Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2018

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-10-2016, 11:48 PM
rogerhavoc rogerhavoc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 471
Default Project Versioning under the "CLOUD"

Hello All,

I just signed up to use the "CLOUD" and so far so good! It is good to be able to collaborate real time with someone remotely. Fairly stable thus far. However, I can't see a way to save all the versions of my PTX files without creating new projects, thus, exhausting all my storage with just "one" project.

Lets say I started on a new project for a client, and I call it Cue_XXX_160410.PTX. Usually, i keep all my previous projects files, just in case a client decides to go to an earlier version of the project. And that happens a lot. So, if tomorrow I create Cue_XXX_160411.PTX, as far as I understand, it would have to be a new PROJECT under the cloud, as opposed to just a new session data to pickup where I stopped from the previous project.

To the AVID folks out there, is there a way to do versioning of the same project so I can potentially go back to earlier dates other the the backup files? Save multiple "session data PTX" files under the same project?

Thanks in advance for your reply!

Cheers,

Roger
__________________
www.whitenoiselab.com

MacPro 3.5 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon E5 - Pro Tools Ultimate + HD Native + HD OMNI
MacBook Pro 2.9 GHz i7 16GB Ram (Retina, 15-inch, 2016) - Pro Tools Ultimate + Apollo Twin
iMac 27" 3.4 GHz i7 32GB Ram (Late 2012) - Pro Tools Ultimate + Mbox Pro (3rd gen)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-11-2016, 01:27 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,336
Default Re: Project Versioning under the "CLOUD"

Create local copies. Cloud project is always the latest one.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-11-2016, 08:07 AM
john1192 john1192 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Woodland Hills
Posts: 5,682
Default Re: Project Versioning under the "CLOUD"

janne, are you saying you can change the Project File to a Session File ??

i ask this because we have 3 free sessions (projects) in the cloud .. is the OP saying that we cannot do incremental sessions (projects) in the cloud ??

i am going to have to watch and read more about doing this - changing sessions to projects and projects to sessions .. this might be a moot point if we cannot upload a new version as it would mean more than 3 projects in the cloud ..

john
__________________
OS 10.12.6 for PT 11.3.2 & 12.4 & above
Mac Pro 6-core 3.33ghz (2012) 24gb ram 256gb SSD
Macbook Pro july 2014 2.5ghz 16gb ram 512gb SSD - OS10.12.6 - PT 12.4 & above
lynx AES16e-SRC & Aurora 16
Artist Transport & iPad - Pro |Control - EuCon 3.7 (older Euphonix Branded MC Transport)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-11-2016, 09:07 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,336
Default Re: Project Versioning under the "CLOUD"

Of course you can save a copy in local hard drive (if you're not using PT|1st)
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-11-2016, 10:17 AM
rogerhavoc rogerhavoc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 471
Default Re: Project Versioning under the "CLOUD"

But every time I copy a project to the hard disk, it copies the whole audio folder too in order to have everything I would need. Not very space effective. With Dropbox, I have many session files within the same ptoject folder. They're all pointed to the same audio assets, thus saving lots of space. I will post a screen shot when I get back to the studio.

Thanks!
__________________
www.whitenoiselab.com

MacPro 3.5 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon E5 - Pro Tools Ultimate + HD Native + HD OMNI
MacBook Pro 2.9 GHz i7 16GB Ram (Retina, 15-inch, 2016) - Pro Tools Ultimate + Apollo Twin
iMac 27" 3.4 GHz i7 32GB Ram (Late 2012) - Pro Tools Ultimate + Mbox Pro (3rd gen)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-05-2016, 09:59 AM
originalscottyg originalscottyg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Detroit
Posts: 494
Default Re: Project Versioning under the "CLOUD"

Agreed. I can't see any reason why there couldn't be a "Save Project As..." just like there is a "Save Session As...".
__________________
Scott Gatteño
Yessian
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-05-2016, 01:34 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,336
Default Re: Project Versioning under the "CLOUD"

The whole point of cloud storage is having the latest version out there somewhere. You only get 500MB if you don't pay extra. So store the extra copies locally.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-12-2016, 01:24 PM
rogerhavoc rogerhavoc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 471
Default Re: Project Versioning under the "CLOUD"

Hey JFreak,

I understand that! Thats why I save versions, and all the versions share the same assets, catch my drift?

So instead of duplicating the projects and all of its assets, I just modify the session file to its latest date/version, that way, I can track all my versions prior to the final, and they all share the same audio folder. I do that in Dropbox and it works great! But thanks for your input anyway!

Cheers

__________________
www.whitenoiselab.com

MacPro 3.5 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon E5 - Pro Tools Ultimate + HD Native + HD OMNI
MacBook Pro 2.9 GHz i7 16GB Ram (Retina, 15-inch, 2016) - Pro Tools Ultimate + Apollo Twin
iMac 27" 3.4 GHz i7 32GB Ram (Late 2012) - Pro Tools Ultimate + Mbox Pro (3rd gen)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"enable cloud functionality" - Can't log in **HELP** psdsdrew@yahoo.com Pro Tools | First Discussion 13 01-24-2019 07:38 AM
Does "Westmere" qualification apply to "Bloomfield" and "Gulftown" also? bashville Pro Tools 10 5 03-23-2013 03:04 PM
No audio preview in the "Project" window TalandAmber Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 0 01-03-2013 02:49 PM
hardware buttons for "preview", "capture" and "punch" evs Post - Surround - Video 1 12-06-2010 12:28 PM
"Electronic" - Ohms - My solo music project xfrancox General Discussion 0 11-10-2008 05:20 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:25 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com