Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-02-2018, 09:30 AM
antonis's Avatar
antonis antonis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,160
Default Avid OMNI and a HDN Thunderbolt question

If the OMNI is partenered with a HD I/O, would the monitor control section of the OMNI (iwhat a severely crippled and underpowered interface it is!) control volume and mute for the whole of the HD system? Even the outs that come out of the HD I/O? I doubt it, but I thought I'd ask.

Does the HD Native Thunderbolt box still require an Avid interface connected to it in order for the headphone out to operate? (the daftest idea ever and prohibiting a genuinely PTHD mobile setup). Again, I very much doubt it but I thought I'd ask.
__________________
1. Mac Pro 5.1, 2.66GHz, Twelve Core, HDN, AVID MTRX, Sync HD, PTU 2018.10, OS X 10.12.6.
2. Mac Pro 5.1, 2.66GHz, Twelve Core, Yamaha Dante Accelerator, PTU 2018.10, OS X 10.12.6.
3. D-Command ES, 24-fader.
4. Eleven Rack.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-02-2018, 10:00 AM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,920
Default Re: Avid OMNI and a HDN Thunderbolt question

Quote:
Originally Posted by antonis View Post
If the OMNI is partenered with a HD I/O, would the monitor control section of the OMNI (iwhat a severely crippled and underpowered interface it is!) control volume and mute for the whole of the HD system? Even the outs that come out of the HD I/O? I doubt it, but I thought I'd ask.
No. It also doesn't make any sense -- a single volume knob to control all output for two interfaces? Whatever you route through the Omni monitoring is controlled by the omni.

Quote:
Originally Posted by antonis View Post
Does the HD Native Thunderbolt box still require an Avid interface connected to it in order for the headphone out to operate?
Yes. The headphone mirrors outputs 1/2 of the interface. It's just a signal route back from the interface. No interface = no signal.

Quote:
Originally Posted by antonis View Post
prohibiting a genuinely PTHD mobile setup
Use any coreaudio interface for a mobile Pro Tools Ultimate setup. I recommend the RME Babyface Pro (bus powered.)
HD native still isn't HDX. And if you have no interface attached, the low latency point of HD native is meaningless.
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2019.6, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD OmniMac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-02-2018, 11:00 AM
antonis's Avatar
antonis antonis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,160
Default Re: Avid OMNI and a HDN Thunderbolt question

I get it how you see it but from a different perspective both units are connected via mini-digilink on a card and I cannot see why smart firmware and fpgas could not provide the possibility of such control. I am far from the DSP engineer, just a wee bit tired from work and looking in all the current HD-compatible interfaces currently in the market.

In respect to the headphone out of the HDN Thunderbolt unit, apparently - or rather when the unit was initially out - it was advertised as having a high-quality headphone output. I do not know whether that means that a stereo DA sits inside the housing but it seems that this possibility is possible as I found it discussed in another thread.

Sent from my E5823 using Tapatalk
__________________
1. Mac Pro 5.1, 2.66GHz, Twelve Core, HDN, AVID MTRX, Sync HD, PTU 2018.10, OS X 10.12.6.
2. Mac Pro 5.1, 2.66GHz, Twelve Core, Yamaha Dante Accelerator, PTU 2018.10, OS X 10.12.6.
3. D-Command ES, 24-fader.
4. Eleven Rack.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-02-2018, 11:01 AM
antonis's Avatar
antonis antonis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,160
Default Re: Avid OMNI and a HDN Thunderbolt question

RME Babyface Pro is a great idea though!

Sent from my E5823 using Tapatalk
__________________
1. Mac Pro 5.1, 2.66GHz, Twelve Core, HDN, AVID MTRX, Sync HD, PTU 2018.10, OS X 10.12.6.
2. Mac Pro 5.1, 2.66GHz, Twelve Core, Yamaha Dante Accelerator, PTU 2018.10, OS X 10.12.6.
3. D-Command ES, 24-fader.
4. Eleven Rack.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-02-2018, 11:49 AM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,920
Default Re: Avid OMNI and a HDN Thunderbolt question

Quote:
Originally Posted by antonis View Post
In respect to the headphone out of the HDN Thunderbolt unit, apparently - or rather when the unit was initially out - it was advertised as having a high-quality headphone output. I do not know whether that means that a stereo DA sits inside the housing but it seems that this possibility is possible as I found it discussed in another thread.
That was a reference to the DAC for the stereo signal received and the amplifier part (impedance/output-power) in order to drive (full size) headphones.
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2019.6, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD OmniMac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-02-2018, 01:50 PM
antonis's Avatar
antonis antonis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,160
Default Re: Avid OMNI and a HDN Thunderbolt question

Quote:
Originally Posted by BScout View Post
That was a reference to the DAC for the stereo signal received and the amplifier part (impedance/output-power) in order to drive (full size) headphones.
That makes perfect sense.

Cheers for clearing this out BScout.
__________________
1. Mac Pro 5.1, 2.66GHz, Twelve Core, HDN, AVID MTRX, Sync HD, PTU 2018.10, OS X 10.12.6.
2. Mac Pro 5.1, 2.66GHz, Twelve Core, Yamaha Dante Accelerator, PTU 2018.10, OS X 10.12.6.
3. D-Command ES, 24-fader.
4. Eleven Rack.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-02-2018, 07:05 PM
_JJ_ _JJ_ is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 61
Default Re: Avid OMNI and a HDN Thunderbolt question

Slightly off topic but I also have a question about that headphone output on the TB box. When I first got my HD Native TB/Omni rig I thought that would be a really handy headphone output to use. But I discovered that if you choose Low Latency Monitoring it mutes. The Omni's headphone jack is the only way I seem to be able to do LLM.

Does that mean that LLM simply routes the Omni's analog input to the output internally, thus avoiding the roundtrip AD-PT-DA? Is that how it works? And after recording something in that mode, does delay compensation come into play at all? Is the newly recorded track shifted one way or another?

Just wondering. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-05-2018, 09:14 AM
lancemcv lancemcv is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Rockland County, NY
Posts: 483
Default Re: Avid OMNI and a HDN Thunderbolt question

Quote:
Originally Posted by _JJ_ View Post

Does that mean that LLM simply routes the Omni's analog input to the output internally, thus avoiding the roundtrip AD-PT-DA? .
Yes
__________________
OS X 10.12.1 PT 12.6.1 HD
HD Native pcie / Omni
Mac Pro 2009 upgraded to 5,1 12 core 3.33ghz, flashed Geforce 980ti, Samsung Samsung SM951 M.2 PCIe SSD (AHCI model) pcie boot drive OWC PCIE Mercury Assessor system clone drive, usb 3 card
Pro Tools Native and Omni PT12
Midas M32r console.
Director and Engineer for Front and Center on PBS /MTV
Director and Engineer for Speakeasy on PBS
Engineer for MTV Live new artist series
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Avid HD Omni & HD Native Thunderbolt edwinstar Buy & Sell 3 10-30-2017 05:28 PM
SELLING AVID C|24 omni thunderbolt hd native greenplanet3d Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 0 03-24-2016 10:35 AM
Avid 11HD Thunderbolt & Omni Brand New fsrenduro Buy & Sell 2 07-01-2014 07:02 AM
Audio Midi Setup doesn't recognize io on Avid HD Omni Thunderbolt MJarzabek Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 5 10-10-2013 07:36 AM
Avid HD Native Thunderbolt and OMNI for Sale drogan88 Buy & Sell 0 03-15-2013 06:47 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:54 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com