 04-19-2018, 04:25 PM
K Roche's Avatar
K Roche K Roche is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wilds of Wyoming
Posts: 989
Default Re: HDX Core Audio

¥es what BScout said above if I remember correctly

Honestly I only tried it for a few days a long time ago an do not remember.

For my system the problem was on the Omni can only run two channels of digital SPTIF 1-2 or AES 1-2--- one or the other, not both and I use AES 1-2 for my Bricasti M7 .
__________________
System :
Avid HD Omni I/O Interface ...Mid 2010 Mac Pro/ processor- 3.33 6-core Intel Xeon "Westmere" w/ Memory- 24 GB........PTHDN 2018.12 on OS 10.13.6 High Sierra on primary boot drive (SSD PCIe 512 GB Samsung SM951) FCPX files storage on Samsung 970 EVO 1TB and PT sessions storage on 2dn Samsung 970 EVO 1 TB --


"Peace cannot be kept by force. It can only be achieved by understanding" Albert Einstein

Enjoy the Journey
.... Kev...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Digi 002-using FW & core-audio drivers to output audio to mac WITHOUT using ProTools DaveZ 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 13 04-12-2012 12:53 PM
Pcie core + Core audio + Tiger, does it work? fantomaz Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 12-21-2005 01:04 PM
Problems w/Core Midi and core audio MBox 6.1 letrev 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 10-03-2003 01:43 PM
Core Audio X: Live & PT sharing audio interface? ashdot Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 04-03-2003 10:59 AM
Will the core audio driver enable audio units ? linpaws 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 03-16-2003 02:01 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:10 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com