Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-16-2014, 06:07 PM
Johnny Mac's Avatar
Johnny Mac Johnny Mac is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Factoryville, Pa
Posts: 18
Default Pro tools yosemite OS X

I'm sure it's been asked many times, but I'm having a hard time finding it.

Wondering if pro tools 10 or any other version of pro tools works on Yosemite.

I've been having a hard time getting going again with pro tools. It's been months, and I wanna make sure I'm making a good decision.

This is the macbook I'm looking at. LINK!

As soon as I get a straight answer saying it'll run on this, I'll pull the trigger on it.
__________________
System Details
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-16-2014, 06:22 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: Pro tools yosemite OS X

the last approved OSX version for PT10 is OSX 10.8
at some point PT11 will be approved for OSX 10.10, I'm expecting is soon (but I use a geological calendar)
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-16-2014, 10:12 PM
Johnny Mac's Avatar
Johnny Mac Johnny Mac is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Factoryville, Pa
Posts: 18
Default Re: Pro tools yosemite OS X

So the 09 Macbook pro with yosemite on it would be a good choice for pt 10 or 11?

EDIT
Actually. I just red further in the description. They said that they'd put whatever OS on there before selling it. Would it be a good decision to put Mavericks on it? To ensure that I can get PT10 or 11 running on it as soon as I get it.
__________________
System Details
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-16-2014, 10:48 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,336
Default Re: Pro tools yosemite OS X

I'd recommend Yosemite, but we're still waiting for official support for it. PT11 has ran very well on Yosemite since public beta.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-16-2014, 10:58 PM
Obsidian Dragon Obsidian Dragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,797
Default Re: Pro tools yosemite OS X

Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Mac View Post
So the 09 Macbook pro with yosemite on it would be a good choice for pt 10 or 11?

EDIT
Actually. I just red further in the description. They said that they'd put whatever OS on there before selling it. Would it be a good decision to put Mavericks on it? To ensure that I can get PT10 or 11 running on it as soon as I get it.
No. Protools 10.x is not certified for Mavericks and never will be. Protools 10.x is not certified for Yosemite and never will be. I suggest you get Mountain Lion if you want to use Protools 10.x.

Protools 11.x is certified with Mavericks. Protools 11.x is not certified for Yosemite yet.

I hope that is clear enough for you.
__________________
Obsidian Dragon
Model Name: MacBook Pro
Model Identifier: MacBookPro14,3
Processor Name: Intel Core i7
Processor Speed: 3.1 GHz
Number of Processors: 1
Total Number of Cores: 4
L2 Cache (per Core): 256 KB
L3 Cache: 8 MB
Memory: 16 GB
MacOS 10.13.6 running Protools 2018.7.0
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-16-2014, 11:14 PM
Johnny Mac's Avatar
Johnny Mac Johnny Mac is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Factoryville, Pa
Posts: 18
Default Re: Pro tools yosemite OS X

Ok. Thanks. I'll ask them to put Mavericks on it with the intent of running 11.
__________________
System Details
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-16-2014, 11:20 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,336
Default Re: Pro tools yosemite OS X

Quote:
Originally Posted by Obsidian Dragon View Post
Protools 11.x is certified with Mavericks.
...and Mountain Lion, which is why Mountain Lion is the preferred OS if you need PT10/PT11 coinstall.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-17-2014, 07:47 AM
Eric Lambert's Avatar
Eric Lambert Eric Lambert is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,754
Default Re: Pro tools yosemite OS X

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
I'd recommend Yosemite, but we're still waiting for official support for it. PT11 has ran very well on Yosemite since public beta.
What about all the posts about GUI issues in Yosemite? I've tried two computers with PT11/10/Yosemite and neither was usable. And I've read countless similar reports.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-17-2014, 07:59 AM
Chief Technician's Avatar
Chief Technician Chief Technician is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 6,981
Post Re: Pro tools yosemite OS X

Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Mac View Post
So the 09 Macbook pro with yosemite on it would be a good choice for pt 10 or 11?
2009 MacBook Pro? That computer is no longer tested or supported by Avid. It might work. I use a 2011 17" MacBook Pro (the last 17") and it works fine for my low track counts.
__________________
Jonathan S. Abrams, CEA, CEV, CBNT
Apple Certified - Technical Coordinator (v10.5), Support Professional (v10.6 through v10.10)
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-17-2014, 08:51 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,336
Default Re: Pro tools yosemite OS X

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eric Lambert View Post
What about all the posts about GUI issues in Yosemite? I've tried two computers with PT11/10/Yosemite and neither was usable. And I've read countless similar reports.

PT10 requires Mountain Lion. I am talking about PT11
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro tools 9MP + Yosemite (OSX 10.10) ShortWarning Pro Tools 9 9 01-03-2016 04:13 PM
Pro Tools 11 and Yosemite Becharax Pro Tools 11 18 08-15-2015 02:52 PM
Pro Tools SE 8.03 and Yosemite ellacw Pro Tools SE and Essential (Mac) 7 03-19-2015 08:41 AM
Yosemite & pro tools 9 compatibility? Johnny Mac macOS 7 11-15-2014 05:42 PM
Pro Tools 8 + Rack3 + Yosemite??? neuhaus3000 Eleven Rack 10 11-06-2014 12:08 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:37 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com