Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2018

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-26-2019, 01:46 AM
midnightrambler midnightrambler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,259
Default Import Session Data : Request

If anyone with any influence is reading, could you please please please please get AVID to improve the look of the list for "import session data" box, so it looks more like the tracklist in the original session.

E.g. Make this : http://duc.avid.com/attachment.php?a...1&d=1556268288

Look more like this: http://duc.avid.com/attachment.php?a...1&d=1556268381

...with the inactive tracks in italics, and replacing the words "stereo instrument/mono aux/etc" with your nice small icons instead, and the little dot to show whether it was hidden or not in the original session.

This simple change would be sooooooo helpful.
Attached Images
File Type: png Screen Shot 2019-04-26 at 09.40.15.png (52.3 KB, 0 views)
File Type: jpg Screen Shot 2019-04-26 at 09.40.11.jpg (27.3 KB, 0 views)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-26-2019, 02:03 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,337
Default Re: Import Session Data : Request

Now this would be nice
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-26-2019, 02:28 AM
Burbree Burbree is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London
Posts: 108
Default Re: Import Session Data : Request

Excellent suggestion!
__________________
_____________________________________________

Pro Tools 2018.12 - MacBook Pro 2.8 GHz i7 Mid 2015 16 GB RAM 1TB Flash SSD - macOS 10.13.6

Pro Tools 2018.7 - 0db Hackintosh 4.0 Ghz i7 32 GB RAM 256GB Flash SSD - macOS 10.12.2
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-26-2019, 02:31 AM
Mark Ziebarth Mark Ziebarth is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1998
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 662
Default Re: Import Session Data : Request

Plus one.
There’s another question linked to Import Session Data:
What is the easiest workaround to import substitute audio files into a mix?
I‘m getting live shows with about 110 tracks each. I‘ve already mixed a show in one session and want to import the audio files from a recent show into my mix. It’s tedious work for me the way I do it now, track by track, by track...
Isn’t there anything like „changing the reels“ in the old days?

Best

Mark
__________________
Mac Pro 2010 3.66 GHz six Cores, HD Native, 192 I/O, Avid Dock, Artist Mix and Pro Tools Ultimate
Mac Pro 2008, RME Fireface, Pro Tools 12, Euphonix MC Control
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-26-2019, 07:01 AM
originalscottyg originalscottyg is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Detroit
Posts: 494
Default Re: Import Session Data : Request

+1
__________________
Scott Gatteño
Yessian
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-26-2019, 07:38 AM
Rich Breen Rich Breen is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Burbank, CA USA
Posts: 1,621
Default Re: Import Session Data : Request

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Ziebarth View Post
...I‘ve already mixed a show in one session and want to import the audio files from a recent show into my mix. It’s tedious work for me the way I do it now, track by track, by track...
Isn’t there anything like „changing the reels“ in the old days?...

This should really be a separate topic, but is there some reason you can't just import session, match tracks and select clips only?

And to the OP's post, YES, in particular showing inactive status would be very helpful.
__________________
http://www.richbreen.com

----------------------------------------
MacPro 5,1 Dual Hex, OS 10.12.6, PT 2018 HDX, Avid HD I/Os and Metric Halo ULN8, Avid C24.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-26-2019, 09:58 AM
leftalive leftalive is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 473
Default Re: Import Session Data : Request

Yeah, this would be killer.

I would love to see all the import dialog boxes get some serious TLC. (especially on Windows)
__________________
PC workstation:
Windows 10 Pro
i7 6900K
MSI GTX 1080ti Armor
32GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4 3200mhz RAM
Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD (system drive)
Samsung 850 Pro 1TB SSD (sample drive)
MyDigitalSSD BPX 480GB M.2 (work drive)
2 HGST Ultrastar 4TB drives (backup)
LG 34" Ultra-Widescreen monitor
Pro Tools 12.4
A loaf of bread
A stick of butter
A lot of rye whiskey
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Import Session Data - Match Only Selected Tracks - Feature Request originalscottyg Pro Tools 2018 6 08-13-2018 08:23 AM
Feature Request - Import Session Data WITHOUT Audio files markus44uk 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 05-22-2010 10:14 PM
Feature Request: Import Session Data... vancalot Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 13 01-05-2008 08:48 AM
Feature Request: Import Session Data "time range" JKD99 Post - Surround - Video 5 05-11-2007 09:25 AM
Unsexy feat. request #2 - Import session data & track names Starcrash Post - Surround - Video 2 03-18-2007 09:04 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:54 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com