Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-06-2007, 03:56 PM
drmmrboy drmmrboy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 141
Default firewire cable length

Anyone used a firewire cable longer than 12 feet? Digi says nothing's been tested longer than that. I also read "The FireWire cable between the Pro Tools workstation and the first drive (or between any two ports) cannot exceed 14.76 feet (4.5 meters)." But that was in reference to digidrives.

I'm having trouble getting from the CR to the 002 with the 12 footer. The cable reaches, but barely. The FW drive can go anywhere for me, but it would be nice to have it accessible.

Andrew
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-06-2007, 09:00 PM
Park Seward's Avatar
Park Seward Park Seward is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Grants Pass, OR
Posts: 4,284
Default Re: firewire cable length

Cable length is limited to 4.5 metres (about 15 feet), although up to 16 cables can be daisy chained using active repeaters, external hubs, or internal hubs often present in FireWire equipment. This is a limit for 1394, not a Digi limit.

The full IEEE 1394b specification supports optical connections up to 100 metres in length and data rates all the way to 3.2 Gbit/s.

Your mileage may vary!
__________________
Park
The Transfer Lab at Video Park
Analog tape to Pro Tools transfers, 1/4"-2"
http://www.videopark.com
MacPro 6 core 3.33 GHz, OS 10.12.1, 8 GB RAM, PT12.6.1, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, PreSonus DigiMax, MC Control V3.5, dual displays,
Neumann U-47, Tab V76 mic pre, RCA 44BX and 77DX, MacBook Pro 9,1, 2.3 Mhz, i7, CBS Labs Audimax and Volumax.
Ampex 440B half-track and four-track, 351 tube full-track mono, MM-1100 16-track.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-07-2007, 09:29 AM
Slim Shady Slim Shady is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 7,527
Default Re: firewire cable length

You just need a firewire repeater and you'll be fine, then you can go further than the 12ft.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-07-2007, 10:02 AM
drmmrboy drmmrboy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 141
Default Re: firewire cable length

OK, cool. Can I use any repeater/hub?

I seem to find more hubs than repeater cables. Is this OK?

http://eshop.macsales.com/item/IOGEAR/GFH310/

Andrew
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-07-2007, 10:20 AM
Park Seward's Avatar
Park Seward Park Seward is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Grants Pass, OR
Posts: 4,284
Default Re: firewire cable length

You want to use a hub. I like powered hubs. Not having used that particular repeater, I have no opinion on that one. YMMV.
__________________
Park
The Transfer Lab at Video Park
Analog tape to Pro Tools transfers, 1/4"-2"
http://www.videopark.com
MacPro 6 core 3.33 GHz, OS 10.12.1, 8 GB RAM, PT12.6.1, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, PreSonus DigiMax, MC Control V3.5, dual displays,
Neumann U-47, Tab V76 mic pre, RCA 44BX and 77DX, MacBook Pro 9,1, 2.3 Mhz, i7, CBS Labs Audimax and Volumax.
Ampex 440B half-track and four-track, 351 tube full-track mono, MM-1100 16-track.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-07-2007, 10:37 AM
drmmrboy drmmrboy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 141
Default Re: firewire cable length

Would you recommend using a powered hub instead of an extender that gets its power from the FW cable?

Andrew
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-07-2007, 10:41 AM
Park Seward's Avatar
Park Seward Park Seward is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Grants Pass, OR
Posts: 4,284
Default Re: firewire cable length

Yes. I like powered hubs.
__________________
Park
The Transfer Lab at Video Park
Analog tape to Pro Tools transfers, 1/4"-2"
http://www.videopark.com
MacPro 6 core 3.33 GHz, OS 10.12.1, 8 GB RAM, PT12.6.1, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, PreSonus DigiMax, MC Control V3.5, dual displays,
Neumann U-47, Tab V76 mic pre, RCA 44BX and 77DX, MacBook Pro 9,1, 2.3 Mhz, i7, CBS Labs Audimax and Volumax.
Ampex 440B half-track and four-track, 351 tube full-track mono, MM-1100 16-track.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Firewire cable length Legion6789 Pro Tools 9 13 09-02-2011 01:30 PM
firewire cable length Charlie Natzke Tips & Tricks 6 07-19-2004 11:06 AM
FireWire cable length thewolffman 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 03-29-2004 10:47 PM
Firewire Cable Length gg 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 12-28-2003 10:38 AM
Firewire Cable length? Michael Carpenter 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 10-15-2003 11:52 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:30 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com